Three Dahua Bricks... Is There a Trick to UNBrick?

ccssid

n3wb
Joined
Jan 2, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
20
Location
us
That's an impressive little switch, right there. Added to my list for future expansion in the shop which has a 4poe/4non switch right now.
My comment re: fanless vs power was prompted by searching 16~24 port switches, it looked like all the poe versions and especially the high wattage units were all fan. 200~400W of throughput will necessarily expel a good percentage of that energy as heat locally.
Even more reason to Daisey chain several smaller fanless units.
 

TVille

Getting comfortable
Joined
Apr 26, 2014
Messages
640
Reaction score
1,530
Location
Virginia
What do you consider high wattage? I have an incredibly modest fanless VLAN capable switch for IPC's which I picked up back when I started this journey, and it's only a 4 port but has a 120W budget. You can cycle a port's power without losing PoE to that device downstream, test for shorts, and loops etc. At the time all I cared about was decent wattages, an intuitive web UI, and that it was basic, and advanced VLAN capable including 802.1Q (basic/advanced) so it could continue to serve as my network grew. I guess, in your case, it would also matter where the switch is physically (in which building), and whether something like this would play in your ecosystem.

Yep, I have two of those, got them a couple of weeks ago when Amazon had them for $30 off. :) One of them is running a couple of cameras including the 49225 PTZ which is the highest power demand I have.
 

MrSurly

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jun 6, 2020
Messages
289
Reaction score
433
Location
TX
Well, I cancelled the order on the 24p. I'm still leaning toward the OMADA SDN feature (only because I have some of the pieces now), But that little NetGear above,is tempting IF it was on sale. To replace my failing switch would take a BUNCH of them. The good news is that my failing switch is working for now and since I was able to cancel the other, I now have the option to take a better look around at what's out there. Maybe three 8p switches or two 16s.
Maybe I SHOULD just forget about buying management features as I likely won't ever bother with them. I've not used any V-lan yet and I'm not sure it would do anything especially useful for my set up.
 

ccssid

n3wb
Joined
Jan 2, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
20
Location
us
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
8,102
Reaction score
17,652
Location
New Jersey
I'm not a fan of BV Tech. Their power supplies are kind of weak. The one I had, a 16 port, wouldn't start under load, IE with cameras plugged into it. So if there was a power failure, pre UPS being online, I had t rush in an unplug the cameras before power came back up. That happened once too often and it wouldn't power back on. Now I'm using two IPCamPower 16 port switches. They're on a second NIC in the BI machine so a VLAN would be redundant redundancy.
 

ccssid

n3wb
Joined
Jan 2, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
20
Location
us
I'm not a fan of BV Tech. Their power supplies are kind of weak. The one I had, a 16 port, wouldn't start under load, IE with cameras plugged into it. So if there was a power failure, pre UPS being online, I had t rush in an unplug the cameras before power came back up. That happened once too often and it wouldn't power back on. Now I'm using two IPCamPower 16 port switches. They're on a second NIC in the BI machine so a VLAN would be redundant redundancy.
Good to know. My cameras are set up similarly. A 2nd nic in BI pc going to an 8 port unify switch. The one problem I have is this switch refuses to be re- adopted by the Unifi Controller. The adoption only lasted a few months. Mute point as I am not changing the port management settings any time soon.
 

MrSurly

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jun 6, 2020
Messages
289
Reaction score
433
Location
TX
Good to know. My cameras are set up similarly. A 2nd nic in BI pc going to an 8 port unify switch. The one problem I have is this switch refuses to be re- adopted by the Unifi Controller. The adoption only lasted a few months. Mute point as I am not changing the port management settings any time soon.
Earlier I looked at the IPCT switch because i assume it’s good because it’s in the store, right?
The 16 and 24 are b/o. and apparently they’re all unmanaged.
I’m trying to find a 12 or 16 port similar to the beefy little 4-port that was posted. Fanless/managed/Hi-Power is a tall order if you want more than four ports.
 
Last edited:
Top