Tripwire repeteadly losing tracking.

ipnoob

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 10, 2016
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
Since I started to try and use tripwire Ive noticed it stops working, by working I mean tracking objects. I have not been able to figure out why yet, at first I thought it was after the NVR went through a reboot, possibly overwriting the cameras setting, but that wasn't it. Right not I'm just thinking possibly random, or after a period of time.

Doing anything with the camera seems to restart it (like logging in and oing to settings, or even moving the camera seems to), though it's hard to tell when exactly it stops and starts.

Anyone had this problem?

SD59230U-HNI
NVR5432-4KS2


**solution**
FYI, for anyone that has the same problem. I have "solved" this by having the camera reboot daily immediately following the NVRs daily reboot. I'm not sure if just daily reboots are what fixed it, or specifically being after the NVR. I suspected it could be either intermittent loss after the NVR rebooted, or it was just random time based, eventually crapped out.
 
Last edited:

ipnoob

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 10, 2016
Messages
56
Reaction score
0

Fastb

Known around here
Joined
Feb 9, 2016
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
848
Location
Seattle, Wa
ipnoob,

You say
tripwire only works when the cameras on a preset
but then you say
all the times it's stopped working it;s been on a preset
I don't have a ptz, so can't say if the preset position is a factor. Or not.

I do have IVS cams. Getting the moving object identified, and having a green box placed around it, is not 100% foolproof. It's affected by contrast (between object and surroundings), the amount of ambient light (dusk can have moving objects escape detection), and time-to-recognize.

The "car on way in" didn't fall into the above.

Suggestions:
Check your "Target Size" setting. Esp the "Min size". The min size may be too large. The "car on way in" is in the distance, and small. The car on way out is large!

I noticed that none of the moving branches were getting green boxes. Unusual. Maybe they're too small to be getting "green boxed". Maybe like the truck on the way in....
 

ipnoob

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 10, 2016
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
You say
but then you say
Yes, I'm saying I don't believe the PTZ position was the reason, since it was in it's preset position, but not ruling it out entirely.

Check your "Target Size" setting. Esp the "Min size". The min size may be too large. The "car on way in" is in the distance, and small. The car on way out is large!
This isn't it, max is largest and min is quite small.

The "car on way in" didn't fall into the above.
Right, it absolutely should have been boxed, and when I know when it's truly active, cars are always boxed.

I noticed that none of the moving branches were getting green boxes. Unusual. Maybe they're too small to be getting "green boxed". Maybe like the truck on the way in....
I've noticed it's both distance and size. branches aren;t moving far enou You can have a very large object move not very far and it wont recognize it, that's whats up with the branches. If it's moss swaying rapidly in the wind smaller than the branches it will box it.
 

Fastb

Known around here
Joined
Feb 9, 2016
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
848
Location
Seattle, Wa
ipnoob,

Very interesting.

I don't use the default min & max target size. In my active/busy scene, I need to reduce the quantity of objects the camera identifies and tracks.
So I can't comment on your "max = max" and "min = min" setting. You might try playing with the target size, however. It might give clues....

I've noticed it's both distance and size
Cameras don't know about distance. They see in 2D, not 3D. Cameras only know about size. A moth flying close to the lens will look like a giant pterodactyl.

If it's moss swaying rapidly in the wind smaller than the branches it will box it.
Yes, the speed of movement seems to be noticed by the IVS feature. Excellent point.

"Car coming" doesn't have much movement. The "object" only grows a little larger as it approaches.
"Car leaving" has movement. It suddenly enters the view (movement), and then travels across the view. (movement towards the center of FOV)

Side note: PIR sensors, like on common driveway motion activated flood lights, are better at picking up warm bodies walking accross the FOV, as compared to walking straight towards the sensor.

Alternative: Set up laser lines for the vehicles to break. Similar to walk you walk into a retail store and a chime sounds. The laser line can be connected to the NVR. I use one on my driveway, it's great. Rock solid. Break the laser beam, the NVR has an "event", and I get notified. No false alarms.

Fastb
 

ipnoob

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 10, 2016
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
Cameras don't know about distance. They see in 2D, not 3D. Cameras only know about size. A moth flying close to the lens will look like a giant pterodactyl.
Distance traveled is what was meant, not distance form camera.
 

Fastb

Known around here
Joined
Feb 9, 2016
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
848
Location
Seattle, Wa
Okay, fair enough.
"Distance" is a 3D concept that 2D cameras don't understand. The truck "on the way in" only gradually grew larger, from the camera's point of view. It swelled in size, but not much movement in the X and Y dimension. You and I can deduce the Z change (near/far), but the camera can't.

As compared to the "on the way out" footage, where a 2D camera saw "movement" because many, many different pixels were changing.

These are hunches, I don't pretend to have answers. And don't want to sound "preachy". It's a puzzle to be solved....

Me, I'd experiment to get green boxes on moving objects. Getting green boxes seems to be job 1.

Disclaimer: I don't have ptz cams. I wonder if the processor in a ptz is spending it's processing power differently. ie: Do PTZ cams have lower IVS performance than regular cams? I think my non-ptz Dahua cams (with IVS) would have tracked the car "coming in", as well as "going out"

A separate posting might be worthwhile, to get ptz cam users intrigued. eg:
  • PTZ & IVS: Do they over-tax the cam precessor?
  • Does IVS perf suffer in a PTZ?
  • PTS w/ "Line Cross" - does it work well?

You get the drift....

"Like" this if you think I helped you... (first time I've asked this!)

Fastb
 

ipnoob

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 10, 2016
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
? I think my non-ptz Dahua cams (with IVS) would have tracked the car "coming in", as well as "going out"
As I've said, normally it would. When it goes "inactive" it will track nothing, no matter the size contrast speed ETC. It just stops working entirely.
 

Fastb

Known around here
Joined
Feb 9, 2016
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
848
Location
Seattle, Wa
Ah! New info!
Not sure what u mean by cam going "inactive"
I don't think u mentioned that before.
Are there other symptoms you could share? I'm short on ideas, based on symptoms you've shared so far

Fastb
 

ipnoob

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 10, 2016
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
FYI, for anyone that has the same problem. I have "solved" this by having the camera reboot daily immediately following the NVRs daily reboot. I'm not sure if just daily reboots are what fixed it, or specifically being after the NVR. I suspected it could be either intermittent loss after the NVR rebooted, or it was just random time based, eventually crapped out.
 

Fastb

Known around here
Joined
Feb 9, 2016
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
848
Location
Seattle, Wa
ipnoob,

Very interesting. So physically touching (moving) the camera restores IVS function? A connection may get jostled. Maybe check the connections near the cam.

You reported earlier that IVS only works when the PTZ is in a defined preset position. Physically touching the camera may help it realize that it
IS in its preset position.
Test: using ptz controls, make the camera move. Then make the camera return to its preset. Does IVS become active?

That's a big cam. Is your POE supply under-powered? Or operating at it's rated maximum?

Fastb
 

hmjgriffon

Known around here
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
3,403
Reaction score
979
Location
North Florida
ipnoob,

Very interesting.

I don't use the default min & max target size. In my active/busy scene, I need to reduce the quantity of objects the camera identifies and tracks.
So I can't comment on your "max = max" and "min = min" setting. You might try playing with the target size, however. It might give clues....


Cameras don't know about distance. They see in 2D, not 3D. Cameras only know about size. A moth flying close to the lens will look like a giant pterodactyl.


Yes, the speed of movement seems to be noticed by the IVS feature. Excellent point.

"Car coming" doesn't have much movement. The "object" only grows a little larger as it approaches.
"Car leaving" has movement. It suddenly enters the view (movement), and then travels across the view. (movement towards the center of FOV)

Side note: PIR sensors, like on common driveway motion activated flood lights, are better at picking up warm bodies walking accross the FOV, as compared to walking straight towards the sensor.

Alternative: Set up laser lines for the vehicles to break. Similar to walk you walk into a retail store and a chime sounds. The laser line can be connected to the NVR. I use one on my driveway, it's great. Rock solid. Break the laser beam, the NVR has an "event", and I get notified. No false alarms.

Fastb
I am interested in using something like that across my front yard, could you tell me which one you use etc? I really want to hook it into my camera system.
 

Fastb

Known around here
Joined
Feb 9, 2016
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
848
Location
Seattle, Wa
@hmjgriffon

Oops, my mistake. You were asking me about my equipment. And specifically, it sounds like my laser lines.

Seco-Larm E-960-D90Q Twin Photo Beam Detectors
Seco-Larm E-931-S35RRQ Retro-Reflective Sensor

The twin beam goes a long distance. Very stable. Great aiming, by switching on a visible laser line. To get that long range requires power to devices at both ends.

The retro-reflective has a powered device at one end only. The far end uses a reflector. Trickier to aim (no spotter laser dot). The reflector that comes in the box is a little small. Suitable for use at a door in a store, for example. Used outside, with 30' distance, I went for a bigger refllector, commonly used in driveways. Rain running down the reflector scatters the light, which hurts the reflective return light path. I bought some 3M reflective tape, I'll make a larger target, with a rain hood or some rain shelter.

Fastb
 

hmjgriffon

Known around here
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
3,403
Reaction score
979
Location
North Florida
@hmjgriffon

Oops, my mistake. You were asking me about my equipment. And specifically, it sounds like my laser lines.

Seco-Larm E-960-D90Q Twin Photo Beam Detectors
Seco-Larm E-931-S35RRQ Retro-Reflective Sensor

The twin beam goes a long distance. Very stable. Great aiming, by switching on a visible laser line. To get that long range requires power to devices at both ends.

The retro-reflective has a powered device at one end only. The far end uses a reflector. Trickier to aim (no spotter laser dot). The reflector that comes in the box is a little small. Suitable for use at a door in a store, for example. Used outside, with 30' distance, I went for a bigger refllector, commonly used in driveways. Rain running down the reflector scatters the light, which hurts the reflective return light path. I bought some 3M reflective tape, I'll make a larger target, with a rain hood or some rain shelter.

Fastb
I think I can try to figure out how that works lol so you have to have some sort of signal wire going back to the house to trigger the cameras? having something like that is definitely a goal, to be able to be notified the minute someone walks into the yard/driveway would be truly awesome, especially if you can tie it to some other things like maybe a strobe/siren/etc. might run most people off before they even think about going near the house let alone break in.
 

Fastb

Known around here
Joined
Feb 9, 2016
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
848
Location
Seattle, Wa
hmjgriffon,

The sensors can be connected to the NVR alarm inputs.
Or a sensor could be connected directly to a camera that has Ext Alarm input.
And a strobe to Ext Alarm Output.
The sensors run on 12V, so a POE splitter, camera end of the poe line, can be used to power the sensor and strobe.
(the receiver needs a 12v run of cable tho, the xmtr gets power as mentioned above)

I use this POE power setup w/ a Bosch PIR + radar (OD850f1) connected to a camera. And a strobe near the camera. All runs on one POE line.
The strobe helps get a face shot, cuz it's natural to look where the blue light is flashing!

Fastb
 
Top