Hello / Looking for advice

Nixon

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

My name's Evan, I recently became the IT administrator at the health club where I worked as a life guard. (I've had a strange career path at this place) My employer is putting in a security camera system and had a contractor come in but the quote was ridiculously high so he'd like me to do it.

My plan right now is to use Blue Iris on the company server (should work having looked at the specs compared to what is in NVRs but I may use an NVR if there is a big performance hit to the servers other tasks)

Problem is I know nothing about cameras! I know a good deal about computers and enough about networking to setup the domain in the office, I've been going off the quote given to us by the contractor as far as specs (Beat their quote by over $11,000 so I feel pretty good about that) but I'm not 100% sure what I've found is compatible with Blue Iris (or the NVR if the server and blue iris doesn't work)

Right now I'm looking at:
12 HIKVISION DS-2CD2131I 2.8mm
6 HIKVISION DS-2CD2131I 4mm
2 or 3 Linksys LCAD03VLNOD

If the server doesn't pan out I found a good deal on a Dahua NVR4232-4P

So I guess my question is do these cameras all work with Blue Iris?
Do they all work with the NVR if I go that route? (They all say they comply with ONVIF but I read somewhere that doesn't necessarily mean they'll work together)

If they don't work together what would you recommend?
Are there any alternative's you'd recommend in general?

Thanks for any and all help! I'm somewhat clueless going into this and I don't wanna make a costly screw up!

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Hello! Welcome to the forum!

I assume you meant to write DS-2CD2132-I for the Hikvision models. There are a few things you should know about that model.