Skyhawk AI won't work with windows?

bentson

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
26
I think I bought the wrong drive(Seagate Skyhawk AI ST16000VE002 ) :(
Seagate support are telling me the Skyhawk AI 16tb I bought is only good for DVR use and not windows, can anyone confirm?

Windows can see it but it gets an IO error when trying to initialize.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
1,154
Reaction score
2,566
Location
Brooklyn, NY

bentson

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
26
Thanks Mike. Is your 16TB the same model as mine : ST16000VE002 ?
 

bentson

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
26
Thanks.
In the amazon link you can choose the style of the drive. I chose "surveillance AI" which is why our model numbers are different I think.
 

bentson

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
26
If you highlight HDD instead of Surveillance AI does the "you purchased another variation" go away?
 

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
1,154
Reaction score
2,566
Location
Brooklyn, NY
If you highlight HDD instead of Surveillance AI does the "you purchased another variation" go away?
Originally I purchased a 12tb and amazon sent me a 16tb by mistake. To confirm if we have the same model use SeaTools, link below. The screenshot below is from SeaTools


1663960694536.png
 

bentson

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
26
Originally I purchased a 12tb and amazon sent me a 16tb by mistake. To confirm if we have the same model use SeaTools, link below. The screenshot below is from SeaTools


View attachment 140777
Mine is the ST16000VE002 (surveillance AI selected on Amazon)

Yours looks like it is the ST16000VE000 (HDD selected on Amazon)

I think that's why it says you bought "another variation" when you have "surveillance AI" selected. If you select HDD it should just say "Last purchased".

I've emailed support from another email asking if ST16000VE002 will work with Windows 10.


1663996561751.png
 
Last edited:

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
1,154
Reaction score
2,566
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Mine is the ST16000VE002 (surveillance AI selected on Amazon)

Yours looks like it is the ST16000VE000 (HDD selected on Amazon)

I think that's why it says you bought "another variation" when you have "surveillance AI" selected. If you select HDD it should just say "Last purchased".

I've emailed support from another email asking if ST16000VE002 will work with Windows 10.


View attachment 140819
I think you are correct I have a ST16000VE000 HDD the reason it does not show as being purchased is because I purchased two 12tb drives and amazon sent me one 12tb and one 16tb
 

Flintstone61

Known around here
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
4,743
Reaction score
7,448
Location
Minnesota USA
Did you try a partition software like this?
Sometimes they take an unallocated drive and format it NTFS and gett er spinning.

 

mrc545

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
74
Reaction score
38
Location
US
From my research, the ST16000VE002 and ST16000VE000 are the same drive, just different release years. The VE002 appears to be older (circa 2020). If you look at the release years for the corresponding drive datasheets, you will see they have different timestamps, but the specs are largely the same. I have 8 of the 12 TB Skyhawk AI's--some purchased a few years ago, some a few months ago. The older ones end in VE0008, and the new ones end in VE001.

I have had them in multiple types of configurations and never had any issues. Direct attached to the motherboard SATA ports, attached to an LSI RAID controller, and even switched formats between 512e/4Kn via SeaChest. They just work.

You may have some other underlying issue. Could be something as simple as a bad SATA cable. Try switching the cable and the port. Also, If you bought it from a third party seller on Amazon, it could have been a return or a refurb. Go to the Seagate Warranty checker and enter the drive info: Warranty & Replacements | Seagate Support US

If it is not around 3 years, it may have been a return, and the drive may have been damaged or something.
 

bentson

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
26
Did you try a partition software like this?
Sometimes they take an unallocated drive and format it NTFS and gett er spinning.

Thanks I'll give it a go.
 

bentson

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
26
What motherboard do you have? The drives need to be formatted as GPT drives within Windows.

You might need a BIOS upgrade if the BIOS is really old.
It's a few years old but I do have the option to format as GPT, after that step I get the I/O error
 

bentson

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
26
From my research, the ST16000VE002 and ST16000VE000 are the same drive, just different release years. The VE002 appears to be older (circa 2020). If you look at the release years for the corresponding drive datasheets, you will see they have different timestamps, but the specs are largely the same. I have 8 of the 12 TB Skyhawk AI's--some purchased a few years ago, some a few months ago. The older ones end in VE0008, and the new ones end in VE001.

I have had them in multiple types of configurations and never had any issues. Direct attached to the motherboard SATA ports, attached to an LSI RAID controller, and even switched formats between 512e/4Kn via SeaChest. They just work.

You may have some other underlying issue. Could be something as simple as a bad SATA cable. Try switching the cable and the port. Also, If you bought it from a third party seller on Amazon, it could have been a return or a refurb. Go to the Seagate Warranty checker and enter the drive info: Warranty & Replacements | Seagate Support US

If it is not around 3 years, it may have been a return, and the drive may have been damaged or something.
Thanks will try a different cable and port later. I was thinking it might be a referb too because the box it came in was just a plain brown box, no branding etc.
I've registered it on the Seagate site and it shows a warranty until 2027.
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
2,780
Reaction score
2,344
Location
United Kingdom
I’d try different SATA cables and if possible try the drive in another machine.

Can you run a scan on the drive with sea tools?
 

mrc545

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
74
Reaction score
38
Location
US
Thanks will try a different cable and port later. I was thinking it might be a referb too because the box it came in was just a plain brown box, no branding etc.
I've registered it on the Seagate site and it shows a warranty until 2027.
Forgot that some of them have 3 year warranties and some of them have 5 year ones. All of my Skyhawk AI and Exos drives came in plain brown boxes. They were OEM/bulk drives. As long as they show up valid in the Seagate warranty checker, you're good.

One other way to see if it is a return is to check the power on count/hours/writes in the SMART data. I like using CrystalDiskInfo for that. If it is a new drive, it should only have a power on count of 1+n (n being how many times you have previously power cycled it yourself).

Once you get it up and running, I personally like to do a long self test and long generic test via SeaTools. If there are any bad blocks, it's easier to do a return through Amazon within your return window than it is through Seagate after the fact.
 
Top