[tool] [tutorial] Free AI Person Detection for Blue Iris

cscoppa

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
25
Pretty sure you're just supposed to replace setting.json with the new version. The actual settings for your cameras are in that _Settings folder. I just pasted in the build that
Village Guy complied, and it's working perfectly, didn't lose any of my settings. It was even smart enough to translate the .3 minutes I had for cooldown time to the new format of seconds.
 
Last edited:

balucanb

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
141
Reaction score
23
Location
TX
Pretty sure you're just supposed to replace setting.json with the new version. The actual settings for your cameras are in that _Settings folder. I just pasted in the build that
Village Guy complied, and it's working perfectly, didn't lose any of my settings. It was even smart enough to translate the .3 minutes I had for cooldown time to the new format of seconds.
That would be because @Village Guy knows what he is doing vs. me who does not :)
 
Last edited:

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
1,287
Reaction score
351
I would like to express my gratitude and admiration for the guys on this forum who have the interest and ability to make programs such as AI Tool by Gentle pumpkin and latterly Chris Dodge's Fork on this to Releases · VorlonCD/bi-aidetection. I have been a Blue Iris user for a number of years and it gets better and better. And now I am using VorlonCD/bi-aidetection with my Blue Iris.
My use for Blue Iris is not just survellance around my property for the usual stuff but mainly to see what wildlife is around during the night. In order to achieve the best results for that the motion trigger settings have to be set very sensitive with the inevitable numerous false triggers, especially when it rains. But combining judicious use of Cloned Cameras, VorlonCD Ai tool , DeepQuestAI and Docker things are getting better and better. I am sure I could improve things more but so far I am happy.
But I know from things I get notified about that Chris and his friends are making further inroads to improving VorlonCD adding things like amazon rekognition AI instead of DeepquestAI, thought to give better identification of items at night. But try as I might I cannot master the compiling of the various additions to VorlonCD AI releases and I have to rely totally on the Releases. Thanks again Chris and friends but please update the Release files with current addition when you can.
Your current situation sounds almost identical to mine. I'm running the VorlonCD fork v2.0.37.7608 10/30/2020. I would love to update, I keep checking the VorlonCD Github releases and it's still showing the version I'm running. As for wildlife, I live in a wooded area and there are several animals that come by almost nightly but several of them are not an option from Deepstack. I'd love to learn more about what @Chris Dodge is doing with Amazon Rekognition.
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
223
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
That would be because @Village Guy knows what he is doing vs. me who does not :)
I'm guessing you simply downloaded and compiled a very old version. Make sure you are pointing to the version in development. If you are wanting a stable version, I would suggest you stay for the moment with the version I have posted. The reason Chris Dodge does not frequently post new versions might be that he does not wish to post code that may not be stable. FYI Just because you can download and compile the latest code does not mean you are running with the most stable and best version!
You are simply joining the Guinea Pig club :lol::rofl:
 
Last edited:

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
223
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
Last edited:

pbc

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
843
Reaction score
119
Not sure what's causing it, but are others noticing a dramatic reduction in the ability to detect people the last several weeks, in particular at night? I may need to completely swap out these ColorVu cameras as they don't have IR. But I've already masked out all the trees on the right side as they always come up as people (sometimes Giraffes).


1607343212926.png

Bute even during the day it's not triggering at random times (I was curious as I know when this person left and came, and it captured him coming in early in the morning, but nothing when he left or when I went out as well to put something in his truck)...

1607343437113.png
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
223
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
Not sure what's causing it, but are others noticing a dramatic reduction in the ability to detect people the last several weeks, in particular at night? I may need to completely swap out these ColorVu cameras as they don't have IR. But I've already masked out all the trees on the right side as they always come up as people (sometimes Giraffes).
Have you tried using Simple trigger mode vesus default Vector?
In addition if you have masked out areas or use auto masking it might mask out events you wish to see.
 
Last edited:

CAL7

n3wb
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
25
Reaction score
8
Location
Florida
Can I recommend that you first of all get your system functional before discussing the resolution of streams. It really makes no difference to the fundamental configuration and is confusing you. Once you have Aitool functional everything else will fall into place.
Trying.... I hit a roadblock running aitool.
Code:
2020-12-07 11:33:49.728818|Info|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| Starting AITool Version 2.0.195.7637 built on 11/30/2020 7:39:47 AM|16|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.731810|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None|   Installed NET Framework version '4.8.0', Target version '.NETFramework,Version=v4.7.2'|17|0||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.732815|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None|   Windows 'Windows10', version '10.0.19042' Release ID '2009', 64Bit=True, Workstation=True, Server=False, SERVICE=False|18|0||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.733805|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| *** Running as administrator ***|19|0||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.733805|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| *** Start in/current directory is the same as where the EXE is running from: C:\Program Files (x86)\AITOOL ***|20|0||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.740786|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  Reading BlueIris settings from registry from '127.0.0.1'...|21|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.741784|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris found. Version '5.3.6.2', app path 'C:\Program Files\Blue Iris 5'|22|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.742781|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris URL found: http://[2607:fb90:4281:16ac:7517:0a31:4f80:8fd7]:|23|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.742781|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris clip path found: D:\Video_Surveillance\Blue Iris Clips\New|24|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.742781|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris clip path found: D:\Video_Surveillance\Blue Iris Clips\Stored|25|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.742781|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris clip path found: c:\BlueIris\Alerts|26|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.742781|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris camera found: Driveway|27|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.742781|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris camera found: Fr_Porch|28|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.743778|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| BlueIris path is 'C:\Program Files\Blue Iris 5', with 0 users, 2 cameras and 3 clip folder paths configured.|29|0||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.755746|Error|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection. ; Parameter name: index [ArgumentOutOfRangeException] Mod: <InitializeBackend>d__21 Line:189:25|30|0||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.757741|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|Shell_Load|None|None|None| Back end initialization completed in 1397ms.|31|0||4
I searched around for the Index was out of range error and found a couple of citations, but no clear remedy. I'd appreciate any hints on how to solve or further debug.. thanks!
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
223
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
Trying.... I hit a roadblock running aitool.
Code:
2020-12-07 11:33:49.728818|Info|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| Starting AITool Version 2.0.195.7637 built on 11/30/2020 7:39:47 AM|16|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.731810|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None|   Installed NET Framework version '4.8.0', Target version '.NETFramework,Version=v4.7.2'|17|0||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.732815|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None|   Windows 'Windows10', version '10.0.19042' Release ID '2009', 64Bit=True, Workstation=True, Server=False, SERVICE=False|18|0||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.733805|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| *** Running as administrator ***|19|0||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.733805|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| *** Start in/current directory is the same as where the EXE is running from: C:\Program Files (x86)\AITOOL ***|20|0||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.740786|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  Reading BlueIris settings from registry from '127.0.0.1'...|21|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.741784|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris found. Version '5.3.6.2', app path 'C:\Program Files\Blue Iris 5'|22|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.742781|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris URL found: http://[2607:fb90:4281:16ac:7517:0a31:4f80:8fd7]:|23|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.742781|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris clip path found: D:\Video_Surveillance\Blue Iris Clips\New|24|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.742781|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris clip path found: D:\Video_Surveillance\Blue Iris Clips\Stored|25|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.742781|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris clip path found: c:\BlueIris\Alerts|26|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.742781|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris camera found: Driveway|27|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.742781|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris camera found: Fr_Porch|28|1||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.743778|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| BlueIris path is 'C:\Program Files\Blue Iris 5', with 0 users, 2 cameras and 3 clip folder paths configured.|29|0||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.755746|Error|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection. ; Parameter name: index [ArgumentOutOfRangeException] Mod: <InitializeBackend>d__21 Line:189:25|30|0||4
2020-12-07 11:33:49.757741|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|Shell_Load|None|None|None| Back end initialization completed in 1397ms.|31|0||4
I searched around for the Index was out of range error and found a couple of citations, but no clear remedy. I'd appreciate any hints on how to solve or further debug.. thanks!
Try moving and then running your program from your documents directory where it will have full permissions assuming you have admin rights. I cannot guarantee this will fix the problem but it will certainly stop you running into other rights issues.
 

CAL7

n3wb
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
25
Reaction score
8
Location
Florida
Try moving and then running your program from your documents directory where it will have full permissions assuming you have admin rights. I cannot guarantee this will fix the problem but it will certainly stop you running into other rights issues.
No joy. I even rebooted to see if that helps. Here's the log if there is any hint there. I do appreciate the asisstance.
Code:
2020-12-07 12:45:52.584691|Info|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| |13|1||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.584691|Info|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| |14|1||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.584691|Info|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| |15|1||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.584691|Info|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| Starting AITool Version 2.0.195.7637 built on 11/30/2020 7:39:47 AM|16|1||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.587681|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None|   Installed NET Framework version '4.8.0', Target version '.NETFramework,Version=v4.7.2'|17|0||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.588686|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None|   Windows 'Windows10', version '10.0.19042' Release ID '2009', 64Bit=True, Workstation=True, Server=False, SERVICE=False|18|0||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.588686|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| *** Running as administrator ***|19|0||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.588686|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| *** Start in/current directory is the same as where the EXE is running from: C:\Users\CALhp\Documents\AITOOL ***|20|0||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.595669|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  Reading BlueIris settings from registry from '127.0.0.1'...|21|1||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.597633|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris found. Version '5.3.6.2', app path 'C:\Program Files\Blue Iris 5'|22|1||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.597633|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris URL found: http://[2607:fb90:4281:16ac:7517:0a31:4f80:8fd7]:81|23|1||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.597633|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris clip path found: D:\Video_Surveillance\Blue Iris Clips\New|24|1||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.597633|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris clip path found: D:\Video_Surveillance\Blue Iris Clips\Stored|25|1||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.597633|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris clip path found: c:\BlueIris\Alerts|26|1||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.597633|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris clip path found: C:\BlueIris\aiinput|27|1||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.597633|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris camera found: Driveway|28|1||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.597633|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|RefreshBIInfoAsync|None|None|None|  BlueIris camera found: Fr_Porch|29|1||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.599628|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| BlueIris path is 'C:\Program Files\Blue Iris 5', with 0 users, 2 cameras and 4 clip folder paths configured.|30|0||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.634187|Error|AITOOLS.EXE|InitializeBackend|None|None|None| Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection. ; Parameter name: index [ArgumentOutOfRangeException] Mod: <InitializeBackend>d__21 Line:189:25|31|0||5
2020-12-07 12:45:52.636181|Debug|AITOOLS.EXE|Shell_Load|None|None|None| Back end initialization completed in 1334ms.|32|0||5
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
223
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
Have you installed and tested deepstack is running?

Is blueiris running? I note your log indicates 0 users!
 

CAL7

n3wb
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
25
Reaction score
8
Location
Florida
Progress. Maybe even success. I went back to the VorlonCd release version 2.0.37.7608 from Oct 30 and that is now running. I'm not concluding that there is anything wrong with the more recent version, but perhaps something in the way I installed it. Thank you, @Village Guy.
 

seth-feinberg

Young grasshopper
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
54
Reaction score
4
Thanks again for everyone's help! (especially @Village Guy !) I'm currently recording 24x7 on my sd streams and triggering record on the 4k stream on alert, but I'd like to try out (at least) recording 24x7 on the 4k stream and flagging events. I broadly understand how to do this but i'd really appreciate a tutorial to follow, does anybody have a good link for enacting the newer implementation option of AITool/Deepstack?
 

balucanb

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
141
Reaction score
23
Location
TX
Question: I have been using the AI Tool since it came out and have upgraded / updated as each new version has came out. I run everything on WIN 10, all parts (BI, AI, DS) are on the same machine. No Docker or anything like that. I have noticed when I need to reboot or re start everything, that about half the time (on the deep stack tab) instead of saying "Running" it will say "not activated running" I will either leave it alone and it changes to running or I just keep hitting stop, start or sometimes I just hit the save button and it changes back to running. I don't really think it is a issue/error but am curious as to what is going on- Any ideas?
 

pbc

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
843
Reaction score
119
Have you tried using Simple trigger mode vesus default Vector?
In addition if you have masked out areas or use auto masking it might mask out events you wish to see.
Just tried simple vs vector, same result. Seems to think the edge of my wall is a person. So I just masked that. But man, I have a ton of stuff masked at this point.

1607383101856.png

1607383144411.png
 

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
1,287
Reaction score
351
@Chris Dodge I'm trying out Amazon Rekognition tonight. I have it all set up and working. Is there a way for AI Tool to support the various labels? I'd like to add "Deer" so I get alerts when they trigger an alert. Is that what "Additional Relevant Objects" is for? Can I just add Deer there and have it trigger the camera to record on that camera? Thanks!
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
223
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
Just tried simple vs vector, same result. Seems to think the edge of my wall is a person. So I just masked that. But man, I have a ton of stuff masked at this point.

View attachment 76341

View attachment 76342
If you only experience the problem at night, I guess at this time you only have a couple of options until the detection algorithms become more intelligent.

1. Light up your driveway with an LED flood light
2. Change your camera for one that supports IR
 

Schrodinger's Cat

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
12
Location
USA
Been running well for months now, but I'd like to update my deepstack to the latest version. How can I update deepstack which I have running in docker? The deepstack site that talked about docker installation seems to be gone now.
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
223
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
Been running well for months now, but I'd like to update my deepstack to the latest version. How can I update deepstack which I have running in docker? The deepstack site that talked about docker installation seems to be gone now.
Just stop Deepstack running under Docker and then restart using:

docker run --restart=always -e VISION-DETECTION=True -v localstorage:/datastore -p XX:5000 deepquestai/deepstack:cpu-x5-beta
Or
docker run --restart=always -e VISION-DETECTION=True -v localstorage:/datastore -p XX:5000 deepquestai/deepstack:latest

Replace XX with your port number
 

Schrodinger's Cat

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
12
Location
USA
Just stop Deepstack running under Docker and then restart using:

docker run --restart=always -e VISION-DETECTION=True -v localstorage:/datastore -p XX:5000 deepquestai/deepstack:cpu-x5-beta
Or
docker run --restart=always -e VISION-DETECTION=True -v localstorage:/datastore -p XX:5000 deepquestai/deepstack:latest

Replace XX with your port number
Amazing, much appreciated.

The newer deepstack version is so much faster. My image analysis went from around 1300ms to <300ms just with this update.
 
Top