Onboard Flash vs NVR?

hjo

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey All,
I am new to this and need some guidance:
I am trying to set up a surveillance system for an aging friend who is getting ripped off by her caretakers (I think). I have a broadband wireless router in the house and am thinking I can put a wireless Dahua dome camera (something like IPC-HDPW4220F-W | Dahua Technology - with up to 128GB SD Flash memory) outside her front door which would be about 20 feet away and the unit would then be about 30 feet from the inside router, the signal tested ok there for computer streaming video. I have 110ac power available there for the transformer/camera but here are the questions....

It gets cold outside there. Sometimes there will be a few nights in the -40F range. The cameras only say they are rated to -30C. Is that going to be a problem? If I put them over a lit incandescent light to keep it warm will that mess up the IR motion detection?

Also, do I need an NVR on this unit or can I just use the flash card in it and access it remotely via the web and the Dahua app to check and erase the video? I do not live close enough to manually check.

Will this work well or am I being too simplistic? All suggestions are welcome!

Many thanks in advance!
HJ

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
-40 from time to time wont hurt it (F/C units are unnecessary at that point)

If you buy a decent flash card you can; dont cheap out on it though..

hjo

n3wb
Reaction score
Wow.
I just spent 45 mins looking for where to get the Dahua IPC-HDPW4220F-W | Dahua Technology and can find only one, Aliexpress - but takes 2 weeks minimum.

Where do people here source Dahua cameras if they are not available on Amazon?s.

Thanks
HJ

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I just import mine off AliExpress; dont get prime delivery but it does arrive eventually.. so plan accordingly.

hjo

n3wb
Reaction score
OK, done. They say 12-20 days and it is from Professional Electronics Tech Superstore Shenzen...

hjo