What are the best cameras for a decent price?

Jayordon

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
As an installer, I mostly stick to the Lorex 8MP cameras, but the night vision just isn't very good. Dahua and Hikvision seem to have some decent options, but I've heard that the US might ban selling them in the near future. I know every situation requires a different camera, but are there any specific models that are just overall better than the rest? I want to look into some 4MP cameras because they should have better night vision. I heard that the Dahua 5442 series was really good, but the Dahua website shows that they are EOL. Have they come out with something else?

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
If they ban Dahua, that includes your Lorex since it is rebranded Dahua, just on poor MP/Sensor ratios and cheaper components...

It is simple LOL do not chase MP - do not buy a 4MP camera that is anything smaller than a 1/1.8" sensor. Do not buy a 2MP camera that is anything smaller than a 1/2.8" sensor. Do not buy a 4K (8MP) camera on anything smaller than a 1/1.2" sensor. Unfortunately, most 4k cams are on the same sensor as a 2MP and thus the 2MP will kick its butt all night long as the 4k will need 4 times the light than the 2MP... 4k will do very poor at night unless you have stadium quality lighting (well a lot of lighting LOL).

Dahua has a newer 4K camera out on the 1/1.2" sensor but it is not available yet, so for now the 5442 series is the best Dahua on the market.

Jayordon

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
If they ban Dahua, that includes your Lorex since it is rebranded Dahua, just on poor MP/Sensor ratios and cheaper components...