Reached MAX capability of AI analysis with DH-XVR1B08H

nrullo

n3wb
Reaction score
I have 4 cameras connected to my DVR version DH-XVR1B08H. It's allowing me to enabled 2 SMD channels, but when I try to enabled the third I'm getting this message "Reached MAX capability of AI analysis". According to the DVR specs it allows up to 8 SMD. Any idea how can I bypass this check? is there a way? what options do I have? why is this happening

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
The DVR processor can only handle so much. You need to update to a more powerful unit.

Mark_M

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
What do you recommend? I'm new to this
Most on here will recommend Blue Iris.
Milestone offer their VMS free for up to 8 cameras I think.
It's software you run on a PC dedicated to the cameras.
A DVR/NVR is basically an under powered PC. So why not take a used business PC for cheap, fill it to the edge with as much storage and load Blue Iris.
Then it's easy to update/upgrade software when needed.

I personally love the idea of a VMS like Blue Iris, but I still like that an NVR is just an 'all-in-one' box that doesn't require so much effort to setup.

Flintstone61

Known around here
Reaction score
After my experiences with gathering evidence for the Police on a DVR, NVR, and the
amount of time I wasted trying to find the footage and the limits. I found the most time savings with BI.
But since many people don't want to go that route, then they have to "settle" for the NVR experience.
I have 3 NVR/DVR/XVR's

I have Blue Iris catching the streams as well and saving them to a PC.
I can locate a motion event(s) so quickly, there was no going back for me.
But I'm in a commercial setting with 100 residents, and a lot of activity.
You may be able to find a recorder with more features.

They all suck for review. And they suck for clip export with proprietary file formats and using thumb drives to catch them. only to put them on a "PC" anyway to email to the Police.