New PTZ( EmpireTech PTZ5A4M-25X ) - Wont Track or Detect anything at night. Help dialing in settings please?

jelf4352

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
See screenshots below. I recently bought this PTZ from Andy. Im new to PTZs in general. Ive been reading through advice on the forums ,but Im lost on how to dial in the settings for this PTZ. This camera doesnt track or set of any Alerts during the night. It is a low/no light environment. My other dahua 5442s work at night though, so i expected this 4MP with starlight to work as well. Not even AI alerts confirming a person when waving my hands in front on the hill.

Ive been trialing to dial the contrast/brightness back to 30s with manual shutter below 20 and gain (50-70), but still no luck with any auto tracking/detection on those setting too. . Any suggestions please! The screenshots are default settings on the camera.
Thank you!
John

Screenshot 2024-03-29 at 8.55.35 PM.pngScreenshot 2024-03-29 at 8.54.01 PM.png

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Just to confirm the obvious - it tracks during the day and not at night? Need to make sure that it is actually set up to track and does track.

jelf4352

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Just to confirm the obvious - it tracks during the day and not at night? Need to make sure that it is actually set up to track and does track.
Yea, thats right. Ive setup the IVS and its working tracking/zooming during the day and setting off AI confirmed alerts via codeprojectAI. Althought there are some big trees (top left corner) that where it loses people during tracking, but thats another problem. Just trying to get something during night first.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Any chance you can move that preset up so those bushes at the bottom are not bouncing back so much infrared? I think that is messing with the exposure and thus the contrast further out and the AI is having trouble seeing a difference between a person and the background.