How to access my camera from another network?

mmip

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 6, 2021
Messages
88
Reaction score
1
Location
Bulgaria
Hello,

I own Dahua SD59225. I want to access my camera from my other network because where the camera is located I don't stay there all day so I need to access the camera IP in the browser from my other network where I spend most of my time. Currently I'm using an app gDMSS which is great but it's not giving me to change some settings like time, video detection, change email notifications etc. ( because i change the email every 1-2 months or less because maybe it's detecting it as spam due to the many false notifications ( i don't have nvr dvr ).

So I read I need to do port forwarding which is not good and my other option is to use vpn. Can you please explain me more about all this with the vpn? How to do that what price per month / year etc.
 

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
16,238
Reaction score
30,236
Location
USA
The VPN you want is free because you are the host server. Paid VPN is to hide your IP address for illegal streaming and porno LOL.

OpenVPN is what a lot of people use as it is standard in most ASUS routers.
 

mmip

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 6, 2021
Messages
88
Reaction score
1
Location
Bulgaria
The VPN you want is free because you are the host server. Paid VPN is to hide your IP address for illegal streaming and porno LOL.

OpenVPN is what a lot of people use as it is standard in most ASUS routers.
Yes, it's OpenVPN. But my router doesn't support that so is there any other way or I need to buy router with OpenVpn feature?
 

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
16,238
Reaction score
30,236
Location
USA
Do you have a computer that will be on 24/7 at this location? If so, you can put it on there or one of the other options like ZeroTier.
 

dok0619

Getting comfortable
Joined
Oct 9, 2021
Messages
214
Reaction score
281
Location
Jacksonville, FL
I use zerotier for my BI setup on my pc...it works very well with rarely any issues. Until I did that and added my cellphone to that network I was unable to view my cameras with my Android BI app that I paid for....
 

mmip

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 6, 2021
Messages
88
Reaction score
1
Location
Bulgaria
Do you have a computer that will be on 24/7 at this location? If so, you can put it on there or one of the other options like ZeroTier.
I tried ZeroTier before but it didn't work out. I don't know why maybe I did something wrong. Probably will buy a new router with OpenVpn feature if that's the only two option. Thank you.
 

dok0619

Getting comfortable
Joined
Oct 9, 2021
Messages
214
Reaction score
281
Location
Jacksonville, FL
I tried ZeroTier before but it didn't work out. I don't know why maybe I did something wrong. Probably will buy a new router with OpenVpn feature if that's the only two option. Thank you.
not sure but I found some videos online on setting it up and followed along and everything worked out...Im not very networking savvy so the youtube videos made it much easier
 
Top