ip camera and nvr making me go grey alot faster than age!

Reaction score
hi people, im new to the site as i have just started on the ip cctv and nvr scene. i have been installing cctv for a couple of years now but thought i would try my hand at the new gear!
i have in my hand my first ip camera and nvr setup, there was me thinking you just plug it all together and away you go! (just like the older dvr stuff)
i have now realised thinking that was wrong, i have done all i have been instructed to do by instruction manuals and internet but so far i have not had any luck with it.
scenario is i have a hikvision 3mp dome camera poe compatible, and also have a 500gb nvr with poe. i have plugged it in, camera lights up as it should, power led and network leds are on inside the dome but the search from the nvr brings up no results at all. i have even manually input the cameras ip address and tried to add it that way, still with no luck. i have ran out of ideas totally and not sure what to do now???

any help would be appreciated :)

dave

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. Lets start with the model number of the cameras and NVR. Is the NVR a hikvision as well?

Reaction score
No it isn't, it's a in branded nvr. The camera is a hikvision ds2cd2132 I could put a link on here for the nvr if that would be any good?

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Ok..couple of things first...
Ip cameras can be plug and play, but you will need to match the NVR to the cameras. It is best practice to match camera to NVR's..unless you can confirm that it works 100%.... often motion detection will not work properly if the brands don’t match…
Onvif is a standard that is supposed to allow cameras and NVR’s to communicate regardless of manuafactger but it has a lot of issues, and the NVR doesn’t even say its onvif compliant.