PoE Splitter/Adapter of choice to power IR illuminator?

alekk

n3wb
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
19
Reaction score
10
Location
US
Ahhhhhh ... so I am being a numbskull! ;-)

All this time I thought the the Ethernet cable to the camera would carry BOTH data and PoE ... but that is NOT the case ... as only data is carried there ... and only the 12V splitter has power. Well that's a bummer ... since I think it's easiest just to have a single (ethernet) cable come out of the camera that can be used for both data and power.

2021_09_14_anvsion_splitter.jpg

So this raises the question IS there a splitter out there that does deliver power to the Ethernet? Or do you have to split the 12V Power line and run another cable into the camera housing?

And if NOT, what if I get a physical splitter (like this one) that just passes through all 8 pins [EDIT] ... ooops ... that does a switcheroo of the pins. Something like this is just a passthrough of all 8 pins ... so then the camera is plugged into one side ... and the splitter into the other so now I have 12V to power that microphone? And LOL @icpilot that I have that exact same microphone! ;-)

@Teken - good point and duly noted that these are "active" devices.
 
Last edited:

Left Coast Geek

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 20, 2021
Messages
250
Reaction score
215
Location
mid-left coast
ok, someone mentioned PoE mode A and B before, so I looked them up.

PoE mode A uses pins 1,2,3,6 for power, this is the default mode for 802.3af, but an 802.3af supply is supposed to support both modes.

PoE mode B uses pins 4,5,7,8, which are not connected in your splitter. old 24V passive stuff was all about mode B.
some 48/56V devices also default to B, which is in violation of the 802.3af spec, but its possible your camera only supports this mode.
 

icpilot

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
65
Reaction score
79
Ahhhhhh ... so I am being a numbskull! ;-)

All this time I thought the the Ethernet cable to the camera would carry BOTH data and PoE ... but that is NOT the case ... as only data is carried there ... and only the 12V splitter has power. Well that's a bummer ... since I think it's easiest just to have a single (ethernet) cable come out of the camera that can be used for both data and power.

View attachment 101682

So this raises the question IS there a splitter out there that does deliver power to the Ethernet? Or do you have to split the 12V Power line and run another cable into the camera housing?

And if NOT, what if I get a physical splitter (like this one) that just passes through all 8 pins [EDIT] ... ooops ... that does a switcheroo of the pins. Something like this is just a passthrough of all 8 pins ... so then the camera is plugged into one side ... and the splitter into the other so now I have 12V to power that microphone? And LOL @icpilot that I have that exact same microphone! ;-)

@Teken - good point and duly noted that these are "active" devices.

Since you are using that microphone, it has 3 connectors:

white connector for audio which connects to your Line-In connector on the camera
red connector which is your power IN from the Anvision
black connector which is your power OUT to the camera

In your case you don't need a Y-splitter for the power.
 

alekk

n3wb
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
19
Reaction score
10
Location
US
First, I'm super-appreciative of everyone chiming in ... thanks a bunch!

Yep - I realize since that microphone has a 12V pass-thru, I don't need to further split. And sure, I could use that 12V pass-thru to power the camera, but now I'd have to add another cable into the camera itself- I was hoping I could simply power it via the Ethernet cable.

So is there a "splitter" such that it takes a PoE cable as input, "pass thru" the PoE (both power and data) via an Ethernet cable, and also provides a 12V pigtail?

I.e. the AnVision does pass-thru pins 1236 ... but I am I correct that it does NOT pass through power?
 

icpilot

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
65
Reaction score
79
First, I'm super-appreciative of everyone chiming in ... thanks a bunch!

Yep - I realize since that microphone has a 12V pass-thru, I don't need to further split. And sure, I could use that 12V pass-thru to power the camera, but now I'd have to add another cable into the camera itself- I was hoping I could simply power it via the Ethernet cable.

So is there a "splitter" such that it takes a PoE cable as input, "pass thru" the PoE (both power and data) via an Ethernet cable, and also provides a 12V pigtail?

I.e. the AnVision does pass-thru pins 1236 ... but I am I correct that it does NOT pass through power?
I don't understand why you need another cable. What connectors do you have on your Hik camera?
 

Teken

Getting comfortable
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
601
Reaction score
872
Location
Canada
I’m also confused almost every recent Hikvision camera has 12 VDC / POE / Other. If the microphone as you noted has a pass through (power) no extra cable required.

If no pass through a simple Y splitter is needed to provide 12 VDC for the camera and microphone. Regardless, I would love to know what the voltage is at the POE splitter you have now since you identified it was not wired incorrectly vs no power on the RJ45 Jack.
 

alekk

n3wb
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
19
Reaction score
10
Location
US
Ummmm ... I'm probably not explaining this well - sorry about the confusion.
First, the Hikvision certainly has 12VDC in to power it which can be used to power the camera.

My current setup is PoE injector to Ethernet cable which plugs into the Hikvision - provides BOTH data and power.
And I have an Audio input cable coming out of the camera to the microphone ... which is powered via a 120VAC->12VDC transformer.

What I was HOPING to do is get rid of the transformer. So basically I would put the Anvision splitter just before the camera so then I could use the 12VDC splitter to power the microphone. And I THOUGHT that the Ethernet cable output from the Anvision would provide BOTH data and power ... but all indications are that it ONLY provides data. So while I could use this setup, it turns out I would ALSO have to run 12VDC into the camera from the passthrough connector from the microphone.

If I want to do what I originally thought I could do, I would have to get a splitter like @tigerwillow1 mentioned ... that actually does pass power (and data of course) through the Ethernet cable.

Or the other option that I think (?) should work is get a physical Ethernet splitter that just passes through all 8 pins. I have to be careful because many of these devices switch the pin settings because they are used to create two Ethernet connections over a single cable. They do this by sending data over both the standard 1236 pins and then (basically) running a 2nd connection over 4578. Here's an example of what those look like - see the 3rd image (pin layout) and the 4th image that shows how they "duplex" the connection.

What I think should work is something like this - dead simple and totally passive - just pass all 8 pins as-is to both outputs. And yes, I can NOT hook up two DATA devices up to this ... but only one would be passing data to the camera (and hopefully power!) while the other would plug into the Anvision which would only be providing power to the microphone.
 

Teken

Getting comfortable
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
601
Reaction score
872
Location
Canada
Ummmm ... I'm probably not explaining this well - sorry about the confusion.
First, the Hikvision certainly has 12VDC in to power it which can be used to power the camera.

My current setup is PoE injector to Ethernet cable which plugs into the Hikvision - provides BOTH data and power.
And I have an Audio input cable coming out of the camera to the microphone ... which is powered via a 120VAC->12VDC transformer.

What I was HOPING to do is get rid of the transformer. So basically I would put the Anvision splitter just before the camera so then I could use the 12VDC splitter to power the microphone. And I THOUGHT that the Ethernet cable output from the Anvision would provide BOTH data and power ... but all indications are that it ONLY provides data. So while I could use this setup, it turns out I would ALSO have to run 12VDC into the camera from the passthrough connector from the microphone.

If I want to do what I originally thought I could do, I would have to get a splitter like @tigerwillow1 mentioned ... that actually does pass power (and data of course) through the Ethernet cable.

Or the other option that I think (?) should work is get a physical Ethernet splitter that just passes through all 8 pins. I have to be careful because many of these devices switch the pin settings because they are used to create two Ethernet connections over a single cable. They do this by sending data over both the standard 1236 pins and then (basically) running a 2nd connection over 4578. Here's an example of what those look like - see the 3rd image (pin layout) and the 4th image that shows how they "duplex" the connection.

What I think should work is something like this - dead simple and totally passive - just pass all 8 pins as-is to both outputs. And yes, I can NOT hook up two DATA devices up to this ... but only one would be passing data to the camera (and hopefully power!) while the other would plug into the Anvision which would only be providing power to the microphone.
All you need is a Y splitter for the 12 VDC - done.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
6,202
Reaction score
12,939
Location
New Jersey
Y Cable

PoE Splitter
 

alekk

n3wb
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
19
Reaction score
10
Location
US
Actually, because the microphone has a pass-thru 12V, I don't even need a 12V splitter if I use that very viable solution of using that to power the camera.

The two questions I'm trying to answer are:
1. Does the ANvision "remove" power from the Ethernet and only pass thru data? I'm pretty sure the answer is YES.

2. How about if I use an Ethernet 1-2 splitter like this to connect to the cable coming from the PoE injector/switch. From there, one Ethernet cable would continue on to the camera and provide BOTH data and POWER. The other Ethernet cable would go into the Anvision and from there, I would ONLY use the 12V output to power the microphone.
 

Teken

Getting comfortable
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
601
Reaction score
872
Location
Canada
Actually, because the microphone has a pass-thru 12V, I don't even need a 12V splitter if I use that very viable solution of using that to power the camera.

The two questions I'm trying to answer are:
1. Does the ANvision "remove" power from the Ethernet and only pass thru data? I'm pretty sure the answer is YES.

2. How about if I use an Ethernet 1-2 splitter like this to connect to the cable coming from the PoE injector/switch. From there, one Ethernet cable would continue on to the camera and provide BOTH data and POWER. The other Ethernet cable would go into the Anvision and from there, I would ONLY use the 12V output to power the microphone.
The item you linked essentially separates the RX / TX from 1G to 10/100. Now, whether power is seen on the other split port comes down to how it’s made and you confirm the same.

This sure seems like a heck of a lot of work for something that should be Plug & Play.
 

alekk

n3wb
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
19
Reaction score
10
Location
US
I agree that powering the camera via the 12VDC would be plug-n-play ... but it would equally be so if one were using a splitter like @tigerwillow1 mentioned ... that actually does pass power (and data of course) through the Ethernet cable. However, the Anvision does NOT ... so that's the answer to question #1.

For question #2, I spend the big bucks ($8) to get that Ethernet 1-2 splitter ... since nothing beats actually testing something. This setup is really not very complicated:
PoE injector -> Ethernet Cable -> 1-2 splitter -> Ethernet cable #1 to camera and Ethernet Cable #2 to Anvision which provide 12VDC to the microphone.
BTW, I first used my cable tester on the 1-2 splitter to confirm continuity and all pins are green from input to BOTH outputs ... even when both plugged in ... so I had my hopes up ... only to be dashed! ;-)

If I hook up each of these INDIVIDUALLY, they work as expected.
Ethernet cable #1 powers the camera and data flows fine.
Ethernet cable #2 powers the microphone and I can hear audio from it (camera hooked up separately)

HOWEVER, if I FIRST plug in Ethernet Cable #1, I can access (and ping) the camera ... but as soon as I hook up Ethernet cable #2, the camera is not pingable. Unplugging Ethernet Cable #2 results in the camera coming right back online ... so it never loses power - it's just that the data aspect no longer worked.

Yes, I'm aware the 1-2 splitter is not a switch ... so I certainly would not expect to be able to run two data devices at the same time. But I was hoping I could run one data device and one non-data 12VDC ... but no such luck!

So my choices are:
PoE injector -> Ethernet Cable to camera providing both data and power ... with microphone powered by 120VAC->12VDC transformer (current config)
PoE injector -> Ethernet Cable ->Anvision with Ethernet cable providing data ONLY to camera and 12VDC to microphone with pass-thru from there to power the camera

Thanks everyone for their inputs and hopefully when/if the next (nutty!) person like me comes along asking about this concept, they will see this thread.
 

Plarsson

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 17, 2020
Messages
75
Reaction score
35
Location
Sverige
I agree that powering the camera via the 12VDC would be plug-n-play ... but it would equally be so if one were using a splitter like @tigerwillow1 mentioned ... that actually does pass power (and data of course) through the Ethernet cable. However, the Anvision does NOT ... so that's the answer to question #1.

For question #2, I spend the big bucks ($8) to get that Ethernet 1-2 splitter ... since nothing beats actually testing something. This setup is really not very complicated:
PoE injector -> Ethernet Cable -> 1-2 splitter -> Ethernet cable #1 to camera and Ethernet Cable #2 to Anvision which provide 12VDC to the microphone.
BTW, I first used my cable tester on the 1-2 splitter to confirm continuity and all pins are green from input to BOTH outputs ... even when both plugged in ... so I had my hopes up ... only to be dashed! ;-)

If I hook up each of these INDIVIDUALLY, they work as expected.
Ethernet cable #1 powers the camera and data flows fine.
Ethernet cable #2 powers the microphone and I can hear audio from it (camera hooked up separately)

HOWEVER, if I FIRST plug in Ethernet Cable #1, I can access (and ping) the camera ... but as soon as I hook up Ethernet cable #2, the camera is not pingable. Unplugging Ethernet Cable #2 results in the camera coming right back online ... so it never loses power - it's just that the data aspect no longer worked.

Yes, I'm aware the 1-2 splitter is not a switch ... so I certainly would not expect to be able to run two data devices at the same time. But I was hoping I could run one data device and one non-data 12VDC ... but no such luck!

So my choices are:
PoE injector -> Ethernet Cable to camera providing both data and power ... with microphone powered by 120VAC->12VDC transformer (current config)
PoE injector -> Ethernet Cable ->Anvision with Ethernet cable providing data ONLY to camera and 12VDC to microphone with pass-thru from there to power the camera

Thanks everyone for their inputs and hopefully when/if the next (nutty!) person like me comes along asking about this concept, they will see this thread.
Ive had the same questions and watching the thread
 

tigerwillow1

Known around here
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
2,098
Reaction score
3,333
PoE injector -> Ethernet Cable -> 1-2 splitter -> Ethernet cable #1 to camera and Ethernet Cable #2 to Anvision which provide 12VDC to the microphone.
I'm doing this exact thing (with a different brand splitter) on one of my cameras (for external IR, not microphone power) and it has been working reliably for a few years. I tried it on a whim and was honestly surprised it worked. I expect that it is very dependent on how tolerant the switch and camera are with 2 parallel ethernet loads, and how much adding the splitter in parallel corrupts the data. My best guess is that the splitter is from Trendnet, but I'd have to open up its underground connection box to be sure. This is on the far end of a 300 foot cable run.

If you have a spare POE port there's another scheme that I'm using on a couple of cameras. Use the other kind of passive splitter/combiner that runs two 4-wire ethernet connections on the same cable. One connection goes straight to the camera, and the other to the standard POE splitter to provide a 12 volt supply. The network output of the splitter doesn't get connected. You could of course use the spare 4 wires to send 12 volts direct to the microphone instead of tying up a POE port. I think the microphone draws so little power that voltage drop would be a non-issue.
 

Teken

Getting comfortable
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
601
Reaction score
872
Location
Canada
an ethernet splitter is in fact an ethernet SWITCH with 3 ports, 1 in, 2 out.
To be clear that assumes it’s a active splitter vs passive and what method is used to manage the data flow.

As one can act like a switch vs a hub! The devices mentioned here clearly show if two computers are connected only one can have access. That in the purest sense is neither a switch / hub.

One manages flow vs the other blasts all connected devices with the same data regardless if requested.
 

Left Coast Geek

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 20, 2021
Messages
250
Reaction score
215
Location
mid-left coast
you simply can not passively split twisted pair ethernet. 'hubs' were active devices that required half duplex operation and only allowed one packet at a time to be transmitted. and broadcast them to all ports, but they only existed for 10baseT ethernet, and were quickly replaced with switches, that could allow full duplex operation. 100baseT and gigE are only switched.

I just took a closer look at the device in question and tried to interpret the broken english description filtered by my years of network engineering experience and examined the wiring evident in the picture of the PCB inside. It requires one of the two devices to be TURNED OFF or otherwise be taken offline (disable the NIC for instance, via ifconfig eth0 down) for the other to work. I can see no way this could work with two devices like cameras as without the network, there's no way to disable or enable them remotely.


edit: OOF! ReviewMeta.com: Poyiccot Ethernet Splitter 1 to 2 Adapter, RJ45 Splitter Network Adapter 1 Female to 2 Port Female CAT 5/CAT 6 LAN Splitter Ethernet Socket Connector 8P8C Extender with PCB Board Inside Amazon Review Analysis
 
Last edited:
Top