I'm ready to give CodeProject.AI a try... Install instructions?

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
1,636
Reaction score
693
I'm currently running DeepStack and would like to try CPAI. Is there a post somewhere that has the install steps/instructions? Thanks!
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
2,783
Reaction score
2,348
Location
United Kingdom
There’s a massive thread on this in which I think you’ve actually posted, is a bit of a read but lots of useful info in there.
 

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
1,157
Reaction score
2,577
Location
Brooklyn, NY
See the below link

If you are using a GPU you need to install CUDA and run the cuDNN install script first
If you are using CPU then just install the latest

 

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
1,636
Reaction score
693
There’s a massive thread on this in which I think you’ve actually posted, is a bit of a read but lots of useful info in there.
Yeah, I searched for a while and couldn't find the info I was looking for. Thanks!
 

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
1,636
Reaction score
693
See the below link

If you are using a GPU you need to install CUDA and run the cuDNN install script first
If you are using CPU then just install the latest

Thanks. I'll check out the link. I'd like to run the GPU version.

Also, I have a QNAP NAS and I ran Deepstack on it. I think I'll try it there first.
 

biggen

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
2,158
See the below link

If you are using a GPU you need to install CUDA and run the cuDNN install script first
If you are using CPU then just install the latest

I just ran the Code Project AI install and my 2060 worked out of the box. It setup the entire dashboard as GPU. I didn't even know I was supposed to install CUDA. I'll have to look into that.
 
Last edited:

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
1,157
Reaction score
2,577
Location
Brooklyn, NY
I just ran the Code Project AI install and my 2060 worked out of the box. It setup the entire dashboard as GPU. I didn't even know I was supposed to install CUDA. I'll have to look into that.
Did you have CUDA install before for DeepStack?
 

biggen

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
2,158
Did you have CUDA install before for DeepStack?
I don’t recall doing it for anything before. Used as my main desktop and light gaming. I haven’t had time to test fully yet. All I did was install CP AI and run the benchmarks. Haven’t actually used it for BI yet.
 

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
1,157
Reaction score
2,577
Location
Brooklyn, NY
I don’t recall doing it for anything before. Used as my main desktop and light gaming. I haven’t had time to test fully yet. All I did was install CP AI and run the benchmarks. Haven’t actually used it for BI yet.
If you go to the dashboard does is show you are using GPU(CUDA) or just CPU?

1664497030239.png
 

biggen

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
2,158
If you go to the dashboard does is show you are using GPU(CUDA) or just CPU?

View attachment 141215
Here is my screenshot:
1664536986660.png

No CUDA installed at all. Just the Nvidia Geforce Experience Drivers. Running a GTX 2060

So I just pointed BI (which I run in a VM) to Codeproject AI to my desktop with the 2060 in it and now I'm getting ~50ms inference times which is excellent! The BI VM running with just the CPU has been giving me ~750ms times using @MikeLud1 ipcam-general model. That is a big difference.
 
Last edited:

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
1,636
Reaction score
693
Just installed everything. The CPAI service isn't starting automatically. How can I fix this? Also, I see no mention of GPU in the status page after installing everything.

1664551101920.png

1664551156666.png
 

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
1,636
Reaction score
693
I'm getting closer. How do you tell CPAI to use ipcam-combined custom model? Here are my settings, I would appreciate a peer review.

1664564424810.png
1664564347722.png
1664564370436.png
 

Attachments

MikeLud1

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
1,157
Reaction score
2,577
Location
Brooklyn, NY

105437

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
1,636
Reaction score
693
Thanks @MikeLud1, I made that change and restarted the BI service. I have noticed that when you restart the BI service, it doesn't restart the CPAI service. After manually restarting it, here's what I have.

1664565505860.png
 

biggen

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
2,158
Yes, that works. I noticed a v1.6.5 notice in the CPAI dashboard. I tried the download but it didn't work.
Just downloaded it. They must have not had the link right when you attempted. Trying to find the release notes though is a pain since the codeproject web page is a bit of a mess.
 

jrbeddow

Getting comfortable
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
260
Reaction score
341
Location
USA
What's New - 1.6.5.0
  • Patch 1.6.5: Multi-setting updates via API, ability to force half-precision support, YOLO nano-sized model added
  • Patch 1.6.2: Fix for more nVidia cards, MODE=High bug fix
  • Patch 1.6.1: Catching issues on pre-win10 machines, fix for GTX 1650/60 cards
 

biggen

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
2,158
What's New - 1.6.5.0
  • Patch 1.6.5: Multi-setting updates via API, ability to force half-precision support, YOLO nano-sized model added
  • Patch 1.6.2: Fix for more nVidia cards, MODE=High bug fix
  • Patch 1.6.1: Catching issues on pre-win10 machines, fix for GTX 1650/60 cards
Where did you find this? Browsing their source code, they don't even have any changes after 1.6 which is eight day old: GitHub - codeproject/CodeProject.AI-Server: CodeProject SenseAI is a self contained service that software developers can include in, and distribute with, their applications in order to augment their apps with the power of AI.

Where is the repo for the 1.6.x releases?
 

jrbeddow

Getting comfortable
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
260
Reaction score
341
Location
USA
I agree that their website is a bit confusing, and I can't address your repo question at all, especially given the way that this installs, on Windows anyway. We in essence only download a stub, which then retrieves the rest interactively.
Anyway, your release notes are found halfway down this page:
 
Top