Camera locations for future house

Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
21
Location
KY
Did you get a nice data center / closet setup on the floor plan?
It will go in the basement, which is currently unfinished, so it's up to my imagination where to put it there once it's finished. If we decide to add a room in the basement, then will probably go there in the closet to hide from roaming eyes. Maybe even add a fake wall in the closet, hah!
 

Teken

Getting comfortable
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
360
Reaction score
394
Location
Canada
Just for clarity sake my reply regarding the dedicated 20 amp outlets was to highlight this important area. Since everything will be in the unfinished basement you have lots of time to install the same.

If you’re are feeling spendy consider installing 20 / 30 amp outlets so you may use enterprise grade hardware. PDU’s and UPS’s are going fairly cheap on eBay these days which allows you to extend the runtime and remote management of the network.

Having the ability to cycle power, load shed, and manage / schedule Just In Time hardware when and where needed can not be overstated.

Server is locked up and in a unknown state?

No problem - I’ll just remote boot said device. Time of Use (ToU) rates are about to kick in? No problem - I’ll schedule that pig to turn on during lower energy pricing!

Lightning storm roaming my way? No problem I’ll kill power to all none essential devices to protect my investment until it passes bye!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
21
Location
KY
Just for clarity sake my reply regarding the dedicated 20 amp outlets was to highlight this important area. Since everything will be in the unfinished basement you have lots of time to install the same.
If you’re are feeling spendy consider installing 20 / 30 amp outlets so you may use enterprise grade hardware. PDU’s and UPS’s are going fairly cheap on eBay these days which allows you to extend the runtime and remote management of the network.
Having the ability to cycle power, load shed, and manage / schedule Just In Time hardware when and where needed can not be overstated.
Server is locked up and in a unknown state?
No problem - I’ll just remote boot said device. Time of Use (ToU) rates are about to kick in? No problem - I’ll schedule that pig to turn on during lower energy pricing!
Lightning storm roaming my way? No problem I’ll kill power to all none essential devices to protect my investment until it passes bye!
Makes sense! Thank you for the advice!
 

Teken

Getting comfortable
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
360
Reaction score
394
Location
Canada
Here's an updated plan.
1: LPR
2-8: PTZ?
9: General view
10: Flood Light

With this set up I'm not sure I'll need all of #2, 3 and 4? Perhaps remove 4?
Given the facade of the home I would ask you to seriously consider the type / style of cameras you intend to use. A standard LPR camera is huge in comparison to a turret / dome.

Hence my suggestion for a on ground placement (hidden) in a fake mail box, bird house, rock, shrub. This also insures the angle of the LPR camera has the best possible image capture.

Given the extreme height and size of the future home. A dome style PTZ vs pole mount PTZ would be fine and not hinder the curb appeal of the home. They also make surface mount brackets for a more stealth look so consider that too.

Keep in mind there is very little room for error if you intend to mount the PTZ on the second level roof line. Your not going to be adjusting and cleaning anything on a regular basis at those heights!

Last year we had two installs where a home owner wanted a none PTZ camera (turret) to be installed similar to your home. At the time of install the FOV was confirmed and OK’d.

Six months later a wild storm kicked up all the debris from the adjacent build. The camera had a piece of dirt at the center of the lens.

Instead of calling for service the home owner decided to walk the roof. Well, sadly on that faithful day the home owner did not use any PPE / Fall Protection. Video from another home across the street captured the poor fellow rolling off the roof as he tried to reach underneath the eves to clean the lens.

So, please consider long term maintenance (How To) and possible failure / replacement.

Sadly, a rental ladder if none was present and a pressure washer would have solved this problem.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
21
Location
KY
Taken from another thread. I think it's a good way to get faces. Shrub Cam could be #4? or #5
Good idea - the corner between garage and entry door will be some sort of shrubs/flowers, etc. So potentially can put it there, marked #11. Wouldn't it make sense to put two though? One facing the entry door and one facing the driveway?
Then there's definitely not a need to keep all cameras #3-5. Perhaps would make sense to get rid of #5.. I would assume #3 is still best to keep for ID whoever walks up the driveway to the entry path, and #4 will give me overview to the left of the house. Even though there's cam #8, it will be facing the driveway so left of the house is left in a blind zone without cam #4.

Given the facade of the home I would ask you to seriously consider the type / style of cameras you intend to use. A standard LPR camera is huge in comparison to a turret / dome.
Hence my suggestion for a on ground placement (hidden) in a fake mail box, bird house, rock, shrub. This also insures the angle of the LPR camera has the best possible image capture.
Given the extreme height and size of the future home. A dome style PTZ vs pole mount PTZ would be fine and not hinder the curb appeal of the home. They also make surface mount brackets for a more stealth look so consider that too.
Keep in mind there is very little room for error if you intend to mount the PTZ on the second level roof line. Your not going to be adjusting and cleaning anything on a regular basis at those heights!
The idea for LPR on #1 in part deals with the road from the house sloping up a bit as well as grass/greenery in the middle of the circle. I will definitely test first, but was hoping by being that up high might also catch plates of the cars driving by on the connected road there. These newer houses will not have mailboxes, so that's out of the question, but definitely can look into shrubs/fake rocks, etc. All will be determined with testing.
I'm planning on getting a huge ladder to hang christmas lights, so hopefully should be able to reach the cameras if need cleaning! Have pressure washer as well.
Need to read up other threads on how to run cable that far out - for lpr is placed somewhere towards the front of the house and for face id cams in the shrubs on the entryway.
 

Attachments

samplenhold

Known around here
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
2,791
Reaction score
6,295
Location
Spring, Texas
Then there's definitely not a need to keep all cameras #3-5. Perhaps would make sense to get rid of #5.. I would assume #3 is still best to keep for ID whoever walks up the driveway to the entry path, and #4 will give me overview to the left of the house. Even though there's cam #8, it will be facing the driveway so left of the house is left in a blind zone without cam #4.
Don't be too quick to dump cam locations. Multiple views of the same area is a good thing. Due to a number of environmental reasons, a single cam may not get you the ID you want at any given time. Having redundant views gives you multiple chances to get that money shot.

 

EMPIRETECANDY

IPCT Vendor
Joined
Nov 8, 2016
Messages
4,476
Reaction score
9,404
Location
HONGKONG
I don't think the front side need such qty cams,

Cam1 use a PTZ with a corner wall mount, can get very good view, use SD49225XA-HNR or SD49425XB-HNR. PFA151 Wall mount.
Cam 2 use a Motorized IPC-T5442T-ZE or IPC-T3241T-ZAS, based on budget.
Cam 3use a IPC-E3541F-AS-M 2.8mm
Cam 4 use a Motorized IPC-T5442T-ZE or IPC-T3241T-ZAS, based on budget.
Cam 5 for LPR use a IPC-B5442E-Z4E if within 90ft.

1610979779518.png
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
21
Location
KY
I don't think the front side need such qty cams,
Per numerous comments from others, wouldn't #4 be too high for ID those who come up the driveway if by the soffit? It's a rather flat driveway.
I can, and probably will, pre-wire there just in case, but just curious.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
21
Location
KY
yes, LPR use longer range camera.LOL
That part I understand, just per your initial post:
Cam 4 use a Motorized IPC-T5442T-ZE or IPC-T3241T-ZAS, based on budget.
Cam 5 for LPR use a IPC-B5442E-Z4E if within 90ft.

Both of these are high under soffits, where as many suggested Cam 4 specifically needs to be at garage level for face ID. But you are saying even by the soffit will be OK? Not questioning Cam 5 for LPR.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
21
Location
KY
Hello again! So the prewire is about to be done and the installer wants to install electrical boxes with wall plates where the cameras will be on the brick. So by the garage light sconces (#2, 3 and 4) and by the window on the left (#8). Does it make sense to do that from aesthetics perspective?
Given the thread here: Brick Wall install and Paint - painting IP security camera to blend in I assume the camera's base will cover over the electrical box, so (i hope) shouldn't be an issue, but wanted to check opinions here if perhaps its better to just leave the cable in the wall and pull it through later, after drilling a 1'' hole, just like in the thread.
 

saltwater

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
187
Reaction score
137
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Hello again! So the prewire is about to be done and the installer wants to install electrical boxes with wall plates where the cameras will be on the brick. So by the garage light sconces (#2, 3 and 4) and by the window on the left (#8). Does it make sense to do that from aesthetics perspective?
Given the thread here: Brick Wall install and Paint - painting IP security camera to blend in I assume the camera's base will cover over the electrical box, so (i hope) shouldn't be an issue, but wanted to check opinions here if perhaps its better to just leave the cable in the wall and pull it through later, after drilling a 1'' hole, just like in the thread.
In my case, I just left the ethernet cable hanging out of the wall. The hole was about 15-20mm, put silicon in the hole. When the house was complete, I used the Dahua wall mount brackets, that covered the hole and wire. The camera then attached to the wall bracket. The silicon was easy to dislodge.
 
Top