SD49225T-HN frequent restarts

EMPIRETECANDY

IPCT Vendor
Joined
Nov 8, 2016
Messages
8,408
Reaction score
24,252
Location
HONGKONG
I think The board has high defective rate for some lots last year, right now the new lot no such report anymore. Will check when i get the replacement one.
 

JayS_IPCams

Young grasshopper
Joined
Oct 30, 2018
Messages
72
Reaction score
16
Location
Washington
I think The board has high defective rate for some lots last year, right now the new lot no such report anymore. Will check when i get the replacement one.
So will they/you be offering a replacement to those that have experienced this issue with the older model?
 

Gusevod

n3wb
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Location
Russia
Good day to all.
There was the same problem.
I thought that a single marriage.
For example, poor BGA soldering.

Two chambers, one older, the other fresh.
Rebooted older.
Passed in the service.

Maybe the problem concerns only a certain party?
My camera's serial number was 3K0042CPAN0xxxx
Have more recent 3L06A9APAN0xxxx

And they have a hardware difference, the 3L06 consumes more power.
 
Last edited:

tangent

IPCT Contributor
Joined
May 12, 2016
Messages
4,421
Reaction score
3,724
So will they/you be offering a replacement to those that have experienced this issue with the older model?
The cheapest shipping to China is probably going to run you close to $100.
 

EMPIRETECANDY

IPCT Vendor
Joined
Nov 8, 2016
Messages
8,408
Reaction score
24,252
Location
HONGKONG
Right now the 20181124 is the released one that we have, i have a 201906, still under testing, if can work, i will share it here.
 

753951

n3wb
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
23
Reaction score
4
@EMPIRETECANDY, any news on this new firmware? I have two SD49225T-HN cameras with 20181124 firmware. One is rebooting 2-4 times per day.
The other one works couple of hours then it won't accept any command (can't connect to UI via http, PTZ not working from BI, Dahua Config tool doesn't see it, etc.), but BI is still able to stream video from it (streaming video is the only thing that works, and ping works too). When it's in that state I can't switch day/night profiles using cURL. For all practical purposes, you can't do anything with it other than receiving video stream.
I tried to power it from BV POE-SW501G switch, and from BV POE-100GH injector. I changed cables, reflashed firmware, tried factory reset, etc.
 

753951

n3wb
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
23
Reaction score
4
as a hopefully temporary measure try using the Configuration tool. I've had fairly reliable results by going there, seeing the camera I want to access isn't shown, importing a file (.xls) I had saved prior when I had access to all cameras and they were all shown, click on the offending cameras Web icon (far right), wait 30 sec to 1 minute, access camera from IE browser / Smart PSS / BI.
I tried what you suggested but, unfortunately, did not work for me. I waited for IE to show login screen for 7 minutes. Nothing! It just spins there not receiving one byte from the camera. It does not receive HTTP 404 (not found) or anything else. I tried to connect with cURL, and it also waits forever not receiving single byte of data. Obviously, something responds on port 80 in camera, but that's about it.
 

753951

n3wb
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
23
Reaction score
4
Disconnecting power obviously works, but that's not solution.
 

753951

n3wb
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
23
Reaction score
4
I'm always handing same IP address from DHCP server (static reservation). I never had problem with camera changing IP address.

Camera basically communicates on multiple channels. For the sake of simplicity, let's call the ones that provide video feed a "video channel", and one that allows command processing a "command channel". When you use Dahua tools (config, etc.) or web browser, you use command channel to connect to the camera (basically camera behaves like it's web server). When you are recording video signal in Blue Iris or via NVR, you get it via video channel. This one, for me, works 100%. Blue Iris never drops a frame. But some time after camera boots, and it can be an hour or 5 hours, command channel gets quiet. If I try to connect via Dahua tools or web browser, I can't.

If there are web developers here, it behaves like it accepts connection and then never sends a single byte back to the client. Unless you use client that supports a timeout feature (like cURL, for example), client will indefinitely sit there and do nothing. It basically looks like internal web server is utterly confused (crashed?). Reboot brings it back, just so it repeats after some undetermined time. Meanwhile Blue Iris, all that time, is receiving video via video channel like everything is fine. But, can't use PTZ, can't de/activate IR lights, can't change any configuration.
 

Tinman

Known around here
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
1,228
Reaction score
1,530
Location
USA
Yeah sort of the same results I get.
Before getting my router to reserve the camera's IP (it doesn't do static) I would get video from BI, but nothing in SmartPSS or IE.
After many hours of video streaming, it wouldn't respond to commands - try a command, wait a couple of miniutes (possibly the 2m 45 seconds below) and it accepts commands
If I attempted to open the camera from the NVR it wouldn't open immediately, I had to wait 2m 45 sec before it would open up allowing both video & command from all "apps" (IE, Smart PSS-direct, SmartPSS- NVR, NVR, BI)

Have to wait a couple of more days after reserving the IP to see what behaviour it exhibits.

What brand of router do you use that does not allow you to set a DHCP range ? I would not recommend it to anyone.
 

Tinman

Known around here
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
1,228
Reaction score
1,530
Location
USA
Never said that. Netgear doesn't allow setting an IP to STATIC. It allows setting an IP to RESERVED. Has nothing to do with DHCP's range.
- Although if you set an IP to RESERVE you have to keep DHCP enabled, since it's the function which uses reserved.
The router does not set the camera's IP to static....the camera itself does. But you do need to have this camera's IP outside of your DHCP range. Netgear does allow you to use static IP's....I use one myself.
 

Tinman

Known around here
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
1,228
Reaction score
1,530
Location
USA
Which model of Netgear Router do you have?
Nighthawk 7900P......but that really doesn't matter. Just set set your camera to a static IP and then make sure it is not in your DHCP range. Its a good idea to configure your camera system all static, so you really could unplug your router and it will all stay up and running on your lan. Have all your cams and pc or nvr connected to a switch. Of course you need the router to get you on the wan safely, but that is it.
 

753951

n3wb
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
23
Reaction score
4
So, after replacing cable, not one, but 2 PoE injectors and one PoE switch, I was finally ready to take camera down and replace it (it's out of warranty with Andy). Before that I've tried another soft firmware factory reset (via web UI) and another hard factory reset (via button on camera). None of it made any difference.

Camera originally came with NTSC firmware. Then I flushed older PAL firmware (2018-04-04) and, lo and behold, it's now working 2 days straight without problems connected to PoE switch. Funny thing is that I have another, identical, camera, bought at the same time from Andy, and that one never had any issues at all.

I will cross my fingers and go sacrifice a chicken. Just in case.
 

753951

n3wb
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
23
Reaction score
4
What did you "flush" the PAL firmware (2018-04-04) with? i.e. what version of firmware was flashed - actually the whole file designation for the firmware flashed since dahua makes so many looong file designations, some being the same code.
I used firmware from this post SD49XXXS-HN (Pal)
BTW, flush was a typo, of course (flash)
 

mmmburritos

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
70
Reaction score
44
Right now the 20181124 is the released one that we have, i have a 201906, still under testing, if can work, i will share it here.
@EMPIRETECANDY Could you please follow up with Dahua on the firmware for this?

I'm still struggling with issues with the web interface becoming unresponsive on this SD49225T-HN-S2 running 20181124. I have been testing various permutations of config options over the last few days, at this point I _think_ the culprit is the NTP client. I have done the factory reset via the web interface and finally this past Saturday I climbed up on a ladder and did the hard reset via the internal button, which did not seem to make a difference. After resetting the camera Saturday, the ONLY settings I changed were to correct the time/date to my time zone, enable DST and enable NTP, I also changed the video to H265 VBR. Sunday the web interface was unresponsive. My first guess was that it was H265 somehow causing the problem so I set it back to H264 and the next day the web interface was again unresponsive. (The camera does respond to pings the entire time and logs don't indicate the camera rebooting at all as others have seen). So Monday morning I factory defaulted it again and left EVERYTHING as-is, Tuesday morning the web interface responded just fine. So I went in and changed the video to H265/VBR and it's been up and running since then. I won't really know until tomorrow, it seems to take 8+ hours of inactivity for the web to go unresponsive. Also I'm leaving this on the default IP 192.168.1.108, nothing else is accessing the camera, no NVR, no tinycam, nothing. My only attempts to verify connectivity are using a Chrome browser and/or the Easy Viewer app in Chrome.

Clearly version 20181124 is unstable, that seems to be established by this thread and others, it seems Dahua should have addressed this by now. I've also followed some of the issues with the SD1A203T-GN as I have several of them, that camera seems to take the same firmware file as the SD49225T-HN and I don't see the same web interface issue there, however I do see mine reboot roughly every 24 hours, that seems to a common issue on that version on the mini PTZ camera. My point being, the 20181124 version seems buggy and Dahua should be releasing something new rather than expecting us to downgrade.
 

mmmburritos

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
70
Reaction score
44
So my theory on NTP possibly causing the web interface to become unresponsive was wrong, it ended up failing again this morning. It's almost as if changing any setting from the default causes it to fail. If I leave it set to all defaults and nothing but the admin password set, it seems to stay stable for >24 hours. I also tried downgrading the S2 camera to 20180404 firmware which resulted in the "white lines" on video as I've seen mentioned in other threads. I went back to 20181124 and at least things work fine when they work. The problems with this camera are very frustrating.
 

Jim_OS

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 31, 2018
Messages
107
Reaction score
47
Location
Germany
I haven't read all postings here, but I think I have a/the same problem (now). My SD49225T-HN from Feb. 2018 now (since a few weeks) also boots several times (maybe five times) a day. :(
I'm not sure, but I think the problem is gone with the MINI PTZ DH_SD-Mao-Rhea_MultiLang_PN_Stream3_IVS_V2.800.0000000.4.R.191105 Update. No frequent restarts in the last 7 days. :cool:
 
Top