New Member Needing BI/NVR help!

nickjohn35

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hello all! After 5 years of ownership, our Arlos stopped working. After trying Eufy and not liking them, I decided I wanted to go the POE route. I’ve been testing out Reolink NVR and not impressed. After lots of reading etc, I’m between BI or Empiretech NVR. I already have a used PC lined up if I go the BI route. The one area I’m slightly concerned about is the mobile app and notifications. I’m a firefighter and gone for 24 hour shifts. The mobile app comes in great use for my wife when I’m not home, especially since we have 2 small kids. She liked getting motion alerts on the Arlo and also seeing the events in chronological order in the Arlo app. Does the BI app do those things? What about the UI3? Any and all help is greatly appreciated!

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Yeah, once you see what the Empiretech cameras can do (Dahua OEM), you will wonder why you stayed so long with Arlo LOL.

And Reolink, hopefully you are still within the return period on those.

Yes the BI app can send alerts. UI3 does not do alerts, but is a better viewing platform on a mobile device than the BI app.

But most of us use the Pushover app ($5 instead of $10 for the BI app) and find it a much better option.

nickjohn35

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Yeah, once you see what the Empiretech cameras can do (Dahua OEM), you will wonder why you stayed so long with Arlo LOL.

And Reolink, hopefully you are still within the return period on those.

Yes the BI app can send alerts. UI3 does not do alerts, but is a better viewing platform on a mobile device than the BI app.

But most of us use the Pushover app ($5 instead of $10 for the BI app) and find it a much better option.

Lol yeah I bet.

Luckily I am. I’ll probably keep the POE doorbell since I was hell bent determined to run Cat6 wire to my doorbell and succeeded. Plus not too many options for POE doorbells.