Questions about a new set up

matchewready

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I'll start by saying I'm new to the whole security camera world, here is what I ordered so far

BV-Tech 9 Port PoE+ Switch (8 PoE+ Ports | 1 Uplink Port) – 120W – 802.3af/at

Amcrest IP5M-T1179EW-28MM)

SV3C 3Megapixels IP Camera

Amcrest Cat5e Cable 100ft Ethernet POE Cables 4 pack

Plan on using Blue Iris

Included is a pic of my cable internet modem/router, my question is when I come out of the BV tech switch will I need to go directly to my computer or is it possible to connect at the cable modem and then to the pc? if not, my pc is connected using Wi-Fi so I have an ethernet port open should I plug the uplink cable form the switch directly to this port?

I'll be buying more cameras just thought I'd try a couple of different models to see what works best, I'm considering the Reolink RLC 410 5mp camrea any opinions on it or the ones I ordered? Also anything I'm missing here hardware wise to run this on my PC/Blue Iris?

20201219_100534.jpg

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
Avoid the SV3C just like the Reolink. Both are low end consumer grade cameras. Daytime will look fine, but night video will be the pits, especially with motion. Motion will be basically just blur and totally useless.

I'd also avoid the BVtech switch. Their power supplies are so weak that they won't power up under load, like after a power failure.

Look in the Wiki in the blue bar at the top of the page. Look around here, on IPCT, for reviews and how to's for everything. Learn and ask questions before spending money on things you might not understand fully.

Example - don't chase megapixels, chase sensor size. A 4MP camera will outperform an 8MP camera with the same size sensor, especially at night because twice as much light reaches each pixel in the 4MP versus the 8MP.