New here!

Heyok

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Hi,

My name is Al and I am new here.
I work as an electronics technician in the broadcast field, looking after radio and TV station maintenance and construction. I have a side business where I build custom electronics for remote control hobby cars / trucks etc.

I came to this forum as I want to get more out of my Blue Iris system.

Security cameras became a great interest to me after my dog caught a guy that had broken into my Jeep. My analog Hikvision system showed me how this creep was all over my backyard and then how he had a nap in my Jeep. We managed to wrestle the guy to the ground and hold him until the police could take over.
I'll find the video and post it if any are interested.

Reading about better home video security, I became very interested in Blue Iris. I've been using Blue Iris since October 2020.
I enjoy all the capabilities it gives me but I still have a whole lot to learn.
Some weeks ago I had it stop triggering on a camera and today I happened to read about rolling back to a previous version that seems to work for most people. It's working!
Soon I will get back to researching more and try and get the Deepstack features to work.
I'll make a post or two in the Camera Captures section and then get to reading all I can to see where I can improve on my setup.

Cheers,
Al

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
:welcome:

My comment regarding DeepStack is to use the GPU version if you have a CUDA capable NVidia card hanging around. Much more reliable and responsive than the CPU version.

Heyok

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Thank you.
The computer I am using just has video on the motherboard. I run it headless (no monitor).

Is it worth it to get a CUDA capable NVidia card? I really don't know where to start.

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score