Noob here. Is Reolink really this bad or am I stupid?

Reaction score
Some video samples of moving vehicles from RLC-510A video shot with default Reolink app settings and recorded on PC connected to the cam through PoE injector and Ethernet cable.

Reolink2.jpgReolink.jpg

Is it even possible to get readable license plates with this cam (record to SD card instead and/or tweak settings) or should I look elsewhere? I checked some posts but I don't have a big budget (only about 300 usd) and some cams unavailable in our region.

Here we have Dahua HFW5241TP-ASE and Dahua HFW3541TP. Will that be better? We also have Dahua HFW5241EP but that's a little bit too expensive.

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Or this ==>> Search results on IPCamTalk for "Reolink"

Please note that the common thread among most of the complaints is essentially that the image from a Reolink can look pretty good...until the image moves; that's what happened in your 2 images.

So ask yourself.....what good is a surveillance camera that cannot faithfully show even a slightly moving image? And there's more bad news....it's worse at night!

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Look at the blur in that picture during the day - the reolink cannot do it during the day. The reo will never cut it at night because you will need a 1/2000 shutter and the reo will not adhere to that setting. It will override it to give an image that you can see something with.

Most low budget cams will not actually adhere to settings the user puts in. The algorithm is setup to provide a nice bright image at the expense of blur motion.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Look at this thread and see if you see any useful images at night...

Reaction score
Please note that the common thread among most of the complaints is essentially that the image from a Reolink can look pretty good...until the image moves; that's what happened in your 2 images.