Looking for help setting up Cottage Surveillance

GMD99

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi… I’m new to surveillance cameras and although I have done some research, I have a lot to learn. I’m looking for some help with getting set up for viewing my cottage remotely.

My wife and I just bought a cottage which is about 2 ½ hours away from our home. We take possession at the beginning of June. As such, I am looking at installing a number of surveillance cameras for the time we are not there.

Other than some rudimentary experimentation with a Foscam I have no experience with IP cameras!

Having read a number of reviews I am considering the following:

- 3 outdoor cameras around the house – considering Hikvision ds-2cd2032 cameras;

- 1 outdoor dome camera for the boathouse – Hikvision ds-2cd2132f-IS 3mp IR vandal mini-dome;

- 3 indoor cameras - Hikvision ds-2cd2432f-IW 3mp IR cube cameras;

- 1 camera for the garage – Hikvision DS-2CD2312-I Mini Dome camera

- 1 NVR – Hikvision DS-7816N-E2/8P

The cottage is fairly large with a sizable property which is why I am considering 8 cameras.

We live in Canada where the winters in cottage country are cold and snowy. Does anyone have experience with these outdoor cameras in cold winter conditions?

The cottage is finished inside so running interior wires will be tricky but fortunately the previous owners ran a lot of cat 5e cabling.
If I understand correctly the above NVR will allow me to connect and power the various cameras simply using the cat5 cabling (assuming I can get the network wiring to the cameras), without any additional equipment. Is this correct?

Apparently I will have hi-speed internet access although I don’t know if it will be satellite or DSL. (Exploring that is on my short list of things to do)

So my questions are as follows:

- Any comments on the above choices? (I recognize that I am providing limited information but any comments should help)