Imporx IMP-3MP98A-h

Reaction score
Has anybody got one of these Imporx PTZ camera Mod number IMP-3MP98A-H. I am new to this and have this one set up using it with iSpy because so far this the only way
I can have this cam and my Dlink 5020L working on the same screen. I was just wondering about how to check and update the firmware safely.
Also looking into which POE NVR to go with or if I should go with a POE switch and just a normal NVR. I plan to have possibly 2 more POE cams outside and 2 wireless cams inside including my Dlink if possible. any useful input would be much appreciated. I'm getting anxious to move onto the next stage but don'n need to buy things i don;t need if you know what I mean.:nevreness:

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I was just wondering about how to check and update the firmware safely.
Lesson #1: If its not broken dont fix it.. writing firmware to embedded hardware is always a risky proposition.. Unless your having a problem you have confirmed is fixed in a newer firmware you have nothing to gain and everything to loose by performing updates for no reason other than you can.

I learned this one the hard way about 20 years ago, when I destroyed $5k worth of computer when I encountered a brownout while trying to see if a BIOS update would fix a problem.. turned out the update would have never fixed the problem because the replacement motherboard came already updated and had the same issue.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reaction score
Thanks for replying so fast, and I agree with you, I do have a couple niggly probs which I would like to get sorted but as far as the firmware I should have asked where to check for the official place to look. From what i can see this model number pops up on two or three different makes of camera. The rest of my last post is where i could really do with the help.

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score