New PC for BI - HDD size limit

Dave Lonsdale

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I've finally decided to take BI off the "family" desktop PC and buy another desktop for my BI. But not being an expert, I've been pouring over PC specs to try and make the right choice. I spent hours looking at cheapish refurbished but now have capital expenditure approval from my wife to push the boat out a bit with something up to date that will survive for longer and as a bonus save energy over time. So I chose a new CPU from WIKI's list.

I zeroed in on the very popular HP 290 G3 i5-10500 at £500. For example:
HP 290 G3 SFF Core i5-10500 8GB 256GB SSD Windows 10 Pro Desktop PC - Laptops Direct
However, it appears that I would only be able to add a 2TB HDD - enough for 3 days. I need 6TB. Have I misunderstood the HDD size limit? Although undesirable, would I be able to add 4TB via USB or is there something like an addressing limit? I don't have the knowledge. DELL has a similar OptiPlex 5080 with the same processor but it's 50% more expensive and so far as I can make out also has a 2TB limit.

Assuming it is a problem, I've transferred by gaze to the brand new AMD Ryzen 5 Pro 4650G that has super duper chip technology at around about the same price. What do you expert guys think? For example:
Just now I've no idea what the maximum HDD size is. Strangely it's often not specified. The offer I listed also raises another query - the price of Windows 10 Pro seems to vary between £20 and getting on for £200. Am I misunderstanding something?

Flintstone61

Known around here
Reaction score
You can buy a 4 or 6 TB or higher hard disk. It should be formatted to GPT already and Windows will see it as such. Hard disks formatted in GPT have larger capacities in Windows than 2TB. MBR formatted harddisks have a 2TB partition limit in Windows. More people will chime in shortly I'm sure.

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score