Newbie question about Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE & Lorex LNB8005 4K

quebec

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all this is my first post and I’m a newbie when it comes to IP Cameras. I was about to buy the Lorex LNB8005 and Lorex NVR from Ebay Lorex LNB8005 (POE) (8MP) 4K UHD IP BULLET SECURITY CAMERA NTSC FREE SHIPPING | eBay
NEW Lorex 4K NVR IP 8 Channels 2TB HDD Secure Connect LNR61082T | eBay
Now I understand there might not be a comparison between these cameras but how is the Dahua do popular and one if the most recommended cameras when it’s only 2MP whereas Lorex is 4K and cheaper.
Is the Lorex worth buying? I have a single storey house, at this stage would only like to cover the front and possibly one inside the garage. Please advise. Also need some advice on installation, is it safe and easy to drill a hole in soffit and pull the wire through attic down the wall, though I will need to think of a safe place for NVR where there is power too? What other alternative is there apart from NVT? Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

As an eBay Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

awsum140

Known around here
Reaction score
I'll comment that, while I've never used Lorex cameras, I have bought "equivalent" cameras and, recently, a Dahua 5231R-Z. The Dahua out performs the 4K camera I have, hands down, both in picture quality, even with digital zoom, and with night/low light vision. IMHO Dahua has the best price/quality combination, the rest are just wannabees. Yeah, they're a little more expensive, but are well worth the price difference.

I'd steer away from an NVR and say to go with a dedicated PC running Blue Iris. That may sound more complicated, but video systems have a terrible habit of expanding once you find out how handy they can be. BI gives you far more flexibility than any NVR possible can.