Questions from a first-timer.

RubberSlug

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I’m brand new to buying/installing IP cameras, but have used them occasionally in my security job. Currently my house has decent coverage with some wifi cameras that do a good job capturing activity. I’m interested in setting up a LP camera so I will have something concrete to give police should anything happen. Eventually I plan to replace the wifi cameras with IP cameras, but it’s not in the budget right now, so the LP camera is the priority. Luckily my long rural driveway is the only way to get to my house, so it’s a perfect chokepoint for LP capture.

Goals:
LP camera that can ID any vehicle going up or down the driveway, connected to a system that can be expanded to include more cameras in the future. Automatic LP logging would be a plus, but not necessary if it costs much more.

Constraints:
Small budget. No exact number, but preferably as cheap as possible while still reliably getting all plates. I know the HFW5241E-Z12E is the gold standard, and I’m open to getting one if I absolutely have to. However, I’m thinking it might be overkill given the layout.

Assuming the LP camera is attached to the house, the closest it could be to the chokepoint is about 50 ft. Farthest is 75ft. Angle would be between 30-40 degrees from the vehicle direction. If I could have it set up across the driveway from the house, it could be just 30 ft away and dead center on the plates. But then I’d have to run cable under the pavement (is that even possible?) or overhead (ugly and vulnerable to damage).

Questions:

Given my goals and constraints, what should I buy? (Camera and NVR)
Does it matter where I set up the NVR keeping expandability in mind?
If I wanted to put up cameras away from the house (on/in the detached garage, on trees etc), how do I run cables over/under pavement without cost and installation frustrations ballooning?