I think I've bricked my DS-2CD2132F-IS Camera - Need help please?

tmazid

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a newbie with this camera( and with CCTV's in general) so would really appreciate some expert help.

I bought the DS-2CD2132F-IS camera from ebay (with firmware 5.2.5 Build 141201) and unfortunately the previous owner couldn't remember the admin password, but knew an operator username and password for the camera. I was told that if I upgraded the firmware (5.3.0), it would reset back to default (admin and 12345) but I think I bricked it, as I'm not able to get a response now from the camera.

I've located the reset button in the camera and held it down for 10sec on camera power on, but i still get the occassion ping response on 192.0.0.64 and then nothing and then a few minutes later some more responses. I've tried to perform a firmware update using TFTP, which appeared to work but still get the same problem. I can't bwose to it nor does it appear in SADP software.

Any ideas please?

Thanks

tmazid

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi corkangel76,
Thanks for the quick response. I think I have used know good cables but I'll check again, thanks for the advice.

Also, one more thing that I forgot to mention, so I'm not sure if it's relevant, so please tell me if it is?

This camera did not come with a PSU but I have a DS-7108N-SN/P NVR which has PoE ethernet ports, one port I use to power up the camera and another port is used to connect to my laptop (Windows 7) that has a static 192.0.0.128 IP address. Would this set up cause any problems?

Thanks

tmazid

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi fenderman,
Thanks for the link. I wish I'd found the link before I tried to upgrade the camera.

Apologies in advance if this is a dumb question, but would this Password Utility Tool work regardless of where Camera was purchased, i.e. chinese import, etc ?

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Hi fenderman,