[tool] [tutorial] Free AI Person Detection for Blue Iris

seth-feinberg

Young grasshopper
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
54
Reaction score
4
Thanks again for everyone's help! (especially @Village Guy !) I'm currently recording 24x7 on my sd streams and triggering record on the 4k stream on alert, but I'd like to try out (at least) recording 24x7 on the 4k stream and flagging events. I broadly understand how to do this but i'd really appreciate a tutorial to follow, does anybody have a good link for enacting the newer implementation option of AITool/Deepstack?
 

balucanb

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
141
Reaction score
23
Location
TX
Question: I have been using the AI Tool since it came out and have upgraded / updated as each new version has came out. I run everything on WIN 10, all parts (BI, AI, DS) are on the same machine. No Docker or anything like that. I have noticed when I need to reboot or re start everything, that about half the time (on the deep stack tab) instead of saying "Running" it will say "not activated running" I will either leave it alone and it changes to running or I just keep hitting stop, start or sometimes I just hit the save button and it changes back to running. I don't really think it is a issue/error but am curious as to what is going on- Any ideas?
 

pbc

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
843
Reaction score
119
Have you tried using Simple trigger mode vesus default Vector?
In addition if you have masked out areas or use auto masking it might mask out events you wish to see.
Just tried simple vs vector, same result. Seems to think the edge of my wall is a person. So I just masked that. But man, I have a ton of stuff masked at this point.

1607383101856.png

1607383144411.png
 

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
1,088
Reaction score
255
@Chris Dodge I'm trying out Amazon Rekognition tonight. I have it all set up and working. Is there a way for AI Tool to support the various labels? I'd like to add "Deer" so I get alerts when they trigger an alert. Is that what "Additional Relevant Objects" is for? Can I just add Deer there and have it trigger the camera to record on that camera? Thanks!
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
220
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
Just tried simple vs vector, same result. Seems to think the edge of my wall is a person. So I just masked that. But man, I have a ton of stuff masked at this point.

View attachment 76341

View attachment 76342
If you only experience the problem at night, I guess at this time you only have a couple of options until the detection algorithms become more intelligent.

1. Light up your driveway with an LED flood light
2. Change your camera for one that supports IR
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
8
Location
USA
Been running well for months now, but I'd like to update my deepstack to the latest version. How can I update deepstack which I have running in docker? The deepstack site that talked about docker installation seems to be gone now.
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
220
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
Been running well for months now, but I'd like to update my deepstack to the latest version. How can I update deepstack which I have running in docker? The deepstack site that talked about docker installation seems to be gone now.
Just stop Deepstack running under Docker and then restart using:

docker run --restart=always -e VISION-DETECTION=True -v localstorage:/datastore -p XX:5000 deepquestai/deepstack:cpu-x5-beta
Or
docker run --restart=always -e VISION-DETECTION=True -v localstorage:/datastore -p XX:5000 deepquestai/deepstack:latest

Replace XX with your port number
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
8
Location
USA
Just stop Deepstack running under Docker and then restart using:

docker run --restart=always -e VISION-DETECTION=True -v localstorage:/datastore -p XX:5000 deepquestai/deepstack:cpu-x5-beta
Or
docker run --restart=always -e VISION-DETECTION=True -v localstorage:/datastore -p XX:5000 deepquestai/deepstack:latest

Replace XX with your port number
Amazing, much appreciated.

The newer deepstack version is so much faster. My image analysis went from around 1300ms to <300ms just with this update.
 

cscoppa

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
25
Amazing, much appreciated.

The newer deepstack version is so much faster. My image analysis went from around 1300ms to 300ms just with this update.
Wondering if there's a way to update the Windows version. (If they're continuing to update that as well)
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
8
Location
USA
Wondering if there's a way to update the Windows version. (If they're continuing to update that as well)
Why run the windows version over docker on windows? I used to run the Windows version but it was such a pain starting it up every time I rebooted. Docker starts up on boot and I don't have to do anything.
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
220
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
Wondering if there's a way to update the Windows version. (If they're continuing to update that as well)
Docker is the way to go. There is / was a question mark in respect whether the windows version was going to be continued to be supported!
The developer's seem to prefer docker and it's been working great for me from day 1. Note Your mileage may vary ;)
 

cscoppa

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
25
Docker is the way to go. There is / was a question mark in respect whether the windows version was going to be continued to be supported!
The developer's seem to prefer docker and it's been working great for me from day 1. Note Your mileage may vary ;)
Yeah, I had it running that way on another machine. I agree the detection is way better, but it also seems to be more resource intensive because of the WSL V2 system under the hood. The VM associated with Docker for Windows is pretty large and chews up some serious RAM.
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
220
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
Yeah, I had it running that way on another machine. I agree the detection is way better, but it also seems to be more resource intensive because of the WSL V2 system under the hood. The VM associated with Docker for Windows is pretty large and chews up some serious RAM.
That's not even been close to my experience but like I said your mileage may vary!
I guess it is somewhat dependant upon resources available
 

cscoppa

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
25
That's not even been close to my experience but like I said your mileage may vary!
I guess it is somewhat dependant upon resources available
The machine I had it on before was a little short on RAM and CPU, I now have BI running on a 4th gen i7 with more RAM. I'll try installing the Docker version and see how it does. With the additional resources the load might be minimal. Thanks for the advice!
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
8
Location
USA
The machine I had it on before was a little short on RAM and CPU, I now have BI running on a 4th gen i7 with more RAM. I'll try installing the Docker version and see how it does. With the additional resources the load might be minimal. Thanks for the advice!
I'm running on a 4th gen i5 w/ 8gb RAM. 4 cams. My BI idles between 3-7% CPU and spikes momentarily during deepstack detections but that spike was greatly reduced with the latest deepstack upgrade. Definitely give it another go.
 

cscoppa

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
25
I'm running on a 4th gen i5 w/ 8gb RAM. 4 cams. My BI idles between 3-7% CPU and spikes momentarily during deepstack detections but that spike was greatly reduced with the latest deepstack upgrade. Definitely give it another go.
Yeah, working on it now. The one thing I noticed with the Windows version of Deepstack, it PEGS the machine so hard during detection that it affects the actual recorded video. Hoping Docker version will be better.
 

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
1,088
Reaction score
255
Guys... I'm testing the Amazon Rekognition AI. It does a really nice job with analysis of various objects. I'm hopeful AI Tool will alert on those different things by configuring "Additional Relevant Objects". I have however noticed that my trigger is delayed a bit and I'm missing the object sometimes in my alert clip. I'll need to increase my pre-trigger buffer if I stick with Rekognition instead of Deepstack as my AI engine. Anyone else testing this, what are your results?
 
Last edited:

cscoppa

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
25
I'm running on a 4th gen i5 w/ 8gb RAM. 4 cams. My BI idles between 3-7% CPU and spikes momentarily during deepstack detections but that spike was greatly reduced with the latest deepstack upgrade. Definitely give it another go.
Looking good so far, definitely eating less resources than beta3 was:

1607450153043.png
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
8
Location
USA
How are people temporarily pausing AI detections? I made a simple exe in Python and PyInstaller that closes AI Tool, starts a counter, then re-opens when time runs out. It works but it feels clunky, I have to open RDP on my phone and run the exe on my camserver. I tried running the exe remotely with SSH but I run into permission issues that I can't get around, windows just won't let me open a non-service program in another session. My goal is a one-tap shortcut on my home screen "Pause AI detentions for 30 minutes".

I apologize if this has been addressed. Believe it or not I have read through all 131 pages here but I simply cannot remember everything that was discussed. I'm running the VorlonCD fork 11/30 build posted by Village Guy recently.
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
220
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
How are people temporarily pausing AI detections? I made a simple exe in Python and PyInstaller that closes AI Tool, starts a counter, then re-opens when time runs out. It works but it feels clunky, I have to open RDP on my phone and run the exe on my camserver. I tried running the exe remotely with SSH but I run into permission issues that I can't get around, windows just won't let me open a non-service program in another session. My goal is a one-tap shortcut on my home screen "Pause AI detentions for 30 minutes".

I apologize if this has been addressed. Believe it or not I have read through all 131 pages here but I simply cannot remember everything that was discussed. I'm running the VorlonCD fork 11/30 build posted by Village Guy recently.
Setup a profile in BI that disables detections and then send a command to BI to switch profiles from your phone to activate or de-activate.
I run Tasker on my phone (android) and have it programmed to turn on detection when my phone is out of range of my WiFi signal and off again when I'm home.
Bit like geofencing except based on my wifi signal.
If you simply want to do it manually it is even easier, just send command lines in the same way you have AITool send commands to BI.
Needless to say you will need to open a port on your router to pass through your commands.
 
Top