Possible heap corruption - what does it mean

saltwater

Getting comfortable
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
348
Reaction score
363
Location
Melbourne, Australia
I have BI setup to record hourly segments. Over the last few days I've been getting what appears to be hourly email notices from BI that there is a possible heap corruption. What does this mean? I couldn't find any reference to this in the help files. Below is the latest email I've received:

Clips: 14305 items, 5.88T/5.93T; E: +1.33T

18/05/2021 8:59:59 PM App: Possible heap corruption (7388)
18/05/2021 8:57:44 PM Cam-09: Signal: restored (1)
18/05/2021 8:56:55 PM Cam-03: MOTION (16)
18/05/2021 8:50:39 PM Aux 1: Delete: nothing to do [368/504 hrs, 9.99G/10.0G, 1.38T free] (972)
18/05/2021 8:50:39 PM Alerts: Delete: nothing to do [490/504 hrs, 14.4G/50.0G, 1.38T free] 4 locked (445)
18/05/2021 8:50:39 PM Stored: Delete: nothing to do [0/336 hrs, 0/20.0G, 1.38T free] (180)
18/05/2021 8:50:39 PM New: Delete: nothing to do [2885/504 hrs, 5.85T/5.85T, 1.38T free] 13 locked (562)
18/05/2021 8:44:07 PM Cam-08: MOTION (20)
18/05/2021 8:39:54 PM Cam-09: MOTION (11)
18/05/2021 8:20:10 PM Cam-06: MOTION (37)
18/05/2021 8:20:09 PM Cam-11: MOTION (71)
18/05/2021 8:16:51 PM App: Console: connected 1 (2)
18/05/2021 8:16:51 PM local_console: ::: Login (2)
18/05/2021 8:16:51 PM Server: ::: Connected (1)
18/05/2021 8:00:01 PM Action: Email: *** with 0 attachment/s (16)
 

saltwater

Getting comfortable
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
348
Reaction score
363
Location
Melbourne, Australia
I can't recall what version I was on at the time of my first post, but it would have been the latest version at that time. I'm currently on the 'now' latest version (5.5.0.13). Anyway, I no longer get the 'possible heap corruption' warning or error messages. I still don't know what 'possible heap corruption' means.
 

keneil01

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 22, 2017
Messages
46
Reaction score
29
Location
Norway
I did an update to 5.5.0.13 and the problems went away. I guess it solved :)
 

bjornhallberg

Young grasshopper
Joined
Aug 28, 2016
Messages
33
Reaction score
4
I noticed this error as well on a couple of different v5 builds. Currently running 5.5.4.5 as that is when my support plan ended but I had it on older builds as well. A reboot fixes things for a couple of weeks maybe. I also have been getting recurring crashes on v5 but the windows service is set to restart forever so I don't really notice in practice.

Running Deepstack on CPU if that matters. One thing I noticed was that the Intel driver for the GPU has updated itself to 27.20.100.9664 ... I was pretty sure I had disabled updates, sticking to a known good version. If that is still a thing?
 

aesterling

Getting comfortable
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
334
Reaction score
312
Just got this "Possible heap corruption" error today on v5.5.9.6. Don't think I've ever seen it before. Guess I'll see if it happens again.
 

Mike A.

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
2,664
Reaction score
3,874
Getting a ton of these now. As last count 21,454 errors over 2 days. Seems to have started when I updated to 5.6.4.2.
 
Top