unable to ssh into DS-2CD2086G2 - resolved

beber-k

n3wb
Reaction score
hi,
i was unable to ssh into DS-2CD2086G2-IU fw v5.5.160 build 210108 (last one from hikvision support site).
i'm not a beginner, what i did was: enabling ssh (webif or Clientdemoen.exe from sdk) and trying all passwords (my own as user admin which works in webgui and ivms-4200 v3.3.1.6 build 20200812, then tried all sorts of gizmos like hiklinux/duhao/12345/admin/123456/root)
username used to ssh was root (at first), then tried with admin.
of course, ssh on port 12 (server asks for pw), i'm in my internal network and the firewall is opened on 22
first time in my life i can't login to ssh server (i setup hundreds)
i don't want to reset the damn thing, i don't get why they didn't offered from web interface the posibility to setup key-onlly login (like every serious software/firmware put into place, see synology, routers like asus etcaetera)
beside complaining (i don't want also to talk to devs, each time i tried they asked i was treted as caged monkey), do you have ideas?
of course i could try saving params thes reset/reload params, but what guarantee do i have the bug transcends this?
ideal, i will of course disable pw login and set my rsa key only login
[2'nd question, without ssh/telnet access, only via webgui, i can remove the illegal login timeout, after trying some pw's he push me this, even if the case for illegel connection block is disabled (this verified via webif and clientdemoen.exe?]
best regards, pierre

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
DS-2CD2086G2-IU fw v5.5.160 build 210108 (last one from hikvision support site).
I've seen 3 different builds of that same baseline version - they are all a bit quirky.
Perhaps an ssh problem is one of the quirks, though I've not noticed that myself.
Maybe try the V5.5.150 version.

beber-k

n3wb
Reaction score
I've seen 3 different builds of that same baseline version - they are all a bit quirky.