Thinking about going desktop

RecordingU

n3wb
Reaction score
I have a GW Security IP CCTV system. In the past I've had other brands, and IMO all the DVR and NVR boxes suck. They have terrible playback, motion detection, setup and UI. I've read a few threads on the desktop vs NVR box subject, but I'm hoping to get some direct answers.

I have a dedicated desktop (Win10, i7, 16GB, HD7850, Corsair 900w), POE switch, and 4 cameras (1080p, onvif, IP). So I think those can all work together and I don't mind leaving the computer on all the time. It's ultra reliable and has a battery backup.

Now the down side. I am not an IT person, networking is not high in my skills list but I do know a handful of terms and I've already run lines to the locations and put ends on them. Also, since this is my first attempt (or even request for information) with desktop NVR I know I will miss a lot of obvious points.

So questions:
1) What is the software called that I would need? I know there are brands out there but I don't even know how to search properly for the software.
2) I was planning to use one HDD per camera. Is that difficult to setup? WD purple the way to go?
3) If they come out with good 4K video cameras would those be possible to add?
4) Is there anything I'm overlooking?

Of course there is price to all this vs the cost of an NVR box system. But I'm very skeptical of the package systems; it just seems like they do a little R&D for the components then have someone spend minutes writing the software and setup procedure. These things are unlike any other consumer product I own. They just look and feel so cheap and generic, from having very little branding on items to software that looks like it could be 12 years old. So if I can move on from them I'd be good with that.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Remove video card...
Milestone is free up to 8 cams...
Blue iris is 60..Plus 10 for mobile app...
Both can use Intel HD with quicksync for hardware acceleration

essjay