True Network Video Recorder

t84a

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
First, let me stress that I am far from an expert on these products.

i'm looking for a true network device. Not a NVR that requires you to cable back to the device. I would like to connect the NVR to a network and have it communicate with cameras that are on the network via their IP addresses. Going one step further, it would be nice if this device could communicate with remote cameras via DYNDNS. Does such an animal exist! Thanks

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Any NVR can do what you are describing...You do not need to homerun the cable..Even the NVR's that have POE do not require you to use those connections.. You do need to make sure the NVR is compatible with the camera you choose...stick with the same brand NVR and cameras.
With respect to connecting to remote cameras via a dynamic dns service, if the NVR allows you to enter the address it should work...This certainly works with pc based NVR like blue iris. The issue you will have is bandwidth because the remote cameras will always be streaming to the device and could exceed your monthly limit if you have one...or slow your connection..

t84a

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Thanks. I'm running BI right now. One of my installs (far from me unfortunately) running BI and 4 Foscam cameras (all wireless) is very unstable. All of the cameras are visible and functional using Surveillance Pro but when I add all 4 cameras to BI, one or 2 cameras drop of (No Signal). I can't seem to figure it out. If its a PC issue, a NVR is far cheqper than an i7 PC. Can you recommend a NVR? Right now, I'm pretty much only using Foscam cameras. Thanks again.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score