Dahua 2MP 25x Starlight IR PTZ Network Camera (SD49225T-HN)

Terri Underhill

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
116
Reaction score
48
Location
oklahoma
While I was sitting at my computer watching my IPcamera my great horned owls flew in. I think they might have laid their first egg. I was afraid to touch my IP camera settings to record it so I recorded my monitor with my phone and added it to youtube. I am so very excited! Here is a link to the video if you want to see. I am a happy camper! I sure hope I can get my camera issue fixed to I can add my cam to IPcamlive.
 

TrailRider

n3wb
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
22
Reaction score
9
My camera is set to static. Yes it is set outside of the IP of my camera. I attached a pic of my ac adapter in the attic
Even though your 12V power supply seems to be rated for enough current, I still suspect a power issue. The reason I say this is you say it quits when you touch any controls. When you do pan, tilt or zoom there are motors that are activated. Motors have quite high inrush current and if there is a voltage drop it could be the problem. I have a 10A power supply with 16 gauge wire running to the camera, probably an overkill, but I never run power supplies at or near full rated load. Your idea about a battery backup is a good idea for power outages, but I really doubt it will fix your current issue. If possible I would try a bigger power supply and make sure you have wire big enough to minimize voltage drop, the further you run the 12V, the larger the wire needed. How far is the power supply from the camera?
Ray
 

Terri Underhill

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
116
Reaction score
48
Location
oklahoma
Right now the AC adapter has a five foot cord I believe, and it is plugged into a surge protector that has a 5 foot cord. So I guess the answer would be 10 ft. Today a friend from The Forum used team software and fixed my camera to where it records 24/7 with PC - NVR. It sure seems like I should be able to download an app that could tell me if I don't have enough juice and how much juice the camera is pulling. As long as I just use the config browser the camera will run fine. The PSS program does not run for very long at all without going offline.
 

TrailRider

n3wb
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
22
Reaction score
9
A 5 foot distance for the 12V should not be a problem. The 120V supply is not a problem either as there is very little current being drawn and it is running a switching power supply, in fact you could probably run it with hundreds of feet of extension cord. As cheap as power supplies are, I would recommend getting a bigger one. You can pick up a 10 Amp one from Amazon for $20 and that would eliminate the power as a source of your issue.
 

jack7

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
168
Reaction score
92
Location
USA
Terri,
If you decide to replace your 12v power supply, it will require climbing a ladder to camera and threading through wall to attic again. Or DIY cutting and splicing the 12v cable to camera.
Another method not requiring that is to use POE over the installed looney recommended cable you use. At the PC room end of the ethernet cable, plug it into a POE injector. Also plug in a an ethernet cable from injector to the non-POE switch you use. Be sure to unplug your current power supply from AC before installing POE injector. I don't know what would happen with both power supplies on.
This injector is recommended in IPCT Cliff Notes. It's 30W and your camera needs 22W max, per specs.
 

Terri Underhill

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
116
Reaction score
48
Location
oklahoma
I don't know why I quit receiving an email when someone posts here. Sorry for the delay...I think the POE might be my next step. I will get back here when I figure out what I'll do and if anything works. The only info I can add here about my camera is since I unplugged my camera from my AC adapter in the attic to see how many watts it is, I have only had to unplug from my cat cable to make my camera reboot one time. I don't remember what day that was but it is posted a few messages back. I am not saying that my camera has not rebooted. It has reboot many times but it seems to go back on line on its own after every reboot where before when it lost connection it couldn't find camera resulting in me needing to unplug cable to make it reboot to find camera.. In other words I have had the config IE browser running continually and as long as I never touch any of the controls I don't have a problem.
What I can tell you for sure is I will not do anything that might brick my camera. I have too much money involved to start over without a guarantee I won't get a lemon again. This is just a dream that will not come true for me to have an owlcam nesting online every year from now on. You will never know what a blessing these owls have been for me through every winter since I dread winter. I'm like a bear and want to hibernate and wake up when it is all over :(
 

RicRat2009

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
123
Reaction score
84
Location
Tejas
I have had this PTZ running for almost 2yrs now, I purchased the BV-Tech 30w POE and never seemed to have a problem. When others started posting about their cam going offline, I started looking at the Cam logs and BI log. I noticed the cam logs showed logging off and back on and BI log showed "Signal: Restored". BI log never showed signal lost and never any breaks in recording. So I just ignored it since it seemed to be working.
Last month, 18th, I checked the cams and the PTZ was offline. I could not get it to reboot and could not find it on the network, about 6hrs later it came back online on its own.
A day or two later it went offline again, never to return. Could not find cam on network again. I unplugged the POE injector for a few minutes and when I plugged it back in I could hear the cam ticking outside.
I decided to purchase a Zyxel GS1200 POE+ switch. Plugged the switch in and the cam booted right up. Been running without a hiccup since. Nothing in logs.
I think this cam needs more power at times than listed requirements.
 

Terri Underhill

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
116
Reaction score
48
Location
oklahoma
I thought I'd let you guys know what I've tried so far with the help from Jack7. I ordered the 30w poe+ and it has been running about a week now. My camera is still doing the rebooting every few hours just like it did when using the ac adapter. Here is the log file from today. I haven't been on my PC until today around 2. So it did all the rebooting and logging in on its own. What would happen if I did a factory reset? Could I lose my camera all together? Yesterday I started the free 4 day trial on IPCamlive to see how my camera does and it has rebooted 6 times. I will go live in four days . My owl isn't sitting on the nest all the time yet so she hasn't laid any eggs yet. I think it will be in the next 5 days so if I am going to climb a ladder I need to get it done. What will it take to get sound to my camera? It would be nice for people watching to hear the owls talking to each other. I hope someone will reply so I can order what I need. Here is my latest video of my owls on youtube. https://youtu.be/N9u_9xgOsXU Thanks in advance for your time! Terri
 

Attachments

Terri Underhill

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
116
Reaction score
48
Location
oklahoma
BVTech uses a weak switching power supply. Mine fried trying to come back up after a momentary power failure. The load was about 60 watts of cameras. Bottom line is that cheap PoE switches aren't worth what you pay for them.
So how did you know it fried? I just purchased one about a month ago and hoped it might fix my reboot problem since I had so many issues with the ac adapter. But now I have developed a new issue and not sure what might be causing it. My NVR stops recording for some unknown reason. I have to unplug the cable from the POE going into the router to get it to run again. The last time it recorded a full 24 hours was on the 8th. Of course I never discover it stops until many many hours later. Can the POE cause the NVR to stop recording? Is there something in the log file that will tell me the cause? I also noticed in the PSS program I can't control the camera controls any more. I am able to use the config tool and move the camera so I know it isn't the camera, right? Would it help to uninstall and reinstall PSS or the NVR? I couldn't find a way to get the app to send me an email or some how tell me know when it quite recording. I am real bummed. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
PS I purchased a mic but the weather turned too bad to install it. And if I'd installed it after it came in I'd probably be thinking it caused all my new problems. I need to get these new issues under wrap before I try something new. I had so hoped to be sharing my live feed with sound by now of my nesting owls this winter :(
Terri
 

Terri Underhill

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
116
Reaction score
48
Location
oklahoma
Here is a shot of the POE I purchased from Amazon. I have until the 24th to return it if you suspect it might be causing my issues. Please let me know. Thanks for your time. And if I need a better one, I'd appreciate letting me know what might be better. Thanks in advance for your time.
Stay safe, Terri Here is my latest youtube video of my owls. Sure would have been wonderful if I was recording their conversation cause they were being very vocal. This was the last time the NVR recorded night time recordings so I have missed alot. She is now sitting on eggs and being fed by the male. It is so frigid she stays too low in the barrel to be seen except for when he brings her food. Stay safe! Enjoy my great horned owls :) Terri
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
4,352
Reaction score
8,652
Location
New Jersey
I'm talking about a switch, not a PoE injector. I know it fried because there was no output voltage from the power supply, neither the (what I assume was) the 12 volt side or the 48 volt side. It would never come up under load, even a light load of three cameras which is how I know the power supply is very weak and I also suspect their total power output rating is, shall we say, on the "generous" side of things, AKA dream land.

I gave up on PoE injectors after I bought my third camera and trashed the ones I had.
 

Terri Underhill

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
116
Reaction score
48
Location
oklahoma
I wasn't able to get my mic hooked up before the weather turned bad here in OK And with the rebooting issue I was afraid to add what might add to my problems. I'm still using the same POE. If the NVR continues to stop and not restart on its own I guess I will send it back. I didn't see where anyone suggested a different one. I appreciate the help I've received here. You all stay safe! And here is a link to my ipcamlive of the owl in the barrel here in Edmond OK. She isn't leaving the nest and he brings her food. And in case you don't know tou can hover over the left edge to see different days to view. And hover over the bottom to select the speed, screen shot or view full screen. Here ya go.. Okie BirdCam - Great Horned Owl
 

Tinman

Getting comfortable
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
777
Reaction score
598
Mine usually has been pretty rock solid for over 3 years, but here lately with temps way below zero -14 this morning with -35 WC I had over 15 restarts. Yesterday when it was hovering around zero all day with -15 WC and sun shining I had ZERO restarts. Just too damn cold to do anything about it, might have reached its limits :)
 

jack7

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
168
Reaction score
92
Location
USA
That camera is supposed to have a heater and a -40F spec. I wonder if an exposed power cable wthout outdoor insulation could affect power also.
 
Top