Outdoor camera recommendations. Did I buy junk?

Apollo

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I just installed two POE cameras that I purchased from Amazon (before I knew about this website). One is an Amcrest ProHD (IP2M-844E) which I am using as a front door camera and the other is a GW Security 4MP with manual varifocal zoom (GW4028IP) which is mounted above my garage door overlooking my driveway and the cul-de-sac I live on. In other threads, I see that forum members have recommended against GW Security. Could I get some recommendations for camera brands that are known to be good? Should I not buy IP cameras on Amazon?

Notably, both cameras I purchased have no user manual (online or printed), but otherwise seem OK. I have no other video cameras to compare the video quality against. The only serious concerns I have with these cameras is that the video in both frequently freeze for a few seconds when recording. Perhaps that's an issue with Blue Iris though.

I'm new to IP cameras, so any advice is appreciated.

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

PSPCommOp

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I use these.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01A6NN4ZI/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I have two of the 4mm lens versions, I also have another 4mm and two 2.8mm on the way that should be arriving today. They work great. Just read some reviews if you buy HikVision to make sure you are receiving either the US or the World version so you can upgrade the firmware.

SafeGuard Designs is the company that has these listed and the 4mm I purchased previously were shipped by them so they def use good products. Some say that unless you buy from HikVision direct, you won't get warranty support. I haven't had an issue with mine and haven't needed to use it so I can't speak on that.