Noob - New Security System using EmpireTech Cams and NVR

H. Swanson

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I'm a total noob but have been reading a lot on Reddit and here about how best to do this. I ordered Reolink cams and NVR but I will now be returning them :).

Looking to deck out my property with a variation of these cameras (2.8 and 3.6 depending on use case / FOV needed)

I've tried finding a refurbished PC but it's hard to get ones with SATA bays internally, so I thought I should just get this EmpireTech NVR with Purple drives:

However, I hear great things about Blue Iris. Can I have the setup above and run BI on my primary PC with the videos stored on the NVR? My primary PC is a super powerful Lenovo gaming rig that I use for working at home, so I could run graphic intensive stuff on it. However, I don't want all of the video storage on my PC. Is this an option?

Feedback very welcome. Thanks!

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Welcome and glad to hear you learned about the Reolink mistake before you installed and/or missed the return window.

The 4K-T cameras are great, but do realize that unless every IDENTIFY for your use case is 15ish feet away or so, they won't be the right camera. Many find these are great overview cameras, but many of us here are not using them for IDENTIFY due to the small area of focus the 4K cameras have. They are not infinity focus.

AND you need to either have enough light or be willing to use the built-in white LED light of the camera (most of us don't use that) and the camera cannot see infrared so you cannot add it later.

See this thread for the most commonly recommended camera based on distance to IDENTIFY that represent the best overall value in terms of price and performance day and night.

The Importance of Focal Length over MP in camera selection

Many folks here run both an NVR and BI as a redundant system.