Natural Gas Generators

IReallyLikePizza2

Getting comfortable
Joined
May 14, 2019
Messages
688
Reaction score
1,169
Location
Houston
So far I can't see if mine has the 2.0 or not, I guess we will find out. I'm not too concerned either way

Hopefully sooner or later someone figures out a way around it :p
 

Teken

Getting comfortable
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
439
Reaction score
575
Location
Canada
honestly, I read through a lot of the thread but not all of it lol.

I’m familiar with genmon and I’m considering it for my parents generator. I’m not sure about their liquid cooled units, but I remember reading on a Generac forum that the Evolution 2.0 controllers are going to be encrypted after a certain firmware version. The encryption will not allow installation of a 3rd party modules for remote management. So before you buy that unit I would double check and make sure the generator you’re going to get isn’t going to have an encrypted controller.

Edit: Here is the link discussing the encryption -https://www.zillerstore.com/post/email-from-generac-stating-that-evolution-2-0-controllers-will-now-be-encrypted-10519789?pid=1311597551&highlight=encryption
Had read that thread when it was actively being discussed which doesn't really surprise me in the least. Generac has been pulling these stunts for years along with other anti DIY policies and tactics. :angry: The problem for many customers is Generac is almost always the biggest player in town with a presence. That being the case the average consumer is going to purchase what is available & supported in their local market.

This assumes you ever receive a call back from any of these so called reputable companies! :rolleyes:

The one thing with most Costco stores that sell Generac / Honeywell is you have the backing of Costco and more often than not the vendor they have selected to represent and sell Generac hardware are decent. As of stated by one member in the Zeller forum at the end of the day you just need the Generator to do two things:

  • Start up during a grid down event
  • Operate reliably while supplying clean power

The rest is just gravy and there are lots of solutions to monitor power input / output.
 

Attachments

mcapeed

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 1, 2020
Messages
42
Reaction score
77
Location
Texas
I don't believe there will be an NG outage, and at the worst situation in over 100 years, there was no outage. If anything, I would expect it to get better next time

The natural gas issues were with 45GW of power plants, the amount of gas they use is monumental compared to everyone's furnaces, hot water heaters, generators etc.
Actually there was a gas shortage. ERCOT turned off power to the Permian Basin which is a large source of natural gas.

If you want reliability propane may be the better choice. During hurricanes I have read about homes losing natural gas. Propane could be vulnerable too but if the tank is buried or at least protected it could lead to improved self sufficiency.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2015
Messages
433
Reaction score
194
So far I can't see if mine has the 2.0 or not, I guess we will find out. I'm not too concerned either way

Hopefully sooner or later someone figures out a way around it :p
I read up on the encryption a little more and Generac stated the liquid cooled units are not going to be encrypted at this time. So hopefully they don't change that in the future.

As of stated by one member in the Zeller forum at the end of the day you just need the Generator to do two things:

  • Start up during a grid down event
  • Operate reliably while supplying clean power

The rest is just gravy and there are lots of solutions to monitor power input / output.
While I agree with that statement, a generator is an investment that will cost anywhere from $8,000-$10,000+ to install. If I'm going to spend that kind of money on a generator I'm not going to settle for something that doesn't do everything I want it to do just because that's what everyone else uses. Especially when that company has a subpar remote management app. Plus their charging you for it monthly, and purposefully changed the software to lockout 3rd party services.
 

Teken

Getting comfortable
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
439
Reaction score
575
Location
Canada
I read up on the encryption a little more and Generac stated the liquid cooled units are not going to be encrypted at this time. So hopefully they don't change that in the future.



While I agree with that statement, a generator is an investment that will cost anywhere from $8,000-$10,000+ to install. If I'm going to spend that kind of money on a generator I'm not going to settle for something that doesn't do everything I want it to do just because that's what everyone else uses. Especially when that company has a subpar remote management app. Plus their charging you for it monthly, and purposefully changed the software to lockout 3rd party services.
100% agree!

That’s why I’m a strong proponent of right to repair. If I buy something it’s mine and don’t want someone telling me using a free third party application isn’t allowed!

Like you, if I’m going to pay you some bull shit fee to access & manage the generator it better well work! It never ceases to amaze me how companies that rake in billions of dollars always offer shit software?!?
 

IReallyLikePizza2

Getting comfortable
Joined
May 14, 2019
Messages
688
Reaction score
1,169
Location
Houston
I posted some of this in the Solar thread, but first hurdle done. Meter is now right next to where the Generator will go, which saves me $1500

Generator will go where the hose reel is.

2021-03-22 14.27.09.JPG

Used to be like this before, cable went way over the driveway (and look at that mess!)

2021-03-22 12.22.01.JPG

Now nice and neat, on the garage

2021-03-22 14.27.19.JPG

200a sub on the house

2021-03-22 22.47.22.JPG

All the crap on the side gone

2021-03-22 22.47.33.JPG
 

AP514

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
189
Reaction score
132
Location
Pearland, Texas
Good to see you are getting what you want ? The freeze really did a number on a ton of Texans. (well actually our Power Grid)
I went the other Route and installed a manual transfer switch to run 8 circuits. Lucky me I had just purchased a 30 gal. fuel Drum and Pump a few weeks before.
House made it threw the freeze just Fine..Put 34 hours on the generator.... A few pics30 Gal Fuel Drum.jpegGenerator setup.jpegGenerator at work.jpeg
 

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
4,726
Reaction score
4,188
Location
Houston Tx
@AP514

Where do you store the 30 gal tank ?
How much gas did you burn in 34 hours?
I was without power for only 12
What was the cost of putting in the plug and transfer switch ?
What is make model of steel drum?
 
Last edited:

biggen

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
1,717
Reaction score
1,578
@SouthernYankee

The manual switches are cheap. You can get them at Home Depot. I've put a a few in for buddies over the years. Plug in the genny and hit the bypass/transfer switch. Bam! Power to the house again. Just make sure you turn off your A/C/Hotwater Heater, etc... breakers before you throw the transfer switch when using those portable generators.
 

runraid

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
63
Reaction score
35
Location
Seattle
honestly, I read through a lot of the thread but not all of it lol.

I’m familiar with genmon and I’m considering it for my parents generator. I’m not sure about their liquid cooled units, but I remember reading on a Generac forum that the Evolution 2.0 controllers are going to be encrypted after a certain firmware version. The encryption will not allow installation of a 3rd party modules for remote management. So before you buy that unit I would double check and make sure the generator you’re going to get isn’t going to have an encrypted controller.

Edit: Here is the link discussing the encryption -https://www.zillerstore.com/post/email-from-generac-stating-that-evolution-2-0-controllers-will-now-be-encrypted-10519789?pid=1311597551&highlight=encryption
@IReallyLikePizza2 I have the latest generac 22kw 2.0. I have genmon working without issue. I even have it integrated with Home Assistant.
914C22F5-0832-44E3-AE4F-D950AF66EEEF.png
 

AP514

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
189
Reaction score
132
Location
Pearland, Texas
@AP514

Where do you store the 30 gal tank ?
How much gas did you burn in 34 hours?
I was without power for only 12
What was the cost of putting in the plug and transfer switch ?
What is make model of steel drum?
the Tank sits in the Garage (58' x 30')
Do not know for sure..started off with 28 Gal..maybe used 14 Gal. not sure gen. tank still has gas in it and 30 gal. tank at about 2/3 full still
relignt R308A...$350..they stopped making them right after I Purchased mine..it is the exact same thing as the R310A(mine has 8 C/B instead of 10)
Steel drum is CQ3008L....Amazon.com: Skolnik 30 Gallon Closed Head Carbon Steel Drum with Epoxy Phenolic Lining, CQ3008L: Home Improvement ($140 free delivery- price went up i see) The L is for lined can store fuel long term in a lined drum compared to a transport drum.
Fili-Rite Pump $67 open box- Ebay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 5, 2015
Messages
433
Reaction score
194
@IReallyLikePizza2 I have the latest generac 22kw 2.0. I have genmon working without issue. I even have it integrated with Home Assistant.
View attachment 85402
From what I read, the encryption is enabled on a newer firmware update for Generators running the Evolution 2.0 controllers. So it's possible you're running a firmware version prior to the encryption. Unless something has changed, if you update your firmware, GenMon might stop working. I also read if you bought your generator prior to the new encrypted firmware, you can always downgrade firmware versions after it is installed. However, if the generator was purchased with the encrypted firmware already installed it is not possible to downgrade to an older firmware without encryption.
 

runraid

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
63
Reaction score
35
Location
Seattle
From what I read, the encryption is enabled on a newer firmware update for Generators running the Evolution 2.0 controllers. So it's possible you're running a firmware version prior to the encryption. Unless something has changed, if you update your firmware, GenMon might stop working. I also read if you bought your generator prior to the new encrypted firmware, you can always downgrade firmware versions after it is installed. However, if the generator was purchased with the encrypted firmware already installed it is not possible to downgrade to an older firmware without encryption.
The encryption was worked around and no longer an issue.
 

bigredfish

Known around here
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
7,886
Reaction score
15,827
Location
Florida USA
Had a bad wind storm ahead of a front tonight and lost power. Power company saying at least 6 hours down time so I broke out the Generac 8000/10,000, Last time I started it was December. It fired right up and with the transfer switch was up and running in 10 minutes. Yes!

Home_CAM 11_main_20210410230830_@1.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 5, 2015
Messages
433
Reaction score
194
Had a bad wind storm ahead of a front tonight and lost power. Power company saying at least 6 hours down time so I broke out the Generac 8000/10,000, Last time I started it was December. It fired right up and with the transfer switch was up and running in 10 minutes. Yes!

View attachment 86515
lost power earlier in the week for 2 1/2 hours. It went out around 1 am. The 14kw Kohler automatically started up and transferred power to generator within 10 seconds. I didn’t even have to get out of bed!
 

IReallyLikePizza2

Getting comfortable
Joined
May 14, 2019
Messages
688
Reaction score
1,169
Location
Houston
We lost power for 10 minutes, my neighbors generator kicked on and gave him power... I was stuck wondering when the power will come back on

I did get a call from the installer stating they are drawing up install plans, so its making some progress at least
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
4,612
Reaction score
5,891
Location
USA
Had a bad wind storm ahead of a front tonight and lost power. Power company saying at least 6 hours down time so I broke out the Generac 8000/10,000, Last time I started it was December. It fired right up and with the transfer switch was up and running in 10 minutes. Yes!

View attachment 86515
Wow that piece of plywood hides that generator so well...no perp will know where to find it :lmao: (I am sure you have it there for noise abatement or keep rain off it)

But looks like it is nice of you to run some power to your neighbor as well.
 
Top