Underwater camera set up

zambar

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi everyone, newbie here although I have visited the site before. Ive been doing a lot of underwater photography with gopros and have played around with mobile car NVRs and DIY cameras but my next project is to use an IP camera to film under water.

I have purchased a 5mp Barlus underwater IP camera with 10m cable and want to use it on the end of a pole or static in the river for short durations (battery dependent). What are my options for equipment and connections out in the field? Im looking at purchasing a small 12v NVR or if there is a way of getting the footage off the camera to HDMI I have a field camera with recording facilities. I am not too concerned about seeing the footage over the internet but may look into that in the near future when I have learnt more.

I have very basic knowledge of network camera setups so want to keep it as simple as possible to start. With my other set ups I have a waterproof peli case with a 12v 20ah battery that I leave on the bank although I have other batteries large and small, I also put the small MDVR inside.

What are my options using an IP camera, any ideas?

Cheers

Attachments

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
You could install the free VLC on an Android or iOS tablet or smartphone to record and playback clips. The memory in a tablet is more easily expanded and removed, such as a microSD card.

Depending on which tablet or phone you use, often there is a HDMI output available as well in the form of a mini HDMI.

zambar

n3wb
Reaction score
You could install the free VLC on an Android or iOS tablet or smartphone to record and playback clips. The memory in a tablet is more easily expanded and removed, such as a microSD card.

Depending on which tablet or phone you use, often there is a HDMI output available as well in the form of a mini HDMI.