[tool] [tutorial] Free AI Person Detection for Blue Iris

EyeOfSauron

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
33
Reaction score
25
Location
Mordor
There is the DeepStack integration that is part of BI in a recent update, and this thread you are in is a 3rd party add-on that someone has created that runs separate of BI.

Which attempt are you trying to do? If you are using DS that is part of the BI Integration, your question is probably better suited in one of those threads.
You're right, I saw this pinned post so I assumed it was all DeepStack discussion related to BI.
I do use Dahua IVS, but like you said, it's limited to just telling BI "alert", no further context.
I will checkout the Dahua thread as well. While IVS worked well so far, I am having some false alerts with a new camera.

One thing I noticed, you can run the native BI Deepstack integration on ONVIF triggers as well, which lets you further classify (and confirm) the triggers without running motion detection in BI at all.
 

CAL7

n3wb
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
21
Reaction score
7
Location
Florida
One thing I noticed, you can run the native BI Deepstack integration on ONVIF triggers as well, which lets you further classify (and confirm) the triggers without running motion detection in BI at all.
This sounds very interesting, to the extent I understand it (which isn't much). Can you give me some links that would tutor me?
 

EyeOfSauron

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
33
Reaction score
25
Location
Mordor
This sounds very interesting, to the extent I understand it (which isn't much). Can you give me some links that would tutor me?
I don't have a tutorial on this, but with BI DeepStack integration enabled, you just need to enable DS BI processing on each camera, then ensure that "Apply to motion triggers only" is unchecked.

That way when BI received a trigger from your Dahua IVS (via ONVIF), it will trigger the DS processing on that capture.

1622832958868.png
 

Senor Pibb

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
62
Reaction score
33
Location
Greer, SC
Using AITool as it merge annotations into image and copies the alert images. Is there a way to only annotate non masked relevant objects?
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
3,287
Reaction score
5,944
Location
USA
I don't have a tutorial on this, but with BI DeepStack integration enabled, you just need to enable DS BI processing on each camera, then ensure that "Apply to motion triggers only" is unchecked.

That way when BI received a trigger from your Dahua IVS (via ONVIF), it will trigger the DS processing on that capture.

View attachment 91466
So I just checked mine, I think it is unchecked by default, since I don't remember unchecking this...fyi...Thanks...

1622977674701.png
 

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
1,211
Reaction score
321
I'm trying to figure out what these "All URLs" entries mean in my log. Can anyone explain? I appreciate it!

Screen Shot 2021-06-14 at 4.48.39 PM.png
 

whoami ™

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
121
Reaction score
100
Location
South Florida
I ordered a Nvidia Quadro P400 off ebay the other day, it arrived a couple hours ago...

I'm in disbelief how easy, yet complicated it was to get Windows deepstack:gpu version working... Its litterally taken longer for windows to update than it did for me to set this up, and i even DDUed a AMD driver and applied new thermal paste during that time. ¯\(ツ)

Now I need this update to finish so i can see how much CPU im saving.

I'm just wondering if I really needed to install Cuda 10.1 and cuDNN like deepstack docs say or if they were already in the latest driver I downloaded and installed from Nvidia. Any one know the answer to that? I'm guessing cuDNN wasnt in there but I'm pretty sure CUDA 11 was.

Has anyone tried Windows GPU version vs. Docker GPU version? wondering if there's a difference and which is better.
 
Last edited:

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
3,287
Reaction score
5,944
Location
USA
I ordered a Nvidia Quadro P400 off ebay the other day, it arrived a couple hours ago...

I'm in disbelief how easy, yet complicated it was to get Windows deepstack:gpu version working... Its litterally taken longer for windows to update than it did for me to set this up, and i even DDUed a AMD driver and applied new thermal paste to is Quadro first. ¯\(ツ)

Now I just need this update to finish so i can see how much CPU im saving.

I'm just wondering if I really needed to install Cuda 10.1 and cuDNN or if they were already in the latest driver I downloaded and installed from Nvidia. Any one know the answer to that? I'm guessing cuDNN wasnt in there but I know CUDA 11 was.

Has anyone tried Windows GPU version vs. Docker GPU version? wondering if there's a difference and which is better.
I am running the DeepStack GPU version via BI Windows on an old nVidia 970 (4 Gigs Mem.), DeepStack is running fine, zero increase on CPU, via BI monitoring that I can tell. Sorry, can't really comment on Docker version...
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
3,287
Reaction score
5,944
Location
USA
I ordered a Nvidia Quadro P400 off ebay the other day, it arrived a couple hours ago...

I'm in disbelief how easy, yet complicated it was to get Windows deepstack:gpu version working... Its litterally taken longer for windows to update than it did for me to set this up, and i even DDUed a AMD driver and applied new thermal paste during that time. ¯\(ツ)

Now I need this update to finish so i can see how much CPU im saving.

I'm just wondering if I really needed to install Cuda 10.1 and cuDNN like deepstack docs say or if they were already in the latest driver I downloaded and installed from Nvidia. Any one know the answer to that? I'm guessing cuDNN wasnt in there but I'm pretty sure CUDA 11 was.

Has anyone tried Windows GPU version vs. Docker GPU version? wondering if there's a difference and which is better.
@whoami ™ I am looking to build a Rack Mounted Server to run BI on, my limit is 3U, would be great fit everything in a 2U, but I would need a low profile Video Card (for DeepStack). Even though your card is not low-profile it should work in a 3U rack. Please let us know how DeepStack works on your card. Appreciate it...
 

whoami ™

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
121
Reaction score
100
Location
South Florida
@whoami ™ I am looking to build a Rack Mounted Server to run BI on, my limit is 3U, would be great fit everything in a 2U, but I would need a low profile Video Card (for DeepStack). Even though your card is not low-profile it should work in a 3U rack. Please let us know how DeepStack works on your card. Appreciate it...
Nvidia Quadro P400 is in fact a low profile card, you just need to find a used one with the low profile bracket or buy one. It'a only a 30W GPU and does not need a 6 or 8-pin rail, it pulls its power directly from the 16x slot. With 7 cams feeding images to deepstack while rendering Remote Desktop graphics the highest load its placed on it is around 16%.

if your wanting ideas for a rack mount, im in the process of building this 1U... It took a lot of research to put this list together.

  • iStarUSA M-140-ITX 1U server case
  • ASUS P11C-I Mini ITX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C242
  • Microsemi Adaptec SAS Internal Cable, 1.6' (2281200-R)
  • Intel® Xeon® E-2278G 8C/16T 3.4ghz
  • Nvidia Quadro P400 or Nvidia T400
  • Flexible 16x PCIe Riser Cable
  • x2 Samsung M391A4G43AB1-CVF 32GB DDR4-2933 ECC
  • Sabrent 1TB Rocket NVMe PCIe M.2 2242
  • Noctua NF-A4x20 PWM, Premium Quiet Fans
  • drives depend on needs 3.5" Purples for Sec Cams, SSD for VM's ect.
 
Last edited:

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
3,287
Reaction score
5,944
Location
USA
Nvidia Quadro P400 is in fact a low profile card, you just need to find a used one with the low profile bracket or buy one. It'a only a 30W GPU and does not need a 6 or 8-pin rail, it pulls its power directly from the 16x slot. With 7 cams feeding images to deepstack while rendering Remote Desktop graphics the highest load its placed on it is around 16%.

if your wanting ideas for a rack mount, im in the process of building this 1U... It took a lot of research to put this list together.

  • iStarUSA M-140-ITX 1U server case
  • ASUS P11C-I Mini ITX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C242
  • Microsemi Adaptec SAS Internal Cable, 1.6' (2281200-R)
  • Intel® Xeon® E-2278G 8C/16T 3.4ghz
  • Nvidia Quadro P400 or Nvidia T400
  • Flexible 16x PCIe Riser Cable
  • x2 Samsung M391A4G43AB1-CVF 32GB DDR4-2933 ECC
  • Sabrent 1TB Rocket NVMe PCIe M.2 2242
  • Noctua NF-A4x20 PWM, Premium Quiet Fans
  • drives depend on needs 3.5" Purples for Sec Cams, SSD for VM's ect.
Thank you this is what I need, I know what you mean, hard to find full list like this for a build. Sure would like to see some pics when completed, curious how you will mount video card with your riser cable. Also curious how you are going to cool your CPU, Fan/Heat Sink?
Looks very close to what I want, I have up to 3U on my rack I can go. Just started talking to these guys: Rackmount Mart - 2U Rackmount Chassis
 

whoami ™

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
121
Reaction score
100
Location
South Florida
Thank you this is what I need, I know what you mean, hard to find full list like this for a build. Sure would like to see some pics when completed, curious how you will mount video card with your riser cable. Also curious how you are going to cool your CPU, Fan/Heat Sink?
Looks very close to what I want, I have up to 3U on my rack I can go. Just started talking to these guys: Rackmount Mart - 2U Rackmount Chassis
To answer your question about the Quadro P400 GPU more throughly, DeepStack (python) places a load of 2.5-2.6% on the GPU every time it analizes an image. Average queue is 300ms

about the cooler, im not sure yet... the only progress Ive made on this build so far is I bout the 1U case 6 months ago, and I reciently ordered the mother board from newegg but its on back order.
 

warbux

n3wb
Joined
Aug 16, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
1
Location
United States
Recently my deepstack blueiris setup quit working after months of working flawlessly. II downloaded the new AI Tools installer but no matter what I cannot get aitools to detect objects. It keeps showing people as false alerts despite being setup to detect people. Anyone else run into similar problems?
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
5,234
Reaction score
6,997
Location
USA
Read the comments in this thread:


The cameras AI will work with Blue Iris. What you cannot do prior to DeepStack was do a search by humans or faces with BI. That is the type of stuff you could do with the NVR AI, but you can trigger for those events in BI.

But if all you care about is triggering the camera to send you an alert or push or SMS for human and/or car and do not need all the other bells and whistles that DeepStack offers, this works very well.

How to use the AI in the camera instead of BI motion detection:

Go to Smart Plan and select IVS and hit save.

Then go to IVS and add an IVS rule. Use Intrusion and select the appears and crosses boxes. Draw a box/outline around the area you want it to trigger for, but try not to do the full frame to give the camera time to recognize the object. Then check the box for human and/or vehicle. There is no sensitivity settings in this setup.

Leave min size to 0,0 and do not do any other changes and hit save.

Make sure both motion detection and Smart Motion Detection are not checked in the camera.

Then in BI you need to set it up in two places. In the motion tab, select the camera's digital input or motion alarm.

Uncheck the BI Motion Sensor.

Then go back to the setup screen where you key in the camera IP address and user and password and down in the lower left (or up a little depending on the version you are running), will be the checkbox for pull ONVIF triggers.

I ran a clone camera for awhile using BI motion to compare it to the ONVIF triggers to confirm I wasn't missing anything. Now for those cams I just use ONVIF triggers.

Having the camera do motion detection instead of BI does free up CPU as motion detection is one of the larger CPU drains.

I repeat, do not have Motion Detection and Smart Motion Detection turned on in the camera.

This will eliminate your false triggers.
 
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Canada
I just upgraded to the latest AI Tool version.
Can anyone please explain what a "Meat Popsicle" is?
Also, when I add a new object, how do I train/set deepstack to know what I mean?
Thanks.
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
223
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
Does anyone know the correct syntax for running the Deepstack dark model (dark.pt) in a Docker / Windows environment ?

Examples are shown for both Windows and Linux / Docker but I need a Windows / Docker example.
 

jz3082

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 13, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
22
Location
Oklahoma, US
Does anyone know the correct syntax for running the Deepstack dark model (dark.pt) in a Docker / Windows environment ?

Examples are shown for both Windows and Linux / Docker but I need a Windows / Docker example.
If you find the syntax please post. I would also like to know how you end up using the dark mode in AITool (active time range, linked server, refinement server).
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
223
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
If you find the syntax please post. I would also like to know how you end up using the dark mode in AITool (active time range, linked server, refinement server).
I have reconfigured my system to use the Windows version of DeepStack and have now tested the dark.pt night-time model. I had great expectations especially since the latest version of Vorland-cd AITool has the ability to switch models on a dusk-dawn basis.
Alas my experience has been disappointing to say the least. The dark version recognised me about 5% of the time versus 90% using the standard release which makes it unusable for me. Needless to say your mileage may vary. The dark version frequently recognised me as a table lol

FYI I have attached the image that I tested the dark.pt model with. Hmmm might be an alien but definitely not a table :lol:
 

Attachments

Last edited:

whoami ™

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
121
Reaction score
100
Location
South Florida
Is anyone else getting this DeepStack error in AI Tool when using more than one instance of DS? It seems like the file its looking for gets replaced by another file by one of the other instances. All instances still work after throwing the error. I'm just trying to see if I can stop it from happening.

Code:
Process Process-1:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "D:\obj\windows-release\37amd64_Release\msi_python\zip_amd64\process.py", line 297, in _bootstrap
  File "D:\obj\windows-release\37amd64_Release\msi_python\zip_amd64\process.py", line 99, in run
  File "C:\DeepStack\intelligencelayer\shared\detection.py", line 138, in objectdetection
    os.remove(img_path)
FileNotFoundError: [WinError 2] The system cannot find the file specified: 'C:\\Users\\admin\\AppData\\Local\\Temp\\DeepStack\\571385ee-582a-43e3
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
223
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
Is anyone else getting this DeepStack error in AI Tool when using more than one instance of DS? It seems like the file its looking for gets replaced by another file by one of the other instances. All instances still work after throwing the error. I'm just trying to see if I can stop it from happening.

Code:
Process Process-1:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "D:\obj\windows-release\37amd64_Release\msi_python\zip_amd64\process.py", line 297, in _bootstrap
  File "D:\obj\windows-release\37amd64_Release\msi_python\zip_amd64\process.py", line 99, in run
  File "C:\DeepStack\intelligencelayer\shared\detection.py", line 138, in objectdetection
    os.remove(img_path)
FileNotFoundError: [WinError 2] The system cannot find the file specified: 'C:\\Users\\admin\\AppData\\Local\\Temp\\DeepStack\\571385ee-582a-43e3
I had a similar issue when I ran DeepStack under Windows. I resolved it by reverting back to running DeepStack in a Docker environment. Your mileage may vary!
 
Top