DS-7608NI-E2/8P can't access - new

midnight

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi
I'm new to Hikvision and have learnt some bad lessons already. :shame:
Hikvision WON'T support my system because I bought off eBay so they won't send through the reset code to access the NVRs. Does anyone have any ideas like loading firmware to reset the password... would this work and how can I do this?
The default password doesnt work 12345

I am using with the DS-2CD3345-I Dome Camera which is so good and working fine. I initially setup using the SADPTool with default password is 123456789abc.

Alternatively can I purchase a replacement PCB like the DS-80180 OPS as I see these are modular boards.

Really disappointed :sad2: as have installed a full system for a non for profit organisation and cant finish without and NVR.
Otherwise can anyone suggest another NVR that will work well with the DS-2CD cameras?

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
Does anyone have any ideas like loading firmware to reset the password... would this work and how can I do this?
Yes, this would wipe the entire configuration back to the defaults of the specific firmware used.
But there may be consequences, if the NVR is running modified firmware that the seller installed.
What does SADP show as the firmware version on the NVR?
What region code (eg CCCH or AARR) is shown in the serial number as shown on SADP?
Depending on the specific firmware version, this may work for you: https://www.ipcamtalk.com/showthread.php/2920-Hikvision-camera-admin-password-reset-tool?highlight=password+reset+tool

You don't need to discard the NVR just because you don't know the password.
Given a bit more info, this can be fixed.

What has the seller got to say about this? If unhelpful, a dispute could be raised, as the device is not working properly.

midnight

n3wb
Reaction score
Yes, this would wipe the entire configuration back to the defaults of the specific firmware used.