DO NOT UPDATE DS-2DE4A425IW-DE

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
14,786
Reaction score
27,447
Location
USA
There is the 4MP available but it is on the same sensor as the 2MP, so the 2MP is better unless you have a ton of light at night. Do not chase MP, especially with a PTZ unless you have a lot of light.

@EMPIRETECANDY is the only vendor that still has autotracking - similar to this Hikvision - if you update it, you will lose autotracking.

Re-read my post #16 - PTZs are not plug and play, and if you do not take the time to dial it in, it will struggle. After spending the time to dial it in, it tracks over 95% of the time. Birds, rain, etc. are not an issue. The times it does lose track are under worse case scenarios when I am trying to get too much out of the camera.

He has it on his Amazon store as well:


But after his stock is sold, then you have to move up to the next series which is almost double, but still cheaper than the Hik.
 

KML

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 17, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
10
Location
Home
There is the 4MP available but it is on the same sensor as the 2MP, so the 2MP is better unless you have a ton of light at night. Do not chase MP, especially with a PTZ unless you have a lot of light.

@EMPIRETECANDY is the only vendor that still has autotracking - similar to this Hikvision - if you update it, you will lose autotracking.

Re-read my post #16 - PTZs are not plug and play, and if you do not take the time to dial it in, it will struggle. After spending the time to dial it in, it tracks over 95% of the time. Birds, rain, etc. are not an issue. The times it does lose track are under worse case scenarios when I am trying to get too much out of the camera.

He has it on his Amazon store as well:


But after his stock is sold, then you have to move up to the next series which is almost double, but still cheaper than the Hik.
Ok, thanks.
So I understand in your opinion Dahua is much better than Hikvision ?
I have been dialing my Hikvisions for years, but I came to conclusion it`s no good.
I ask Andy
 

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
14,786
Reaction score
27,447
Location
USA
In my opinion, yes. Others may have a different opinion, but the Hik costs more.

I have a Hik OEM that is ok, but my Dahua OEM from Andy blows it out of the water.
 

KML

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 17, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
10
Location
Home

allypally

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 7, 2018
Messages
48
Reaction score
11
Location
Australia
I received an email from my Hikvision supplier last evening.

"We spoke to Hikvision today about this issue.
This is what they said:"
HQ is already aware of the issue, new firmware is being developed at the moment
"We have asked them for an ETA, but in the past when they have said this, there is usually some sort of resolution within the next firmware release for the product. Thus there is hope on the horizon"


What I think is that Hikvision realised that the camera's Smart Tracking was obviously flawed, so disabled the functions while they attempt to fix the software. In the meantime, we live with a camera that resembles a person on drugs when it attempts to carry out the simplest of tracking tasks.
 

Smilingreen

Known around here
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
2,449
Reaction score
9,749
Location
USA
I have the DS-2DE4A425IW-DE model, but no (6) after the DE model number. My firmware version I am running is V5.6.18 build 210622. I have the ability to "Enable Target tracking" on my GUI but no "Smart Tracking". Not sure if target and smart are used interchangeably or not. Mine senses the trip wire, then it spins around to my preset 2. I thought at one time it would track something once it moved into the intrusion area. It does trigger my DS-2DE7530IW-AE to spin around and cover the area the DS-2DE4A425IW-DE was monitoring before. It tracks no problem. I'll have to look at that firmware version and see if it will even run on my camera.
 

johnfitz

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 4, 2021
Messages
182
Reaction score
193
Location
NY
Hi @Smilingreen

I have a DS-2DE4A320IW-DE (like yours, without the 6 after the model number) running the same firmware version V5.6.18 build 210622. We have older R7 series cameras. I think the similar model @allypally has is a newer E7 series.

My camera does have smart tracking (configuration/PTZ/smart tracking on the web interface) and I would think your DS-2DE4A425IW-DE running the same firmware would as well... where are you seeing "Enable Target tracking"?
 

Smilingreen

Known around here
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
2,449
Reaction score
9,749
Location
USA
Hi @Smilingreen

I have a DS-2DE4A320IW-DE (like yours, without the 6 after the model number) running the same firmware version V5.6.18 build 210622. We have older R7 series cameras. I think the similar model @allypally has is a newer E7 series.

My camera does have smart tracking (configuration/PTZ/smart tracking on the web interface) and I would think your DS-2DE4A425IW-DE running the same firmware would as well... where are you seeing "Enable Target tracking"?
Screen Shot 2022-03-28 at 6.34.47 PM.png
 

johnfitz

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 4, 2021
Messages
182
Reaction score
193
Location
NY
I thought I had seen that "Enable Tracking Target" setting somewhere (I just got this camera a few days ago).

So, if you check "Enable Target Tracking" the target will be dynamically set as the region of interest and the higher you set ROI level the better the target image quality will be (image quality of other areas will be reduced).
 

Smilingreen

Known around here
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
2,449
Reaction score
9,749
Location
USA
I thought I had seen that "Enable Tracking Target" setting somewhere (I just got this camera a few days ago).

So, if you check "Enable Target Tracking" the target will be dynamically set as the region of interest and the higher you set ROI level the better the target image quality will be (image quality of other areas will be reduced).
That is my understanding of how it works. My NVR doesn't include those settings, The web page does and also IVMS-4200 client software. Sometimes, I think the Hiks get confused when settings are configured in more than a single place, Multiple times, I have had to factory reset them and then start over again to get some functions to work correctly.
 

johnfitz

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 4, 2021
Messages
182
Reaction score
193
Location
NY
Hi @allypally

Thanks for sharing that document... I understand you only seen minor improvements, but the instructions do seem to provide a good alternative way to set things up... I'm going to try on my cameras soon...

From the document --- "Smart tracking has a disadvantage that if the tracking target stops during travelling, PTZ will not mark the target with green square. Without green square PTZ treats it as the ending of the tracking, the PTZ will go back to its original position."

For me this has been the first/worst problem with the smart tracking... if the target stops moving for a moment the camera just gives up and pans away.

The instructions use the 4 intrusion detection regions but I'm guessing you can use a combination of intrusion detection/region entrance/line crossing regions so you can set up more than just 4 detection/smart tracking areas.
 

allypally

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 7, 2018
Messages
48
Reaction score
11
Location
Australia
Hi @allypally

Thanks for sharing that document... I understand you only seen minor improvements, but the instructions do seem to provide a good alternative way to set things up... I'm going to try on my cameras soon...

From the document --- "Smart tracking has a disadvantage that if the tracking target stops during travelling, PTZ will not mark the target with green square. Without green square PTZ treats it as the ending of the tracking, the PTZ will go back to its original position."

For me this has been the first/worst problem with the smart tracking... if the target stops moving for a moment the camera just gives up and pans away.

The instructions use the 4 intrusion detection regions but I'm guessing you can use a combination of intrusion detection/region entrance/line crossing regions so you can set up more than just 4 detection/smart tracking areas.
Let us know how you get on
 

Hesham1968

n3wb
Joined
Mar 30, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Italy
I have found a Fix! You can install IPDE_E7_EN_STD_5.7.3_211208 this is a initial release of 5.7.3 and it allows you to install it, this still has the Auto Trackin!!!!!
Hi, I couldn't find this Firmware, can you share it please, I made the same mistake and the cam is new.
Thanks in advance.
 

Hesham1968

n3wb
Joined
Mar 30, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Italy
Hi to all, seems like the auto tracking came back but doesn't work, I have a question about the PTZ, since I have all the cames with DVR Dahua, I straggled till let it be visible on the NVR but I can not see the IVS perimeter of intrusion area or line crossing and not recording any event.
Please advice whether you had similar situation.
Regards.
 
Top