Suggestions for 2d Home IP system -- been hit already -- figure they'll be back.

Reaction score
I'm a newbie and this is a great forum btw....

I have small place in a rural location about 400 miles from "home". I had an attempted break in last week in broad daylight; luckily my neighbor (about 1/4 away) just happened to notice a truck at my place and went to investigate. The 4 would be burglars got away; luckily they had not loaded up my ATV they were attempting to steal. This place is primarily unoccupied; my brother lives a mile away and comes by to check on things every few days.

I figure these guys will be back; I'd like to ready if possible.

Looking for suggestions for possibly a 5 or 6 camera IP with NVR system. Hearing a lot about Niki and Dahua on this forum. If I'm understanding things correctly, I could record with an NVR; and trigger uploads to an FTP site upon events. I do have a separate alarm system with two sirens; so I'm hoping I can scare these guys away. The house is basically rectangular with a 75 long driveway. One additional constraint is upload speeds; I only have 1MB/sec DSL available (optical cable).

Money is obviously an issue, so I'll the install myself. I'm hoping to get going for $1000 to $1500. I have easy access to run Cat5 (or Cat6).

Any advice would be appreciated.

Dave

blake

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Since you already have had a attempted break in, I would go with turret domes so that they can't be knocked out of view. I just received a case of Hikvision 2332 3MP turret domes and they are very solid, not cheap plastic junk. Whatever cameras brand you go with, get the matching brand NVR. It will make things a lot easier. Contact Milkisbad on here if you go with Hikvision. He has great prices on all hikvision gear.

DaveP

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
An idea...