Is there any way to connect a cheap Chinese outdoor camera to my Dahua NVR?

kombajn

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time posting, but I have tried everything but to no avail. my FIL just bought a cheap solar powered Wi-Fi camera, to accompany the 3 Dahua cameras that are connected to a Dahua NVR over a switch, that is connected straight into a router. I somehow managed to set up this Wi-Fi camera with some weird app called i-Cam+, and it works, but I cannot for the life of me figure out if connecting it to the NVR is possible. Finding the camera IP was a challenge in itself, but trying to connect to is seems impossible. If I try to open the web console, it doesn't work, and I ran netstat -a in CMD, and it didn't even show up. I have no idea how to connect it to the NVR, without knowing ports and other settings. I'm afraid that using the app is the only option. Anyone have any clue? Thanks

P.S. - The Wi-Fi camera is very similar to the one shown in this video:

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Did you have to scan any QR codes into the app to get it working?
If so, this may be a cloud only camera and' won't be able to connect to the NVR.
It is always best to keep the brand name of the cameras the same as the NVR.

kombajn

n3wb
Reaction score
Did you have to scan any QR codes into the app to get it working?
If so, this may be a cloud only camera and' won't be able to connect to the NVR.
It is always best to keep the brand name of the cameras the same as the NVR.
There was a QR code yes... so is there really no way? I mean the camera still has to send the video over the network, couldn't I somehow intercept it? Probably nonsense heh

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Most cloud based cameras are proprietary closed systems that only work in their platforms.

Even cameras that are ONVIF compliant can struggle working with an NVR not of the same brand as the camera.

Mark_M

Getting comfortable
Reaction score