New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

Phontana

n3wb
Joined
Feb 1, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Somewhere
@andycots That would mean that I have to buy another Ezviz product to make another Ezviz product 'work'. They promise that it will work with existing chimes and existing setups, but it does not. I don't want to use the Ezviz chime just because their doorbell set is not working as it should.
 

andycots

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 21, 2015
Messages
151
Reaction score
73
Location
West Yorkshire, UK
@Phontana Fair comments, i do understand your troubles, like with every tech product there is always an aspect that's not quiet there, or some some bit missing, ONVIF or something. Good luck with your search.
 

Studie

n3wb
Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
11
Location
Canada
Thanks for the info! I Just made some adjustments and bought a V30 Endurance card from Sandisk.
Hopefully this sd card lasts longer!
Hey guys, so a few weeks in, my SD Endurance card from Sandisk has failed now. This is the 4th SD card to fail to initialize randomly on my doorbell. Any idea why this might be a problem? Does anyone think it could be something to do with the hardware or the software on the camera?
I would probably like to roll back to my previous firmware but I am having trouble finding it. I am currently on the latest HIK Vision official firwmare. Anyone else have a similar issue like mine where the doorbell would just kill the SD card?
 

andycots

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 21, 2015
Messages
151
Reaction score
73
Location
West Yorkshire, UK
Put a Sandisk Ultra in my one, after i tried 3 other good cards it was the only one that would initialise. Seems to me like must have high end super fast and legit cards in it.
 

Studie

n3wb
Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
11
Location
Canada
Put a Sandisk Ultra in my one, after i tried 3 other good cards it was the only one that would initialise. Seems to me like must have high end super fast and legit cards in it.
I've only ever used genuine SD cards from Sandisk. All 4 have burned out. I can reformat them on the PC but the door camera will no longer initialize after using them for several weeks.
 

iwanttosee

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 27, 2020
Messages
44
Reaction score
40
Location
US
Regarding my current setup, there is not that much to draw. Just a wireless, battery powered push button which sends a 433 Mhz signal to a battery powered chime. So nothing I can or want to reuse from that setup.

This is what I'm trying to achieve (same setup as @moista as mentioned before):

View attachment 82169

The push button is the DB1, the relay is a Satel 10-13vac relay:

View attachment 82170

I haven't connected a chime yet, but since the relay only switches on or off that doesn't really matter for this test. Problem is that once the IR LEDs turn on, the relay swiches on and doesn't turn off again until I cut the power from the DB1.
Probably not much help to you, I use an Arduino nano with current sensor to monitor the current going to my door bell. I programmed the Arduino so as it sees the current draw increased due to the button being pressed, the Arduino would drive a 30 amp relay to activate my digital door bell which is not officially supported by my door bell.

Not a pretty setup, but it works. Sweet! LTS is releasing an ONVIF compatible doorbell with SD card slot and 940nm IR
 

fredkruger

n3wb
Joined
Apr 1, 2018
Messages
20
Reaction score
11
Location
UK
I have 2 Ezviz DB1 systems using exactly the same 16v transformer and chimes.
1 of them setup over a year ago and works fine. The other setup 6 months ago and the chime will ring at random for no reason, sometimes after several days.
I swapped only the doorbell and power kit around and the problem followed these parts.

I suspect the power kit is at fault because the doorbell app doesn't get triggered, only the chime.
Also I opened up the power kit, and the one I suspect to be faulty has some resistors missing (see photos of older and newer powerkit PCB).
I've since sent the doorbell and powerkit back for replacement but it would be interesting to know if anyone else is having a similar problems and could check the powerkit for missing components...
Following on from my post here a while ago. I've recently received a replacement for my suspected faulty DB1 doorbell/power kit.
The replacement is a DB1C which seems to be working ok so far. Looking inside the power kit, it does seem to be slightly different from the last one, although it does seem too have some resistors missing (see attached)
 

Attachments

Phontana

n3wb
Joined
Feb 1, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Somewhere
Following on from my post here a while ago. I've recently received a replacement for my suspected faulty DB1 doorbell/power kit.
The replacement is a DB1C which seems to be working ok so far. Looking inside the power kit, it does seem to be slightly different from the last one, although it does seem too have some resistors missing (see attached)
How long do you have the DB1C running now? So no phantom ringing in your setup anymore? Does it also work when the IR LEDs are turned on? Sounds interesting if that one does actually work, maybe they made some small improvements to the power kit to make it work with less resistors?
 

moista

n3wb
Joined
Dec 20, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
21
Location
Germany
Following on from my post here a while ago. I've recently received a replacement for my suspected faulty DB1 doorbell/power kit.
The replacement is a DB1C which seems to be working ok so far. Looking inside the power kit, it does seem to be slightly different from the last one, although it does seem too have some resistors missing (see attached)
This looks interesting :D
Maybe it is possible, to get a signal from the relay (the big white component on front/top) - for those, who want to experiment with microcontroller-circuits ;)

Im pressing my thumbs for you that the missing resistors are by design (not by mistake) and the chime will not phantom-ring.

a little offtopic: Does anybody know, why they left the PIR-Sensor on the successor-model?
 

fredkruger

n3wb
Joined
Apr 1, 2018
Messages
20
Reaction score
11
Location
UK
How long do you have the DB1C running now? So no phantom ringing in your setup anymore? Does it also work when the IR LEDs are turned on? Sounds interesting if that one does actually work, maybe they made some small improvements to the power kit to make it work with less resistors?
Been on about about a week now with no phantom chime ringing problems. Obviously the LEDs are on during the night.
The DB1C seems to get more false motion alarms compared to the older DB1 with PIR sensor....
 

fredkruger

n3wb
Joined
Apr 1, 2018
Messages
20
Reaction score
11
Location
UK
This looks interesting :D
Maybe it is possible, to get a signal from the relay (the big white component on front/top) - for those, who want to experiment with microcontroller-circuits ;)

Im pressing my thumbs for you that the missing resistors are by design (not by mistake) and the chime will not phantom-ring.

a little offtopic: Does anybody know, why they left the PIR-Sensor on the successor-model?
 

fredkruger

n3wb
Joined
Apr 1, 2018
Messages
20
Reaction score
11
Location
UK
I just use a 12v AC coil relay DPDT in the circuit.
This allows 2 devices to be triggered from the relay contacts.
I use 1 for a chime and 1 for an alarm input trigger.
It would be nice if someone from Ezviz or hikvision read this forum and could explain how the power kit works exactly. It all seems a bit secretive.
 
Top