Camera newbie - Want's a cloudless setup

Bingo600

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello Forum - Camera/NVR newbie here.

I'm working w. enterprise nwtworks on a daily base, so the PoE/IP setup doesn't scare me :)
But things like Focus .. Alarms , Fences etc ... Is almost totally new to me.

I need advice on getting a NVR that's NOT needing any P2P or Cloud to operate remotely (configure + dl recorded video etc ...)
I would prefer if it was working from a browser (linux), but if i need a "single run of Win mgmt sw. for setting up", I can live with that.

I have a few (4) ASECAM 8MP PoE cameras - Metal house IR + Light , and runs fine wo cloud connection.
Web (browser) configurable , Stream can be viewed via VLC. Not bad for the price.

I got their NVR recorder too --- DONT
NVR Is prob a Xiongmai NVR and ASECAM OEM'ed it.
NVR ID: NBD80S16S-KL or NVR ID: NBD80S16S-KLV2

1: It needs you to download some windows exe , in order to control anything from a browser
I only have one win-pc , rest is linux. I want to use linux for controlling.

2: It uses/saves settings in the cloud, including uid/pwd for remote (browser) login.
So even if you do a local or VPN login from that windows program ... It won't connect ...

So the cam's behave quite nice, also wo. cloud connection.
And can even be setup so they don't even try to acces the cloud. My firewall logs confirm that.

What i need is a decent NVR that can be controlled via a browser (linux), and will run wo. being connected to the Cloud.

I already have a 4TB WD Purple NVR Sata disk.
I'd need 8 or 16 chans. capable of recording my 8K (H.265) streams, and that has active firmware development (read ... upgrades)
But i don't want PoE in the recorder, that i have on my switches.
I would prefer something that's available in EU/Ebay/Ali - As customs fees is a concern.

I would like suggestions of "confirmed" NVR's that can be operated wo any cloud/internet connections , if possible.

Any suggestions ???