New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,970
Reaction score
15,566
Location
USA
My Doorbell is HSDB2 running LaView firmware build 190716; Device got deleted from EZVIZ app on Android phone, but can't add it back.
Any workaround or new or better app that I can use?

TIA
What message are you getting?

There are several Apps you could use...see our 101 CONFIGURING DOORBELL TIPS:
 

shoulih

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
23
Reaction score
30
Location
92602
I think it doesn't allow me to reconnect after a reset as the mismatch of firmware and the app.

Plan to change the manufacturer's prefix for username/password in the iVMS-4200 tool to match the app and try it again.

BTW, which firmware allows me show video on Amazon Echo Show via Alexa skills for my HSDB2A w/o needing additional setup/tools?
 
Last edited:

shoulih

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
23
Reaction score
30
Location
92602
I think it doesn't allow me to reconnect after a reset as the mismatch of firmware and the app.

Plan to change the manufacturer's prefix for username/password in the
What message are you getting?

There are several Apps you could use...see our 101 CONFIGURING DOORBELL TIPS:
 

Attachments

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,970
Reaction score
15,566
Location
USA
I think it doesn't allow me to reconnect after a reset as the mismatch of firmware and the app.

Plan to change the manufacturer's prefix for username/password in the
So we were just talking about this, or similar to this just a few messages back:


Use to, when these DBs first came out, be able to remove the DB (device) from any App and Add it to another App, no problem. I think things changed when Hik-Connect App jumped off of Google's Play Store and on to their Store. People were getting a warning message that they had to pick only one App to be registered on. So actually one Cloud...

I use to use LaView's App but jumped to EZVIZ App, but the version I have now is Very limited in it's settings so I may switch one day. I really don't use the App much other than getting the PIR notices or calls when someone rings the DB. I will look at any recorded video when I am away too.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,970
Reaction score
15,566
Location
USA
If you need to go back on firmware, this is the firmware I have for your RCA

1665936542813.png
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,970
Reaction score
15,566
Location
USA
BTW, which firmware allows me show video on Amazon Echo Show via Alexa skills for my HSDB2A w/o needing additional setup/tools?
EZVIZ and LaView were the only firmwares we confirmed worked native with Alexa unless something changed on any newer firmware.

1665936698906.png
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,970
Reaction score
15,566
Location
USA
Just be aware EZVIZ does Not support ONVIF if you need it...
 

shoulih

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
23
Reaction score
30
Location
92602
Just be aware EZVIZ does Not support ONVIF if you need it...
So with the latest EZVIZ firmware on my RCA HSDB2A, is it supported Alexa natively with EZVIZ app?
BTW, I have added back my RCA to EZVIZ app with having to roll back to RCA firmware and thanks for your help!
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,970
Reaction score
15,566
Location
USA
So with the latest EZVIZ firmware on my RCA HSDB2A, is it supported Alexa natively with EZVIZ app?
BTW, I have added back my RCA to EZVIZ app with having to roll back to RCA firmware and thanks for your help!
Good News. I can't answer that since I did confirm Alexa worked on my LaView DB a few years back when I loaded EZVIZ firmware. Presently I run LaView on my DB. But I would assume, Yes. I still have bad memories back when we think that Nelly's firmware was bricking the RCAs. That was awhile back. At that time, LaView was the go to firmware.
You could try, just always be aware of possibly bricking. We do have a few fixes for bricked DBs in the 101 but nothing is guaranteed.
Was the LaView firmware working for you? Alexa?
 

Nsshield

n3wb
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
14
Reaction score
10
Location
Canada
I have 2x Ezviz DB1 Video doorbell cams running on ezviz firmware V5.2.4 build 220530. I'd like to use ONVIF what firmware do I download as I don't know if mine is newer then the Hikvision firmware mentioned on here and don't want to brick my DB cams if I can't upgrade.


Also anyway to change the push button sound and also alert sound to our own custom sound as I want to have sound on button chime plus say "please wait", also want the alert sound make an alert chime plus say "You are now being recorded"


Also anyway to change the button to flash red and blue rather then just solid blue?


Thanks in advance.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,970
Reaction score
15,566
Location
USA
Life will find a way....to destroy my stuff. Looking for a replacement pir lense cover anybody had any luck? Aliexpress?
What did the bird hang on to?

So you are not alone, some here has shared about their cracked PIR lens. Someone trying to ring the doorbell pushing the PIR lens instead of the DB button.

Here is something I posted awhile back. Let us know if you come up with a fix/repair...

 

Nsshield

n3wb
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
14
Reaction score
10
Location
Canada
I'm assuming that since the Hikvision firmware in .zip format
I have 2x Ezviz DB1 Video doorbell cams running on ezviz firmware V5.2.4 build 220530. I'd like to use ONVIF what firmware do I download as I don't know if mine is newer then the Hikvision firmware mentioned on here and don't want to brick my DB cams if I can't upgrade.


Also anyway to change the push button sound and also alert sound to our own custom sound as I want to have sound on button chime plus say "please wait", also want the alert sound make an alert chime plus say "You are now being recorded"


Also anyway to change the button to flash red and blue rather then just solid blue?


Thanks in advance.
Not trying to be rude but I thought this page was about helping each other out with questions? A simple yes or no to my questions listed above and in the quote would have been good. As I've searched and can't seem to find an answer that's why I asked. So I'll ask again in a guess a more simple way to one of my questions. Can I replace the latest EZVIZ firmware V5.2.4 build 220530 and load the latest Hikvison Firmware even though the Hikvision firmware is older then the latest EZVIZ firmware version?
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,970
Reaction score
15,566
Location
USA
I have 2x Ezviz DB1 Video doorbell cams running on ezviz firmware V5.2.4 build 220530. I'd like to use ONVIF what firmware do I download as I don't know if mine is newer then the Hikvision firmware mentioned on here and don't want to brick my DB cams if I can't upgrade.


Also anyway to change the push button sound and also alert sound to our own custom sound as I want to have sound on button chime plus say "please wait", also want the alert sound make an alert chime plus say "You are now being recorded"


Also anyway to change the button to flash red and blue rather then just solid blue?


Thanks in advance.
Sorry for delayed reply, I was hoping someone else would chime in. This is an older Thread, not much activity lately.

I have 2x Ezviz DB1 Video doorbell cams running on ezviz firmware V5.2.4 build 220530. I'd like to use ONVIF what firmware do I download as I don't know if mine is newer then the Hikvision firmware mentioned on here and don't want to brick my DB cams if I can't upgrade.
Most here are using the Hikvision firmware. Just beware there is Always a chance you brick your DB when using other firmware.

Also anyway to change the push button sound and also alert sound to our own custom sound as I want to have sound on button chime plus say "please wait", also want the alert sound make an alert chime plus say "You are now being recorded"

No

Also anyway to change the button to flash red and blue rather then just solid blue?

No
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,970
Reaction score
15,566
Location
USA
I'm assuming that since the Hikvision firmware in .zip format


Not trying to be rude but I thought this page was about helping each other out with questions? A simple yes or no to my questions listed above and in the quote would have been good. As I've searched and can't seem to find an answer that's why I asked. So I'll ask again in a guess a more simple way to one of my questions. Can I replace the latest EZVIZ firmware V5.2.4 build 220530 and load the latest Hikvison Firmware even though the Hikvision firmware is older then the latest EZVIZ firmware version?
Yes we have loaded older firmwares. Just be aware Any firmware change has a potential of bricking the unit.

Most here use the Batch Config. Tool to upgrade their firmware...

Our 101 has our collected experiences...
 

Nsshield

n3wb
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
14
Reaction score
10
Location
Canada
Yes we have loaded older firmwares. Just be aware Any firmware change has a potential of bricking the unit.

Most here use the Batch Config. Tool to upgrade their firmware...

Our 101 has our collected experiences...
Thank you for the reply back. Sorry if I came off rude if I did as that was not my attention. Just felt that my question(s) were being ignored.


I have a few more questions.

What is the MAX video bitrate with the Hikvision firmware?

What is the MAX FPS in the hikvision version?

What are the Audio codices for the Hikvision Firmware?

If loading Hikvision firmware does it give me access to FTP uploading and what about sending emails with a picture and or video attached to it?

I find that with the EZVIZ firmware audio is so low and only picks up audio when near but I want to up the sensitivity of the microphone so I can hear more sound from a further distance can I do that with the Hikvision firmware and ivms?

Still no 2-way Audio RTSP ONVIF?

sorry for all the questions. And thanks in advance :)
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,970
Reaction score
15,566
Location
USA
Thank you for the reply back. Sorry if I came off rude if I did as that was not my attention. Just felt that my question(s) were being ignored.


I have a few more questions.

What is the MAX video bitrate with the Hikvision firmware?

What is the MAX FPS in the hikvision version?

What are the Audio codices for the Hikvision Firmware?

If loading Hikvision firmware does it give me access to FTP uploading and what about sending emails with a picture and or video attached to it?

I find that with the EZVIZ firmware audio is so low and only picks up audio when near but I want to up the sensitivity of the microphone so I can hear more sound from a further distance can I do that with the Hikvision firmware and ivms?

Still no 2-way Audio RTSP ONVIF?

sorry for all the questions. And thanks in advance :)
You were not rude, I can answer some of your questions:

What is the MAX video bitrate with the Hikvision firmware?
2048
1666105399537.png

What is the MAX FPS in the hikvision version?
Full Frame = 30 FPS
1666105474836.png

What are the Audio codices for the Hikvision Firmware?
Not sure, only ACC listed/option

If loading Hikvision firmware does it give me access to FTP uploading and what about sending emails with a picture and or video attached to it?
No FTP, in the Apps you can save video or motion captures, but no direct emailing from the App that I am aware of. You would have to attach the saved files manually.
Outside of the App, NVRs, Blue Iris, etc. you can do a lot with the videos/captures...

I find that with the EZVIZ firmware audio is so low and only picks up audio when near but I want to up the sensitivity of the microphone so I can hear more sound from a further distance can I do that with the Hikvision firmware and ivms?
Yes, you can adjust the Mic in the Batch Config. Tool

Still no 2-way Audio RTSP ONVIF?
Not that I am aware of.

HTH
 

Nsshield

n3wb
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
14
Reaction score
10
Location
Canada
You were not rude, I can answer some of your questions:

What is the MAX video bitrate with the Hikvision firmware?
2048
View attachment 143029

What is the MAX FPS in the hikvision version?
Full Frame = 30 FPS
View attachment 143030

What are the Audio codices for the Hikvision Firmware?
Not sure, only ACC listed/option

If loading Hikvision firmware does it give me access to FTP uploading and what about sending emails with a picture and or video attached to it?
No FTP, in the Apps you can save video or motion captures, but no direct emailing from the App that I am aware of. You would have to attach the saved files manually.
Outside of the App, NVRs, Blue Iris, etc. you can do a lot with the videos/captures...

I find that with the EZVIZ firmware audio is so low and only picks up audio when near but I want to up the sensitivity of the microphone so I can hear more sound from a further distance can I do that with the Hikvision firmware and ivms?
Yes, you can adjust the Mic in the Batch Config. Tool

Still no 2-way Audio RTSP ONVIF?
Not that I am aware of.

HTH

Don't know why they have such a low vidio bitrate quality. Any of the compatible firmwares capable of doing 8192k or higher for video bitrate quality? I mean I have a few indoor hikvision (rebranded to Uniden) and paid about $29.00 for them and the picture and video quality is 300% BETTER then the quality of the DB1. You would think an outdoor doorbell camera video and image quality would be better then an indoor PT camera.
 

The Automation Guy

Getting comfortable
Joined
Feb 7, 2019
Messages
939
Reaction score
1,701
Location
USA
You were not rude, I can answer some of your questions:

What is the MAX video bitrate with the Hikvision firmware?
2048
View attachment 143029

HTH

Does choosing custom allow you to manually enter a higher bit rate?

If not, it is not the end of the world. These are 3mp cameras with pretty crappy lenses to begin with. In theory, increasing bitrate will increase the quality of the image/stream - but only up to a certain point. After that, the best image that the camera is capable of producing is already being represented in the stream. Increasing the bitrate past this limit doesn't increase the quality of the image, it just uses more space/bandwidth.
 
Top