Remote Veiwing

vlct

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, I have this no name ptz camera I got for free, the way to connect to this thing is login at ucloudcam.com or use ycc365 app for phone.

I'd rather not use ucloudcam.com or ycc365 to use this thing, Is there another way to connect to this to view remotely, preferably for free??

Im new to ipcams and just trying to see if this free cam is of any use?

biggen

Known around here
Reaction score
We have to have the camera make/model before we can even venture a guess.

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Yes, there are other ways to connect remotely for free. With a simple web search of "how to view an ip camera remotely", you can find countless guides of varying quality for how to set up an IP camera for remote access. The site you linked gives the rtsp details for the camera, which is one of the key pieces of information you need.

Most guides will instruct you to forward a port to the camera, but this is generally not a safe thing to do because it gives everyone in the world the ability to connect to your camera and exploit the camera's cybersecurity vulnerabilities to install malware on it. Then your camera becomes part of a botnet that is used to perform attacks on others. Not cool. Although it is more complicated, it is a lot safer to set up a VPN to provide remote access, and prevent your camera from having internet access.

vlct

n3wb
Reaction score
I have already spent hours looking at countless guides on this with not much luck. That's why im here now to learn more trying to get this to work.

I have tried to port forward just to see if it would work (just for experiment after reading its not safe) using TP Link guide, but could not get it to work.

I have it working with Ispy and Blue Irus and had it working on VLC Player also with rtsp on my LAN only.

I have tried to set up VPN today through my TP Link router but ran into more problems trying to get that to work.