New home CCTV build, AMD of any use?

skywise

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
First, the cameras:
4x Dericam 206c 720P H.264
2x Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I 3MP h.264
I was using my Synology NAS as my cam system but it was totally messing up the poor NAS as a NAS.
Also, I'd like to have the cams pop up on the TV easily to aid in WAF and the NAS wasn't the solution for that.

So, I'm thinking of replacing the NAS with a PC running surveillance software HDMIed into the TV.
Other than TV access, I'd like iDevice ability (we're a mac/iPad/iPhone home)
It seems the best bang for buck software seems to be Blue Iris (I really dislike the pay forever concept of iSpy)

I don't need the PC running this to be very pretty, it'll be buried in the basement with a long HDMI cable running up to the TV and I'm a builder with lots of bits laying around the basement.

What sort of PC would be needed to do this comfortably? (with maybe another 720P cam or two added on)
I was thinking some hex/octo AMD as the costs of very comfortable. ($140Cdn for 6 core 3.5Ghz CPU)
An 8G SIMM for $60 and a nice low cost MB($114Cdn gigabyte) with built in HDMI and a complete system can be had.
(HD, case, PS and such are all in abundance in the basement :)

This seem do-able? Would a Hex AMD CPU manage these cameras?

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
First, the cameras:
4x Dericam 206c 720P H.264
2x Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I 3MP h.264
I was using my Synology NAS as my cam system but it was totally messing up the poor NAS as a NAS.
Also, I'd like to have the cams pop up on the TV easily to aid in WAF and the NAS wasn't the solution for that.

So, I'm thinking of replacing the NAS with a PC running surveillance software HDMIed into the TV.
Other than TV access, I'd like iDevice ability (we're a mac/iPad/iPhone home)
It seems the best bang for buck software seems to be Blue Iris (I really dislike the pay forever concept of iSpy)