New Amcrest IP5M-T1179EW-36MM graphical glitches and freezing runs hot?

Reaction score
Thank you sdkid! Did you have to downgrade the stock Amcrest firmware first or was it a straightforward upgrade via the web portal?
Start by doing a reset to factory defaults with the Amcrest firmware, then do your firmware upgrade. When that is finished, you may need to do another reset to factory defaults once you are in with Dahua firmware-- the digital Amcrest logo may still be there. After that reset and restart, set it up the way you want it.

joenasa

n3wb
Reaction score
When running cable through a building, you buy bulk cable. 1000 feet to a box usually. then you cut it and put an end on it. if your pulling 2 or 3 runs at the same time you tape the ends together and use a nylon pull string to push or pull it thru walls, ceilings, etc....
Thank you! Very cool (I am a total noob)

joenasa

n3wb
Reaction score
Start by doing a reset to factory defaults with the Amcrest firmware, then do your firmware upgrade. When that is finished, you may need to do another reset to factory defaults once you are in with Dahua firmware-- the digital Amcrest logo may still be there. After that reset and restart, set it up the way you want it.
Very grateful for your detailed instructions. You are a total lifesaver!!

joenasa

n3wb
Reaction score
S
I recently got my hands on this rebranded Dahua camera from Amcrest. The heat issue is sort of two-part...

1) The heat radiated outward is somewhat shunted due to the plastic casing. Metal to metal conducts and dissipates heat better - think of it as a poor-man heatsink on a computer, in our case, a CCTV camera. Metal to plastic, well, not so much in that regard. So where does the heat go? To the entire metal apparatus.