Now and then no snapshot IPC-HDBW3449E-AS-NI (SOLVED)

Peter vB

n3wb
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
24
Reaction score
12
Location
Netherlands
Hey guys, my IPC-HDBW3449E-AS-NI (with PoE) has worked like a charm for 10 days straight and yesterday I noticed my webcam image (which I post on my website) doesn't update.
I got it working again, but then after a few hours it's gone again and now I can't get it working.
The camera works fine, but the snapshot url doesn't seem to work (anymore).
Could this be because of a bad cable?

I use this url to reach the snapshot:
Not sure if this is how it should be, but it worked for 10 days on a row.
 

Peter vB

n3wb
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
24
Reaction score
12
Location
Netherlands
Update:
After a day or so I got it working again.
Tried a few different cables, but when I attached the 1st cable again and pushed them firmly into place it started working again and still does.
So it seems that when it doesn't work that one of the small inner cables doesn't make contact.
Not sure if there are better cables for this?
Don't all connectors have the same proportions/form?
 
Last edited:

jonhudd

n3wb
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Essex
I am having the same problem. I don't believe it is cable related. It used to work fine and was really useful and now I cant get it to work at all.

I have it setup for IVS alerts if that makes any difference.

Have you tried checking Storage/Snapshop to make sure you don't have it scheduled incorrectly there?
 

jonhudd

n3wb
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Essex
Also try setting your interval time a little higher. I raised mine to 30 seconds and it fixed the issue.
 

Peter vB

n3wb
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
24
Reaction score
12
Location
Netherlands
Hi John, I think my situation was different.
I still think that the cable was the cause.
What I do is as followed:

The weather data of my Davis weather station is uploaded to my website every minute.
The software I use for that, Meteobridge, can also upload a webcam image every 5 minutes and it adds weather data (see attached image).
I use the snapshot url for that
and normally Meteobridge can download that just fine, but suddenly it said "No data found on the url".
I didn't change anything in the admin panel.
After fiddling with the network cable it started working again and it still does.

Btw, I just checked the interval for snapshot and I have that set on 1 second.
Will keep this in mind when the url fails again.
I have very fast internet (min. 500+ mbps), so maybe your internet speed is a little bit slower?

CAF5ACD0-5312-4F14-8398-6C68B9A6EFCD.jpeg
 

Peter vB

n3wb
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
24
Reaction score
12
Location
Netherlands
Update: it happened again :(
My snapshot interval was on 1 second and after reading your post I changed that to the highest standard interval of 7 seconds around 21 hours last night.
A short while later I noticed my webcam image stopped updating around 21 hours (9PM) and now, 11 hours later I still can't get it to work.
Tried everything, cables, resetting, etc. but I keep getting the message "The url does not provide data".
I remember the last times it stopped working was also after I changed the interval setting.

Reminder to myself: if it works again, don't ever touch that setting again :)
 
Last edited:

Peter vB

n3wb
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
24
Reaction score
12
Location
Netherlands
And it works again, after I checked all snapshot settings (except the interval page).
The trouble is I checked and saved so many settings again, that I can't be totally sure which one did the job for the snapshot to work again ;)
Last thing I changed was setting the recording of the local snapshot to off.
It works and I'm not touching that interval setting ever again haha

165969FA-B438-49CB-91C3-18B3BA929EAC.jpeg
 

Peter vB

n3wb
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
24
Reaction score
12
Location
Netherlands
I also want to do an update here (for others with the same problem):
-----------
Hey guys, just a quick follow-up about my snapshot problem.
I was 1 minute away from returning the cam to the IPcam-shop.
After consulting a lot of people on forums, the shop and even the programmer of my weather software I got the 100.000 dollar tip.

I did two things:
- I've set the interval on the menu camera - video --> snapshot to 1 second again
and the most important thing:
- I've set the "Delete old files" on the menu: System - Auto Maintain to 1 day

After this the snapshots were available each time they were requested.
The webcam image on my website is being updated every 5 minutes without any problem.
And every 5 minutes a snapshot is being uploaded to my server for creating a timelapse.

It's working now for 16 hours straight.
That's more than in the past 7 days together.
So I'm a happy camper again.

/edit: 39 hours later and still working fine :)
 
Last edited:
Top