New BI setup - 9 cams; 50% CPU load w/ DTD or Encode on i5

LTek

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
My fast system runs very slow after installing BI

My setup...
i5-4300u, 8 GB ram, 256GB SSD, Win7 laptop
Laptop dedicated to running my media and security.
Nothing installed but Kodi media center (only on when I'm watching a movie), so 99% of the time it is running nothing but BI
7 Samsung 1080p cams running 30fps
2 Foscam 1.3MP cams
All cams run Motion detection in BI with sensitivity reduced lower than the defaults
Recording is only upon motion and I've tried both the default encoding and, now, DTD
BI install is pretty much stock... I'm just learning BI so I've made no real changes.
BI running as a service

My laptop running was super fast in Kodi but sluggish as hell when BI is running - basically unusable

I want to move over from my Synology to BI but the Syno is a 3 year old crappy ATOM running a ton of stuff and runs 10x better than BI on my 500x faster laptop.

What is going on?

thx for the help!

Last edited by a moderator:

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
@LTek, welcome to the forum. Blue iris is great, however it requires a powerful pc if you are running many had cams...your laptop is actually very weak compared to modern i5 haswell desktop cpu's. http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?cpu=Intel+Core+i5-4300U+@+1.90GHz
It may be fast for kodi because of the ssd so it loads fast, however blue iris needs raw cpu power. Try lowering your frame rate to 15fps...30 is overkill anyways.

LTek

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Interesting that you say the i5-4300U is weak for BI yet my Synology with an Intel Atom D2700 and only 1 GB RAM is literally 1/5th the benchmark spec (but in reality the laptop is about 10x the speed) yet can easily handle all the cameras at 30fps. while it runs a dozen other apps. BI looks like it was written in the Win95 days ... is the code just old and inefficient so it take way to many resources?