Image missing from push notification

mikeynags

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
736
Reaction score
487
Location
CT
It could be anything from a firewall issue, stunnel issue or phone issue. The key here is that there are most others dont have the issue. This tells us that its likely something in your settup.
Fender is right. It’s more often something on your end whether it be ports or loop back. Are you specifying the IP for the BI server for both local and wan address in the app? As you can see below, pretty consistent for me.

IMG_0965.png


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Kev79

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
1
Location
ma
It could be anything from a firewall issue, stunnel issue or phone issue. The key here is that there are most others dont have the issue. This tells us that its likely something in your settup.
That's weird I get the same results on my Android Tab as well. I disabled my firewall, stunnel and also added firewall rules nothing changes the situation. I went as far as opening the whole router up to the internet. No change. I do get images. Only the first 1 minute or so when I open the app on the phone. Nothing after that till the app is re-opened. One minute later again nothing. Same thing on my tablet. All sleep settings and security disabled. What next?. The key here is some others do and what do they do to figure it out?
 

Kev79

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
1
Location
ma
Fender is right. It’s more often something on your end whether it be ports or loop back. Are you specifying the IP for the BI server for both local and wan address in the app? As you can see below, pretty consistent for me.

View attachment 71863


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes all wan an Lan addresses are there and functional. Nat reflection is also enabled on the router. I tried to disable it as well. No change.
 

mikeynags

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
736
Reaction score
487
Location
CT
You may need to take a packet capture to see what’s going on. Just to clarify, the same IP for both lan and wan correct?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Kev79

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
1
Location
ma
You may need to take a packet capture to see what’s going on. Just to clarify, the same IP for both lan and wan correct?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes I tried all that. Same WAN and LAN. Both internal and External ported addresses. What can I use to sniff the packet?
 

Kev79

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
1
Location
ma
So I did a test and here is the log. One when the image was sent ok. One when it did not. I got it to send with the image attached to the notification. I had to open the app and auto connect. Then after 1 to 3 min on idle use and minimized in the app, the app jumps off in the logs and then it will not send images with notifications anymore. Makes no sense.

BIworks.jpg

biph.jpg


BINO.jpg
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
34,244
Reaction score
14,376
So I did a test and here is the log. One when the image was sent ok. One when it did not. I got it to send with the image attached to the notification. I had to open the app and auto connect. Then after 1 to 3 min on idle use and minimized in the app, the app jumps off in the logs and then it will not send images with notifications anymore. Makes no sense.

View attachment 71870

View attachment 71875


View attachment 71871
Sounds like a power saving feature is putting the app to sleep.
Also, you dont need to redact your local ip address.
 

Kev79

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
1
Location
ma
Sounds like a power saving feature is putting the app to sleep.
Also, you dont need to redact your local ip address.
All power save on the phone is off and security as well. This is the main issue that has no answer.
 

Flavacali

n3wb
Joined
Dec 15, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
14
Location
Ny
Oh yea. I am not getting anything to try back from him. It has been we are a working on an update in the near future.. Is everyone else that is on Android have this problem or is it just me? I would like to know if it is on my end for sure.
I had same problem on android I uninstalled the blue iris android app, then on windows blue iris console deleted my phone from the mobile tab , installed android app again and used the phone tags box and gave it a name on mobile tab after signing back in to Blue Iris with my Android blue iris app
 

Kev79

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
1
Location
ma
I had same problem on android I uninstalled the blue iris android app, then on windows blue iris console deleted my phone from the mobile tab , installed android app again and used the phone tags box and gave it a name on mobile tab after signing back in to Blue Iris with my Android blue iris app
Unfortunately I have done that several times. Makes a difference for a few goes and back to inconsistent again.
 

hikky_b

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
47
Reaction score
33
Location
London
Fender is right. It’s more often something on your end whether it be ports or loop back. Are you specifying the IP for the BI server for both local and wan address in the app? As you can see below, pretty consistent for me.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Are you running iOS 14?

EDIT: Also, I'm curious about the delay between trigger and iOS notification - how many seconds?
 
Last edited:

hikky_b

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
47
Reaction score
33
Location
London
I know you're having issues on Android, I was asking mikeynags what iOS HE was running :D I have iOS 14 installed so I'm curious.

I'm getting about 4-5 mins of GIF notifications after I open the app on iOS - then goes back to without. I can rinse and repeat consistently.
 

Kev79

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
1
Location
ma
I know you're having issues on Android, I was asking mikeynags what iOS HE was running :D I have iOS 14 installed so I'm curious.

I'm getting about 4-5 mins of GIF notifications after I open the app on iOS - then goes back to without. I can rinse and repeat consistently.
Yup basically the same type of issue. If you check the BI log you will see the phone logged off by itself when this happens.
 

mikeynags

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
736
Reaction score
487
Location
CT
I know you're having issues on Android, I was asking mikeynags what iOS HE was running :D I have iOS 14 installed so I'm curious.

I'm getting about 4-5 mins of GIF notifications after I open the app on iOS - then goes back to without. I can rinse and repeat consistently.
I’m on iOS 14 as well.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Kev79

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
1
Location
ma
So I turned on the Pfsense Firewall system log for my server IP and here is what I noticed. Still cant figure out what to do to fix the no image.

Log into phone app.

Trigger camera from PC.

I get an image on phone.

Firewall log.
fireYes.jpg

Wait till I see my phone logs out in the BI log and then fire the camera again.

No image sent to phone but now have two entries in the Pfsense log for the same event.
fireNO.jpg


Anyone? Is this info relevant?
 

mikeynags

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
736
Reaction score
487
Location
CT
So I turned on the Pfsense Firewall system log for my server IP and here is what I noticed. Still cant figure out what to do to fix the no image.

Log into phone app.

Trigger camera from PC.

I get an image on phone.

Firewall log.
View attachment 72016

Wait till I see my phone logs out in the BI log and then fire the camera again.

No image sent to phone but now have two entries in the Pfsense log for the same event.
View attachment 72018


Anyone? Is this info relevant?
Are those 2 entries blocks or allowed traffic?
 

mikeynags

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
736
Reaction score
487
Location
CT
I believe allowed. They are green.
OK so you are getting the image or not? in Post #55 you mention you trigger thru BI and you get the image. If so, that's where you got the PFSense logs from? As you can see from the logs, your phone is going out and back in again - from what I can tell.
 

Kev79

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
1
Location
ma
OK so you are getting the image or not? in Post #55 you mention you trigger thru BI and you get the image. If so, that's where you got the PFSense logs from? As you can see from the logs, your phone is going out and back in again - from what I can tell.
I'm so confused on how BI actually works when it comes to the push notifications. It seems that even if you don't have an IP address in the phone it will send a notification without an image. And it also seems it is up to you and your IP addresses/porting to make that happen. If I put an only the local IP address in BI "only the local" then it will not push and image at all, only notify. If I add My WAN to the WAN box then it will send a notification with an image. Only If I just recently opened the app. If the app is closed for more that 1 minute the phone will only give me a notification without an image. It is just so bizarre the way they implemented this system. What do I need to do to correct this? Ken doesn't seem to really have a solution for me over the past 2 weeks. I think he needs to give his Android developer a nudge. I have all the ports needed forwarded. It needs to be more simplified.
 

mikeynags

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
736
Reaction score
487
Location
CT
I'm so confused on how BI actually works when it comes to the push notifications. It seems that even if you don't have an IP address in the phone it will send a notification without an image. And it also seems it is up to you and your IP addresses/porting to make that happen. If I put an only the local IP address in BI "only the local" then it will not push and image at all, only notify. If I add My WAN to the WAN box then it will send a notification with an image. Only If I just recently opened the app. If the app is closed for more that 1 minute the phone will only give me a notification without an image. It is just so bizarre the way they implemented this system. What do I need to do to correct this? Ken doesn't seem to really have a solution for me over the past 2 weeks. I think he needs to give his Android developer a nudge. I have all the ports needed forwarded. It needs to be more simplified.
I'm stumped as well. I'm on the iOS platform so, not seeing that "sleeping" issue you are seeing on Android. Have you gone into the Android settings and turned off sleep for the Blue Iris? I think it's in the battery optimization settings section.
 
Top