Dahua NVR 5216-16P-4KS2

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
9,340
Reaction score
5,298
Location
Denver, CO
Wireless dont have the required throughput to operate a NVR; and I have the knowledge to knock any wireless device off the network and prevent it from reconnecting while my mobile device is within range.. it has no place in video surveillance.

hook it up with a fiber optic cable if you want to isolate it electronically from the network, need something like these: Amazon.com: TP-Link Gigabit Ethernet Media Converter, Up to 1000Mbps RJ45 to 1000M Single-Mode SC Fiber (MC210CS): Electronics

You should also have adequate insurance on your property that should cover electronics lost by lightning
 
Last edited:

mmdb

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 18, 2016
Messages
235
Reaction score
45
Location
Croatia
big upp nayr.. il give this a try ..tp link !!

insurance agencies here and cover lost is laugh here and they wont pay anything ..
 

danhimal

n3wb
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
@nayr Do you recommend using an external PoE switch or will the internal ones suffice? System will be used strictly for surveillance with 8x IPC-HDW5231R-Z with no other devices attached. Not sure if you had a prejudice against the on board ports or because you're rocking a PoE+ GigE 24 Port Midspan and a 48p GIgE Managed Switch.
 

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
9,340
Reaction score
5,298
Location
Denver, CO
there's only so much that can be done through the NVR; alot more configuration options are exposed on the video cameras.. at some point you'll find your self having to plug a computer into the PoE network so you can access these options.
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
7,353
Reaction score
7,191
Does anyone know: If these PoE ports on the NVR5216/5232-16P-4KS2 are 10/100Mbps ports?

I was looking at the datasheet and it didn't state

NVR5216/5232-16P-4KS2 | Dahua Technology

Interface 1 RJ-45 port (10/100/1000Mbps) Ethernet Port
1 Independent 1000Mbps Ethernet Port PoE
16 ports (IEEE802.3af/at)
 
Last edited:

zero-degrees

Known around here
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
1,361
Reaction score
834
alot more configuration options are exposed on the video cameras
Does Dahua not offer a Virtual Host feature like HIK that allows direct access to the cameras connected to the NVR? I've never used Dahua NVR's so just curious.
 

TechBill

Known around here
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
1,553
Reaction score
966
Does Dahua not offer a Virtual Host feature like HIK that allows direct access to the cameras connected to the NVR? I've never used Dahua NVR's so just curious.
I don't think so but I recalled that HIK doesn't offer it anymore and removed it in their latest firmware ?

I attached Dahua NVR manual, it cover lots of their models but the 5216 is in that manual.
 

Attachments

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
9,340
Reaction score
5,298
Location
Denver, CO
Does Dahua not offer a Virtual Host feature like HIK that allows direct access to the cameras connected to the NVR? I've never used Dahua NVR's so just curious.
they do not, if you have a spare PoE you could uplink it to your LAN but its only FastEthernet and I wouldn't stream from that end.. it would allow access to the cameras WebUI from the LAN but would require careful setup and some networking knowledge.

here's the config for the PoE switch interface:
Screenshot 2017-02-26 19.56.26.png
 

CaliCam

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 10, 2015
Messages
31
Reaction score
13
Location
Southern California
Is 5216 NVR rack mountable, does it come with the rack ears? like the new 6A08-128-4KSK
What is the major difference between the 5216 and the new NVR6A08-128-4KSK
 

doretau

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jun 22, 2016
Messages
50
Reaction score
2
Thanks for the review NAYR. I bought the same DVR along with 6 Dahua starfighter turrets from Andy in late December and finally got everything setup last week. Little did I know that having the cams directly hooked up to the NVR means not being able to access additional options (ie. record to micro sd) that's directly on the camera.

If you're not using the built-in POE ports, can you explain how the separate POE switch is setup on your network with the cameras and how the DVR is able to access them? TIA.
 

RazorsEDGE

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 27, 2017
Messages
41
Reaction score
10
nayr,

I see you mentioned IVS is not enabled on the web menu. I have the same nvr only with no poe built in. It's running the same firmware you showed above. On my device I have Setup>Event>IVS. All the options appear to be there but they don't seem to work. A lot of the buttons within the IVS menu will not let you click them. Is this the same problem you are referring to or does IVS not show at all for you?

Thanks for the insight about IVS not working properly through the web, I thought maybe it was my NVR but I'll have to head over to the OSD to set it up it seems.
 

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
9,340
Reaction score
5,298
Location
Denver, CO
I have no IVS under Events on WebUI; works fine through OSD or SmartPSS though.
 

RazorsEDGE

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 27, 2017
Messages
41
Reaction score
10
Thanks, kind of interesting we see different things on the same firmware. Maybe they are close to getting it working.
 
Top